We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wo Jia Lodge is truly my home away from home.”
Review of Wo Jia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wo Jia Lodge
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wo Jia Lodge is truly my home away from home.”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I arrived in Kuching in early morning and the staff checked me in right away without asking me to wait for regular check-in time. Although I stayed in a room on the ground floor but it was very quiet, I did not hear any traffic noise. I must say the location could not be any better; it is central to everything. The place has provisions for guests with different preferences. You can hang out in common areas or stay in your spacious A/C room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fidelisblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    53
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
4
40
54
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in the centre of Kuching. I agree with everyone who has commented on how friendly and helpful the staff are - they are great at giving advice on things to do and getting around the area, but they are also great guys to sit and hang out with.

The location is ideal, right in the centre of Kuching overlooking the waterfront. The rooms are certainly 'no frills' (no furniture other than a bed and side table, and the mattresses are pretty thin) but the whole place has a great character and is kept impeccably clean.

At RM40 per night for a single room (which actually has a double bed) is is absolutely outstanding value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 127CarolineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Absolutely brilliant staff who were happy to tell us more about the sights and gave us many tipps for the city.
room was really clean, though close to the kitchen. someone was always burning - not cooking - food, which got quite annoying. but otherwise it was very good.
there are movies you can watch and a computer with internet and we had wifi on our phones in the hostel, so that we could even Skype sometimes.
very safe and comfortable, with security code on the doors.
toast and some fruits were for free, which was really nice and the beer was cheaper than in the supermarkets!
Got there. you won't regret it!

Room Tip: If you go there, taking one of the rooms in a less lively corridor would be advisable. The floors ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and had the most incredible time. Kuching is a beautiful city with beautiful people. The same can be said for this hostel. I stayed in a single room and had a big double bed and spacious room. It was very quiet and enough to say that I slept very well each night and was well-rested the following day. Thank you.

But that was not the best thing about the hostel. The best thing is the hosts. Both Art and Syed are the most excellent hosts (and people) you will meet. They offered me excellent advice on planning my activities and gave perfect recommendations on where to eat. These two guys are awesome. They also helped me with booking transportation which made things easy for me. You can ask them whatever you like (touristy stuff or life in general), they are just really easy to talk to.

Thanks for an unforgettable trip guys.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie201310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

This hostel has a perfect location in Kuching: on the waterfont, near the visitor center, the bus station and chinatown.
The room is realy cheap and well decorated and with a window.
The breakfast is included and you have free coffee and tea all day long.
The staff can give you any informations about bus schedule to go to the parks around Kuching.
I definitely stay here again if I come back to Kuching.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Amazing staff and atmosphere! We stayed there for 5 nights and had everything we needed. The rooms are clean and comfy eventhough they are without windows. The walls are thin as in all the old city buildings but guests respect the quiet hours. The staff is friendly, helpful and flexible and it is a good place to meet other backpackers. The atmosphere is fantastic and rare to find any other place.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Martina Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I joined the rank of people who ended up seriously extending their stay here. The waterfront location is gorgeous and we felt close to everything. The decor was lovely, especially in the communal louge area which was a great spot to hang out when it rained. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and by the time we left it felt like home. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fyrelizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.0 mi away
Kuching Waterfront Lodge
Kuching Waterfront Lodge
#15 of 54 in Kuching
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Radioman, Heritage Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
0.1 mi away
Backpacker's Stay
Backpacker's Stay
#21 of 78 in Kuching
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Singgahsana Lodge
Singgahsana Lodge
#2 of 78 in Kuching
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wo Jia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wo Jia Lodge

Property: Wo Jia Lodge
Address: 1st Floor No 17 Main, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wo Jia Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a place to relax and hangout with a homely oriental style atmosphere? Ideally located in main bazaar with history dated back 1800s with Chinese shop house architecture. Wo Jia offer its guests a superb location for sight seeing, shopping for souvenirs, entertaining and taste of yummy Chinese and Malay foods at main bazaar and waterfront. All rooms are newly furnished and please note that all bathroom/toilets are shared with hot/cold shower as we designed for independent travelers in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Wo Jia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wo Jia Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing