We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prepare to walk”
Review of Dormani Hotel

Dormani Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dormani Hotel
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Prepare to walk”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Is near to bus stops and hawkers stalls. Breakfast ok but more to Asian style.
It was raining the time when we stayed, walking in and out the hotels is very dirty cause the road in front of the hotel is a little flooded and narrow. At night is very quiet and dark, but so far I feel that safety is fine in Kuching. Wifi provided but slow. Staffs are friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bubutoki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    9
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
3
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Stayed there for a couple of times. All in all, the service is great, the room is quite small but clean. Excellent for budget travelers. Food stalls, Malay cafes/restaurants, and a mosque are just a walking distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The room was clean but i found the front desk wasn't helpful and informative. I had to find out about a lot of things on my own, for eg bus terminal to bako and semenggoh. They couldn't even suggest the best place to eat around the hotel area - pretty disappointing. The hotel is situated at the other side of Kuching city, surrounded by historical monuments and building. if you want to see the other side of Kuching during Brooke Era, this hotel probably one of the affordable ones and close by to those historical buildings. The food they served during breakfast was slightly below average.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afrizan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for the 2D1N from 8-9 June 2012 for a leisure travel to kch. I have stayed in many hotels before around kuching and I found this hotel in the near kuching town. Clean hotel, near to India Street and several shopping arcade. Easy to find the nearest food stall and malay cafe around. Check-in was fast and given the room that I had booked. Simple decorations and amenities. Breakfast could be better. Staff hospitality was ok. This hotel a bit quiet but I strongly recommend this hotel to others. For malay travellers this hotel could be their good choice as the mosque nearby. Love he evening scenery along sarawak river. For budget travellers, this hotel offers you the choice that you looked for. I would stay in this hotel again...

Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank FidelisPatrick6700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

The single room is small just fit a bed. However, noise from next door can be irritating when the next door occupant took shower.

Breakfast is average and could improve with local favorites like Laksa Sarawak, Mee Kolok and Mee Jawa served daily.

Location is within walking distance of the riverside. Its room is clean and there is free wifi.

Room Tip: Dont pick single room as it could be too small and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MpoloKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Our room was small but clean with a great view of the river. Near the mosque and halal food stalls. A ten minute walk to Satok Market and very close to the city bus interchange. All the staff were very polite and helpful especially En. Mohamed. For around RM100, we got a nice clean room, cable TV, free WIFI, basic breakfast and good service. You also get to see a little more of local life compared to staying on the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayeshah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2011

My initial contact was Hanifiah and he was very good. He always oblige to our requests incl early checkin and late checkout. When we arrived ard 12pm, all our 4 rooms are ready. My siblings are travelling with kids so this helped alot to help settle the kids in. The location are great for our family. Its nearby the mosque, waterfront and also many halal warongs and foodstalls are just 2 min walk. We loved the hotel staff friendliness. I could not remember the name of the 2 guys that drove us to Satok by shuttle- both of them are very courteous. Bfast menu on Monday was great. If only theres fresh milk and cereals, it will be great for the kids. Eventhough bfast menu was limited it was good and nice. Our room was huge and bed comfy. I worked in a 5 star hotel in Singapore and will know what to expect when i travelled. Afterall excellent rate for services received. Hope to be in Sarawak again next time and have my second stay in Dormani!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SufridahAshburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.9 mi away
Grand Supreme Hotel
Grand Supreme Hotel
#35 of 55 in Kuching
52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#20 of 55 in Kuching
185 reviews
1.1 mi away
Meritin Hotel
Meritin Hotel
#22 of 55 in Kuching
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
2.0 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#14 of 55 in Kuching
45 reviews
3.3 mi away
Grand Dormani Rajah Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dormani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dormani Hotel

Property: Dormani Hotel
Address: Lot 68 Jalan Datuk Ajibah Abol, Kuching 93400, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dormani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dormani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing