We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sweet and Sour fish of Kuching!”
Review of Khatulistiwa

Khatulistiwa
Ranked #407 of 586 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Sweet and Sour fish of Kuching!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

And also great Black Pepper Beef!
Great prices! Best view over the Sarawakriver. Superb place for lunch. Cold red wine for acceptable price

Helpful?
Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    17
    23
    16
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Prime location, Terrible Staff, not even worth it for a beer”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I couldn't agree with the previous reviewers more. We were there at 830pm and the staff behaved like we were a total intrusion. We clearly interrupted their smoking & texting. The service was slow and unfriendly. They only had one kind of beer. A jug of beer = 4 warm cans in an ice bucket. The laksa was a bowl of noodles with an oily laksa broth over it, 4 tiny cubes of over cooked chicken and 4 rather nasty tasting prawns. It is not often that we pay a bill and leave not a single sen extra, but we did here and the British couple at the next table did the same.

So warm, beer (no choice), awful food, poor selection, grubby and lazy unfriendly staff. Not a lot to recommend here. Stay away.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank barb_philip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awful. Unfriendly and lazy staff.”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We went here for a few drinks and there was only one other table of people there. There were three staff and all of them were sitting down and smoking or playing on there phones. We ordered 3 drinks and the girl put the order through but then sat back down. I watched them all sit down for another 5 minutes or so when a the girl finally got up and started making them. We ordered two juices and a beer and it took at least 10 minutes for them to reach our table. On top of being lazy the staff were not at all friendly. The view of the river was the only good part of our visit here. Will not be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gabro58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't go”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I wish I read here first. Can not agree more with other reviews. Good location but service was the worst I have ever had. Not one word spoken from start to end. Many great places to eat in Kuching. This is not one of them. Manager get new staff.

Helpful?
Thank Brucetrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Absolutely appalling”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We were appalled at the unfriendliness and lack of care of the waitresses at this restaurant. The food was extremely poor and the tablecloth filthy. My husband's meal arrived 20 minutes after mine and only after he asked where it was. When his black pepper lamb eventually arrived, it was cold, tough and full of bone. To add insult to injury there was no pepper in the sauce. Neither of us could eat the food. Very, very disappointing!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnda1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Khatulistiwa also viewed

 

Been to Khatulistiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing