We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Marco Polo Travellers
Nearby Hotels
US$67
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
US$60
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$118
US$96
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
56 Hotel(Kuching)
US$33
US$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$59
US$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
US$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abell Hotel(Kuching)
US$39
US$28
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (194)
Filter reviews
194 results
Traveller rating
162
29
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
162
29
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest househome away from homekind manshared bathroomgreat hostsfiltered waterwhere breakfast is servednice guesthousedouble roomlaundry servicepeanut buttereach morningsimple breakfastrooms are comfortablecat citystayed here for two nightsno window
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 194 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We left a clean but impersonal hotel to stay at the Marco Polo and we're glad we did. The owners and staff keep the place clean, fresh breakfast varies daily while you sit on a small porch and exchange stories with other travelers. Their internet is a little weak but the owners are wonderful at sharing trekking info, affordable destinations, bus schedules and tasty restaurants. A 5 minute walk buts you in the heart of the city but there's plenty of restaurants and fruit stalls all around. Try the City Garden Bistro the next block for some jungle veggies and great dishes.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barefootmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Barefootmart,

Thank you for writing a review of your stay. We'd like to provide you & hubby a better night sleep & improved bed & room. Your time here is very much appreciated as we've a meaningful conversation. Hopefully,we'd be able to Welcome you again. Enjoy your vacations & have a wonderful time during your travel. Wishing you good health & happiness.

Best Regards,
Sam,Jane & Druv.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I'm Edison Foo, from Melaka, and i been stay in there for 4 days, very kind and good service, breakfast provided every early morning, and they very helpful, very appreciate because they guild me and give me a lot of info in Kuching , very good environment, it make me feel like I'm in my home ;)) highly recommend for u all ^^

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Dear Mr. Foo,
We appreciated much that you & your friends have stayed in our guesthouse. As much as the time
you spent here,you've given us such a lovely atmosphere as you're all very good-mannered & patient. How we wish you'd stay here even longer & most welcome to stay with us anytime.
We look forward to seeing you in the future & wishing you the best of your career in your
undertakings. Take Care!

Thanks & Regards,
Sam,Jane & Druv.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I was intending to stay for 2 nights, and ended staying for 2 weeks! Marco Polo is the most comfortable, cleanest, and friendliest place I have stayed in. Not only it's a convenient to the bus stops, restaurants and shops, but the staff and the people I met certainly made my stay worthwhile.

They provide a good breakfast - Georgette would wake up early mornings to whip up various treats, as well as good servings of local fresh fruits. She's also lovely to have chats with and showed me wonderful local places to eat at. Sam on the other hand, always had stories to tell and was informative. There was also Druv, their savvy assistant who always made sure we're all having a good time and showed us the best places to go out in town.

Marco Polo also has a really nice balcony where you can spend hours chatting, playing games, having a laugh... or just sitting down listening to the surrounding wind chimes. It's a very peaceful place. I would highly recommend to stay at this place :)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineLolanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Hello Christine Lolanita,

Thank you so much that you're happy & comfortable with your stay in our humble guesthouse.
There's no word that'd describe your 'awesome character' in terms of your personality & attitude.
The two weeks that you've stayed with us is a lifetime of cherished memories that'll never be forgotten,of your culture,struggle & hope. Yes,we wish you'd even stay longer as we've so much
to share in all things.As spoken,we earnestly look forward for your next visit & a promise that
we'll make your stay a most comfortable & memorable one. Rest assured of our love & care.
Warmest Regards,
Sam,Jane,Druv & David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

The guesthouse was such a nice surprise to find. The staff was so helpful and lovely. The room was cheap but efficient. And not too far from the center. Definitely the place to stay if you are on a budget and want peace and quiet. Laundry facilities are available and the breakfast is served so early that you can get it before your day trip. Nice terrace with fresh beers available.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Caroline G,

Thanks for your positive comment. It's such an honour to have both of you here & feel very comfortable to entertain & welcome you. Though your stay is short but your present is such
a pleasure to us. We hope that you'd come back to Kuching again as there're more to experience.
Yes, We wish both of you having a wonderful & lovely time back home. All Best!

Kindest Regards,
Sam,Jane,Druv & David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I had a nice stay in Marco Polo in the past 3 nights. The hostel is very clean and tidy, simple but tasty breakfast is served every morning. Samuel and his staff are very nice, helpful and informative. Marco Polo is near the major spots in Kuching, as well as the restaurant. It is sad to me to leave here so soon. Undoubtedly I will go back again and stay in Marco Polo next time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Clkyjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marcopolo1_12, Owner at Marco Polo Travellers, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear Ms Clkyjc,

Just great to meet a sweet & lovely lady, dropping by at Our guesthouse to get a 'feel' of your stay.
Things would work even better if your stay'd stretch longer as Kuching is a 'Calm & homely City'
You'll fall in love with her historical past,national parks, museums & its People. We're awaiting
for your next visit & needless to say,'your present is our earnest desire'
Wishing you the best in your present career & good health to you always!
Warmest Regards
& with thanks,
Sam,Jane,Druv & David.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews