We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice company with great food”

Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 567 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice company with great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant from Lonely Planet and TripAdvisor so thought we'd give it a go. It was a nice change from the noodle cuisine of the last 2 weeks and such great flavour to the dishes we tried. They have an extensive range of Vego options as well as plenty of great meat-based meals. We were welcomed and engaged by the Manager and honestly enjoyed tthe conversations we had, as it was nice to listen to a local's opinions on current matters and get a better sense of the local perspective. There is a wait for meals but this is due to them being cooked fresh and therefore makes for a nice pace to enjoy a slow dinner (something to keep in mind if you're rushing.) Overall this is a must visit for the travellers seeking serious flavour and something away from the traditional Malaysian fare. Well done to the team at Lyn's!

Helpful?
Thank tundeR23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Aussie,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our freshly cooked food as well as the great conversation with the owner of the restaurant. We hope you will visit us again. There will always be subject matters to talk about that happens in the world. We are very happy to receive you back in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    101
    38
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A huge ripoff! Avoid this place!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

I am writing this review after my 3rd visit to the restaurant. My 1st visit (in 2012) turned out great. Portions were big and the food taste great! However, things started going downhill from there. Portions got smaller and the quality of the food deteriorated. I only decided to write this review after being deeply disappointed with my third visit. I ordered a beef briyani and was shocked to be served with a tiny bowl of briyani rice with 2 slices of beef! It was like a child's portion! During my first visit, I recalled I couldn't even finish my meal. So if you're looking for a nice Indian meal, I suggest you give this restaurant a pass.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank borneowarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear borneowarrior,

You claimed that you came to our restaurant 3 times. "The first time was in 2012. During that visit, everything was great, plenty of rice and beef in the briyani, the taste was superb"; but you did not made any comment in the TripAdvisor pertaining to that feel good visit to our restaurant. So, therefore I feel you are not truthful of what you're saying. You did not mentioned when was your second visit, there again you are not very truthful as you did not make any comment through TripAdvisor. Now you recently visited, you did not say when, your comment posted date was 14 July 2014, as such you would have visited us much earlier than 14 July. If you had mentioned the date, we could have looked back our invoice and CCTV record and guided the pertinent waiter and the cook who produced the briyani at that time for you for future improvement.

You claimed since your 2012, quality of our food and service going down the hill. Unless you regularly visit an outlet and experience downward spiral of everything in that outlet, you should not make such a insinuating remark.

Dear borneowarrior, if your intention in writing comment on any service outlet through the TripAdvisor portal must be to bring to the attention of the management, thus to improve the service, environment, quality, quantity and taste of the food you ordered, etc. but should not be bashing the outlet and telling the whole world to avoid that place. You have no legal or moral obligation to make a comment to inform the other visitors to avoid a place which you found not to your satisfaction.

Since your comment we have a very encouraging crowd of visitors who patronised and enjoyed our hospitality. This you can vouch if you visit our website, www.lynsthandoorirestaurant.blogspot.com and our Facebook page.

I noticed during your recent troubled visit you also made comments on 2 locations; one in Semenggok Nature Reserve which you commented as good experience of seeing monkeys; then you visited Siniawan Night Market, there you commented that other visitors overrated this place and for you the place was a disappointed experience, the street was much shorter than you expected and you bought food from a number of stalls but none of them taste as good as those available in Kuching. You yourself say that this place is 30 km away from sophisticated Kuching environment and when you traveled further down into interior area, naturally you can't expect quality food for a cheaper price. What you get in these places are food in cheaply price. It appears you are looking for a high quality food with cheap price. This could have been the case few years ago.

Sir, nothing is cheap nowadays. However, you are most welcome to visit us again and we will serve you a choice of food complimentary.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely food and owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We visited on 9th July and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We selected the place because it is the highest rated Indian in Kuching, deservedly so I am sure.
Based on the waiters recommendation we had the 1/2 tandoori chicken with spicy sauce (they tailor the sauce as you like it) a lamb curry and a cauliflower and cashew nut vegetable dish. We also shared a garlic naan and an orange and almond rice.
To drink we had 3 glasses of tiger beer (served ice cold in chilled glasses) and I enjoyed a chilled red wine. The bill was 111R which is good value compare to other places we have visited in Malaysia over the years.
The chicken dish was lovely and the sauce was delicious, it was spicy as requested but still had plenty of flavour. The lamb dish was pleasant and the cauliflower was tasty. I enjoyed the nann bread and the rice but overall the effect was a little sweet, individually the dishes were lovely but I think the rice tipped the balance in sweetness - although it is exactly as described so it is our fault, I think if we had ordered plain rice it would have been perfect or if the rice had cardamom perhaps to offset the sweetness of the orange. This is was minor in the overall experience.
The owners was at the restaurant and took the time to speak to us and give us a local guide to Kuching and suggest things for us to do as well as a little World Cup banter.
It was a pleasant dining experience with the food, drinks and service at a high standard.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mmsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Mmsie,

We thank you for patronising our restaurant on 9 July 2014 and appreciate your candid comments, some of which we noted especially the Persian Pulao orange almond rice which you found it extra fruity taste.

We shall certainly change our technique of the Pulao rice preparation. It is heartening to note that you took the time and effort to comment on all the food and drinks you consumed here in our restaurant on 9th July 2014. Hope when you come back to Kuching, you will visit us again.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie in Asia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Light Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We called in for a light meal even though the restaurant was a distance from our hotel.
Service was quick and friendly. Our questions re the menu were answered genteely and fully. It was clear others there were return customers. Would eat there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank workingon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Aussie,

Thanks for visiting us for a light meal and we are glad that you enjoyed our service. The light meal, whatever you selected and you commented that you would return to us for a full meal.

We look forward to that occasion. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M.nxrgpb.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Don't know what dairy is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We asked the waiter if we could have something free of dairy products and he said the chef could do a curry. We were amazed when the dish arrived covered in some white liquid. When asked what it was the waiter explained it was cream. A discussion then ensued involving an exchange of opinion over whether cream was actually a dairy food. Anyway we could not eat it but were expected to pay for it anyway. Apparently some parts of the sub-continent truly believe cream is a non dairy ingredient.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drlocbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynmohan, Owner at Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear drlocbi,

Thank you for visiting our restaurant and letting us know the shortcomings in our operation you experienced with one of our waiters. I noticed you made the comment on 30 June 2014, on that day you made 2 comments, 1 on our restaurant, the other on Top Spot Food Court both in Kuching, Sarawak.

We have investigated about the comments on a dairy but my waiter could not remember such an incident happened in our restaurant. I observed that you have visited us in March 2014 but you made the comment on 30 June 2014. Perhaps if you could let me know details of the waiter (the height and color of the skin) who served you during your visit.

I'm perturbed that my waiter who is educated, hails from Southern India does not know the meaning of 'dairy'. We use New Zealand's dairy product such as cooking cream to enhance the taste and texture of the dish but if a guest does not like the dairy product in their dish we can make dishes without dairy products. Perhaps during your next visit to our enchanting city, Kuching please visit us and a proper dish of your choice would be on the house.

The white liquid you noticed on the dish is evaporated milk from New Zealand. This also is to enhance the taste of the dish. We do not use coconut milk in our cooking technique.

We look forward to your next visit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lyn's Thandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing