We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, worthwhile”
Review of Beds Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beds Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2013

stayed here on my way out to the national parks and booked the dorm to save money. I am the only person in the dorm, the beds are clean and soft. The blankets are warm cushy. I've been travelling for 11 months and this is a top notch place. the price is reasonable. The staff are pleasant and mild-mannered. The shared bathroom is clean. The exterior hall ways are clean. It's a well-maintained property with the except of the condensation that occasionally leaked from the a.c. unit in my dorm.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wintermute87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

We are traveling for 7 months now and have stayed in many Guesthouses, but Beds is the best so far!!

The rooms are nice and clean, the shared bathrooms are very proper/ clean and the showers are nice. The do it yourself breakfast (bread, eggs, noodles, jam, coffee, tea, water) is included and you can also use the kitchen during the day. They have a nice communual area as well, which serves as 'your' living room, with TV, DVD and Internet computers which can be uses for free. We spent every evening with a cup of coffee/ tea and a nice movie together with other travelers and staff.

Our original plan was to stay for 3 nights but ended up staying 1,5 week, because it was such a nice place! It's a bit out of the centre (10 min walk to the water promenade) but it is well worth the extra walk. Excellent price-quality value.

Thanks to the staff at Beds, we keep on recommending your place to our fellow travellers!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LinKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I would definitely recommend this guest house. The staff are really helpful and even drive you to the national parks or airport for less cost than the taxis.
The rooms and shower facilities are clean and comfortable. It is walking distance to the town centre and they also let you use their kitchen to prepare food.

The only thing to watch out for is that only some of the rooms have windows. But there is air con in all.
It is worth staying here for the staff and the location. Very good value for money

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The stuff was helpful and friendly. the atmosphere was that of a home away from home. great value for money considering there is breakfast and privacy, cleanliness and security here. the manager is always around to assist with any matters. great opportunity to meet with other travelers and gain a wealth of knowledge through this interaction. this is one of those places i would return to anytime.

Room Tip: try it out for yourself and i bet u wont regret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malik-malik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The social area downstairs is probably the most appealing thing about this hostel. A few sofa's and a TV, quite a nice place to just sit and relax. In 5 months travelling in SE Asia this was the most like being sat in your lounge at home.

We were in a 4 bed bunk room. The room was OK and clean but it was as small as it could be without tripping over each other and their belongings. Not a problem as we were together, but may be different if you didn't know the people you were sharing with. The showers and toilets were clean and the showers quite powerful.

Breakfast was great help yourself style with eggs, toast and jam.

Staff really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I enjoyed my time at beds. The guesthouse is clean. Great hot showers. Free brekkie if you don't mind making it yourself. Nice and friendly staff. Waterfront within walking distance. A great place to stay if your on a tight budget.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mands121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 5 nights and couldn't fault it really!

The place was always clean, showers hot, free breakfast which could be had all day, eggs, toast, noodles... Decent if you're on a budget like us!

We stayed two nights originally in a double room, we wanted to extend and although they couldn't give the same room they gave us the 5 bed roof dorm to ourselves for the same price which was an upgrade of sorts as it had a private balcony and shower! Nice touch!

The staff could not have been more helpful in every sense! The guy even took us to the airport himself at 2pm for next to nothing!

The Internet and wifi could be better but that's the only slight negative! I'm sure that will be sorted quite quickly, the staff seem to really want to make things great for travellers! They also gave us information on things to do and how to get there... I really liked this place!

Few nice restaurants close by too!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.5 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
1.2 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.9 mi away
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching, Sarawak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marco Polo Travellers
Marco Polo Travellers
#4 of 82 in Kuching
191 reviews
0.7 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beds Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beds Guesthouse

Address: 229, Lot 91, Section 50, Jalan Padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: £8 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beds Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beds Guesthouse, located in the heart of Kuching's very own China Town, is just a 15 minute walk from the city centre. Nestled in between old historical buildings along Padungan Road, we offer budget travelers a cosy, clean, friendly and hospitable stay in Kuching City. Close to eateries, watering-holes, shopping centres, banks, airline offices, money changers, florist, fruits, sundry shops and city bus routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Beds Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing