We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Planet Borneo Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Kuching
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Gawing Lodge(Kuching)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Borneo Hotel(Kuching)
View Hotel
Fata Hotel(Kuching)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
23
10
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
10
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 33 reviews
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed here for a week while our house was being painted. As we are from Kuching, the location was perfect - very close to town but not close enough to be extremely busy, rowdy and annoying.

The kids loved the mini pool at the back and the whole place was very comfortable and clean.

Staff were all super friendly and we were glad there was a free washing machine and internet connection. If you are a tourist you might also like the bikes you can borrow to cycle around town. As locals, of course we would never be that hardworking, cycling in the hot sun, but it would be a great way for one to get a tan haha :) Thanks Planet Borneo for your cheap prices yet great service!

Room Tip: dormitory style is great for friends and family, but if you want a private room, you can pay a bit more and get one away from your very lovable yet noisy kids!!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Darrellee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Just a great little place! We stayed here three times over 5 weeks while traveling around Sarawak and came back every time we had to stay over in Kuching between various jungle excursions. You get so much for these budget prices! The washing machine is included which is a must for the lightly packed, sweaty and ultimately stinky backpacker in this sweltering climate.

The wee dip pool in the back is great on sunny days and even better on rainy ones which tend to be warm and deliciously lazy (the rainy season hits this part of the world during the end of the year which is when we were here. Pros and Cons - Not as hot as normal but twice as muddy).

Absolutely love love love the air conditioned living and general hang-out area with the satellite flat screen TV and bean bag mattresses in front of it that offer incredibly comfortable lounging opportunities while you fall asleep in front of all your favourite cinematic movie reruns.

Wonderful, clean rooms and showers and toilets. A great change from some of these bed buggy ones you always tend to encounter on a shoestring budget student holiday.

The staff are great and super polite and friendly. It was awesome getting to know Bryan, Patrick and Ringgit. While you are here, do badger Bryan to cook you some of his amazing and mouth watering chicken rice (Chicken Rice is kind of a big deal in Kuching, and his takes the cake). He normally breaks out the wok when there are at least 4 in a party to keep it affordable for the dusty traveler, but you might get lucky when he`s in the mood! :D

Hmm, that last bit sounded wrong...

See you again guys! Kia Ora and much love from New Zealand!!

- Jayne, Mitch, Tem & Lana

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetBorneoLodge, Manager at Planet Borneo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2011

Thanks, we hope you had an enjoyable stay and till your next stay, have a wonderful life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Im Louise from Denmark. I have been staying at Planet Borneo Lodge in the period 1. Feb - 29. Apr. 2011. I was in Malaysia to study, and I was checking in at the lodge. I can highly recommend this place. It has an amazing atmosphere, beautiful surroundings, helpful and friendly staff and its close to everything, but without all the noise from the city.
Im going back in October to the lodge, for a holiday, and i'm already looking forward to my stay...
All the best from Denmark

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LouiseMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetBorneoLodge, Manager at Planet Borneo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2011

Dear Louise,

It was a pleasure having you guys here and the place feels different without having you and Martin around. We all miss having you guys around. Hope to see you again in October and till then, take care and all the best.

Regards from the Planet Borneo Lodge Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2011

Very hospitable, friendly and helpful staff. The entire place is clean and tidy. Love the dipping pool area as it serves as a great hangout area. What I liked least was the hard pillows and mattresses though, but other than that, everything else gets an A+ from me :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lydiasyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanetBorneoLodge, Manager at Planet Borneo Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2011

It was great having you guys over and we hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon. Shall take note on the pillows and mattress and see what can be done about it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews