We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better for solo traveller”
Review of Drop In Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Drop In Guesthouse
Ranked #61 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I should admit that the Drop In is well designed and decorated. Location is good and value for money. The staff is also very nice. Our double room feels a little tighten and the bathroom/toilet is shared (Ok for us since few guests there during our stay). We will still give them 4 stars rating if everything just goes like this. However, we were waken up at midnight (around 11pm) by loud footsteps (the roof is wooden structure), noisy talking as well as occasional coughing. The sound never ceased until 5 am after the neighbor guests checked out! Our sleep was totally ruined!! Do not go if you are traveling as couple and are not night owls.

Room Tip: Stay at 2nd floor and check with the guesthouse no neighbors guests stay near you (it is very likely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David_Hong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2011

Drop in is a nice guest house. Its clean, well situated and the staff is friendly.
Good value for money, i recommend the place!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
1  Thank astridboutry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

There is nothing super special of this guest house but I just like this place! I like the feeling of staying here and the hospitality of the guest house. The staff is great and friendly, she is always helping me on my every request no matter how busy she is during their peak season - Rain Forest. Indeed, there is one thing very special of this guesthouse, which is their eco-friendly room design using recycle materials. It is very creative to me.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Freddie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I love the decoration in this guesthouse because it look like a house....
So, when i stay in this guesthouse got a feeling like i come back to my own house...That's great. Even we need shared the bathroom, but the hospitality in the guesthouse are clean .Besides that, the staff and the owner are very friendly .They give us more info and help for us when we travel in Kuching. I feel happy to know them and i will come back againts if next time i travel in Kuching!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Stayed here for two nights, it's something what i'm looking for. A nice and quiet place to sleep, very nicely decorated and the owener is very friendly and kind enough to drive me around town. Will definitely come back here!

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank Wei Tat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

For someone that doesn't write much reviews, staying in Drop In has compelled me to write a word or two about the experience that I had while staying there. Located in the Kuching's "Chinatown", it's a guest house with more than meets the eye. It has showed that its a budget place that offers great service and quality, something which its hard to find these days. The staff are ever so helpful to make sure that your stay there is as comfortable as possible.
The surrounding area is truly historical as it integrates the old with the new. Hawker food are easily found with some of the coffeeshops found along the area being as old as i am which proves the test of time amidst the ever so development that the city has seen over the decades.
I guess in short, Drop In is the place to stay, may it be your first time to the city or for a revisit.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NKCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2011

It's a clean and friendly environment to stay and really close the food and shops, we basically save on transportation fee, tot some sightseeing need to organize a van. The street where this hotel located is full of local food and local culture shops to explore. It's convenience and the night life nearby is as well happening.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malingoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,687 reviews
13.9 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#14 of 55 in Kuching
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
631 reviews
14.1 mi away
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
#48 of 55 in Kuching
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drop In Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drop In Guesthouse

Address: 209 Jalan Padungan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range: £7 - £12 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Drop In Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's brand new guesthouse,located in Kuching's China Town, Jalan Padungan. Influence of traditional Chinese and local native theme to decorate in and out of this guesthouse. Because we want our guests to able to learn and understand our local culture even by just staying with us. For the convenience of our guests we also sells items such as snacks, lotion, umbrella, shampoo, souvenirs, painting etc at a very reasonable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Drop In Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing