We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Value for money”
Review of Penview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Penview Hotel
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I go there on March 2013.Overall nothing interesting.What have paid for double room is not equal to the room condition.Maybe because it an old hotel.Not too bad,but just so-so.Maybe in future hotel management must thinking about renovating the hotel to a new look.The location is great.Food ok.No Complaint.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ButtermilkHoHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AhmadFauziJohari, Manager at Penview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2013

Hi Cik Oreok,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review our Penview Hotel. We are very pleased that you have shared positive views of the hotel during your stay. We constantly strive hard to ensure that our facilities and services meet or exceed expectations of our valued guests like your. For your info our hotel has been extend our new guest room at our new wing at level 5th and 6th floor.We hope that we can bring you around our hotel and introduce to you in more detail on facilities and services provided on your next visit.

Once again thank you for taking your time to review our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again at Penview Hotel.

Thank you,

Cheers,

Ahmad Fauzi Johari
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (19)
There are newer reviews for Penview Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

This is my first time attend the event in this hotel,my 1st impression to this hotel is about the guy and the lady was stand at the entrance to welcome and greet the customers...i'm really feel warm welcome...the food was excellent however the toilet was very2 SAD...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Msblackpuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The wedding hall shape itself is really weird -a sharp CONCAVE! So people sitting at the both ends would not have a chance on what was going on at the small stage (located at centre facing the elevator hall). They only provide 2 elevators so when the wedding was over, people were so packed and had to wait long time to take their turn. The ceiling was low. The food taste was just ok, probably some are below average. Food served are papadom snacks, prawns, soy-sauce meat, chicken curry, mix veggies and fruits.

The amount of food was sadly, TINY. It was far from enough for us of 10 pax a table. The average-sized prawns in the serving dish are laid only 1 layer, once you scoop it you will only see the plate surface. So it was like 1 to 2 prawns per pax. SAD! The chicken curry, I don't know, 7 to 10 pieces in the bowl? Just enough or not enough? My husband and I never get a chance to eat the mix veggie! The THINLY sliced fruits only serve like 5 pax. And when we asked to top up the dish, they said they can't. So what, our bride and groom was actually paying for 5 pax per table? We didn't get a chance to eat them so that's it? The management was so stingy. Our brother saw at the end of the ceremony, some food that has never been served are packed for SOMEBODY, AND it was NOT FOR US. We have no idea? So DO NOT HOLD A FUNCTION HERE!!! Your guest will NOT BE SATISFIED

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank DNurul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed at the Penview Hotel for one night in October 2011. We were there for my sister-in-law's wedding reception, which went smoothly once it began.

Regarding the room, it was very nice and spacious, up on the 6th floor, comfortable beds, flatscreen TV, although we didn't have a phone in our particular room, which I found very inconvenient. Our friends on the 2nd floor found 2 cockroaches in their room.

Unfortunately we lost a jewellery box on the morning of our departure while we were at breakfast. We searched the entire room for it but it was nowhere to be found. When we questioned the Front Desk, they were very casual in their response, said the housekeepers couldn't find it, and they'll call us if it turns up. I was very disappointed with this poor service and lack of commitment to their guests.

You will have to take great care of your valuables if you stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank duncandhorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I just had a wedding reception at the hotel. While i was doing the planning, the event manager and his assistant are most helpful but when it comes to the day itself, when we entered the lobby, no staff was available to lend us a hand, it was like it was abandoned except for about two staffs at the front office. Even if it is only a three star hotel, there should have been one or two staffs assigned near the entrance door to help the guests in carrying in luggage and etc.

My room was newly renovated and it's nice. No complain there but my cousin found two cockroaches in her room.

But what i would like to point out here is the hotel lacked of hospitality and security. I lost my jewellery box and when we complained at the front office, they didn't even care. They told us that we must have misplaced it somewhere. The box is about A4 size paper and about 50mm height, it is hard to missed. The least they could do is to be a little concerned and help us find it or pretend to care even if they don't.

I choose this hotel to be my wedding venue because it has a good offer but if i were to know their service would be this bad, i would have chosen a different venue. So, for those of out there who is looking for a wedding venue or even a place to stay a night, watch out for your valuables and expect no good service from the staffs.

- Unsatisfied Guests

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Felicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We stayed one night in the standard room as we arrived pretty late in Kuching and just needed to stop over before moving closer to the city. The room didn't have any windows, but it wasn't a problem as their aircon worked like a gem. There were two single beds, a tv and even a fridge too in the room, but no bottled water was provided. This hotel is situated 7 minutes drive from the city centre, but they do offer a shuttle bus ride for RM5 per person which is reasonable, as taxis are really pricey in Kuching! (the starting rate is RM10, we learnt it the hard way!)

The winning point for this hotel is definitely their service. I booked through phone, and it was a breeze. They didn't even take a deposit! We also arranged for their shuttle pick up from the airport, and they were very persistent in making sure we got to the hotel, making plenty of calls to check on our whereabouts as our flight was delayed two hours! They even waited for us as we got there past 10pm, which is their usual cut-off time for airport pick ups. Fantastic service, with a smile too!

Breakfast was just okay though, nothing memorable. They also have room service, at very reasonable prices - nothing above RM10. I would recommend this place for people who are on a budget, and don't mind staying a little bit further from the city. With their very reasonable shuttle prices to the city, and their reliability, I don't see a reason to be worried at all!

Tip : When you're in the room and don't want to be disturbed, put out the "Privacy please" sign out on the door as housekeeping pops in at random times occasionally. We had this angry lady banging at the door before check out time, wanting to spray the room for insects and she wouldn't leave us alone until we told her to! So yes, use the signs for peace of mind.

Room Tip: Book from the website by calling them directly. Much cheaper than grouped websites, plus it's mo...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AccordingtoAlia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
2.4 mi away
Grand Supreme Hotel
Grand Supreme Hotel
#30 of 55 in Kuching
55 reviews
3.8 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#14 of 55 in Kuching
50 reviews
2.3 mi away
Telang Usan Hotel Kuching
Telang Usan Hotel Kuching
#23 of 55 in Kuching
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Place2Stay @ Kenyalang
Place2Stay @ Kenyalang
#32 of 55 in Kuching
3 reviews
2.1 mi away
Place2Stay Business Hotel@Waterfront
1.5 mi away
Kuching Park Hotel
Kuching Park Hotel
#35 of 55 in Kuching
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Penview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Penview Hotel

Address: Lot 3411 Jalan Tun Razak | Lot 3411,Block D, Kuching 93450, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £13 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Penview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"PENVIEW HOTEL is a 3 star hotel located at the hub of 3 major zones in the greater Kuching city area. It is in close proximity to these 3 main zones namely the Kuching Central Business Disctrict, Pending Light Industrial Estate & Petra Jaya suburb. The hotel is approximately 10 minutes from the Kuching International Airport. It is flanked by supermarkets, specialty shops and multi cultured food centers/restaurants making it a lively area from dusk until dawn.The Hotel has 166 rooms. All rooms are tastefully decorated with comfortable beds and also come with facilities such as Air Conditioning with Room Personal Controller, television, Water Auto Boiler with coffee facilities, Hot Shower running 24 hours, Rooms with Duvet, Free WIFI service, Working Desk, Mini Fridge, Soap, Shower Cap, Shampoo, Bath Towel and Bath Mat.Penview Hotel has ample facilities to provide for Meeting, Conference and Banquet functions with its ample and spacious ballrooms. The Hotel also provides for wireless internet access for the tech savvy.Kuching Central Business District is less than 10 minutes by car from Penview Hotel.Pending Light Industrial Estate  is 5 minutes by car from Penview Hotel. Pending Light Industrial Estate adjoins to Demak Laut which houses light to medium industrial businesses. Situated within this area is the Borneo Convention Center which is about 5-10 minutes from Penview Hotel.Petra Jaya suburb is 5-8 minutes by car from Penview Hotel via the Tun Salahuddin Toll Bridge. Petra Jaya is the Administrative Centre for the Sarawak Government. For the medical tourist Normah Medical Specialist Centre is also located in Petra Jaya and is approx. 8 minutes by car from Penview Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Penview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing