We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frustrating meal experience”
Review of Basaga

Basaga
Ranked #64 of 573 Restaurants in Kuching
Price range: US$2 - US$6
Cuisines: Chinese, Bar, European, Asian, Pub, Malaysian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Basaga’s bar has been described as.. “an amazing outdoor open- concept bar..” serving a good variety of beverages and cocktails. The Restaurant is also located in the Main Courtyard. The atmosphere is casual with a fine range of foods ranging from delicate finger foods, grills and main dishes. Choose from a selection of all-time favourites from both Asian and Western cuisines prepared by our in-house chefs.
Kuching
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Frustrating meal experience”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I rated it frustrating because it was supposed to be my mum's birthday dinner. The service is below satisfaction though the ambience is right. Food comes slowly and orders are often mistaken or, worst still, forgotten. And I experienced all this in one night. Quite a disappointment and I think I need time to gain my confidence back in order for a revisit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissyMacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    31
    22
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Been there so many times...”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

since a couple of years. It's always a perfect spot to chill out at night in the patio/lounge and lay down on the huge sofa. Minus is the food: don't expect a fine dining experience but good burgers or pasta. Also - and this is a genuine malaysian affliction- whenever a place becomes popular everybody flocks in and owners can't refrain from expanding the facilities within a limited space resulting in the place becoming crammed. That's what has happened at Basaga.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gekk0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best beer garden in Kuching”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Really peaceful and serene atmosphere. Great place to escape the bustling city and enjoy a good meal and a drink. Beer garden is beautifully decorated with lush greenery.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Poisoivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Atmospheric evening at the Beer Garden”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Love sitting at this beer garden and enjoying a few drinks under the clear sky in a very nicely lit big garden of an old school compound.

The place is very popular with locals for food and drinks.

Food is nothing to shout about. They serve local dishes and western food. I think their local dishes tasted much better than their western ones.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kakiayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good ambiance and food”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

A good place to just hangout with friends and enjoy some delicious meals. The ambiance of classic colonial with local touch was very nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shahrul79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basaga also viewed

 

Been to Basaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing