We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big steps for little fairy feet”
Review of Fairy Caves

Fairy Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
Fairy Caves and Wind Caves from Kuching City
Ranked #4 of 89 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Big steps for little fairy feet”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Incredible cave that glowed as if really magical with luminous green ferns, water droplets that looked like diamonds falling down from the ceiling, and all sorts of shapes swirling about in the rock. You need a torch to get up the stairwell which was fairly secure - we managed to get our 6 year old up and down it and carry our 2 year old too - but once in the cave the light streams through an opening in the cliff face. The steps are concreted so safe for kids too though a little slippery in parts so don't let them explore on their own. But an amazing place!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tanya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    176
    53
    9
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“NEW HOURS OF OPERATION - CLOSES AT 4 PM DAILY.”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Unfortunately I did not see the cave since we showed up after it had already closed for the day. The man working there told us that AS OF MARCH 15, 2014 THE CAVE CLOSES AT 4:00 PM DAILY! It used to stay open until 5:30 pm. I hope this information helps.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank patrickmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
360 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“an indiana jones moment”
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment we got to the caves and saw the steps we had to climb to just get to the cave opening this had all the marks of an adventure. Having climbed the concrete steps you are then faced with another set leading steeply up into the front of the cave. The first view is amazing. It only gets better as you climb higher into the cave. The bats are squealing overhead and all the fern plants are turned towards the light at the entrance. Real film set stuff. You can walk deeper into the cave network but if like me you aren't keen on tunnels and pitch darkness it was still a great experience in the first cave. Take a good torch.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We went to the Wind Cave first, which I personally wasn't a big fan. The fairy cave however was worth the second trip as it's one of the most magical places I have been in. No pictures could justify the magnificent space and the formation that exists.

I would recommend to get a taxi from Bau town, as we went by bus and had to walk quite a distance from the drop off to the caves and it was a very hot day. Also make sure you have good grips as it can be quite slippery inside.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristineLolanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We rented a car and drove here after visiting the Wind Caves. Both are worth a trip as they are very different. We had the place to ourselves as it was a rainy Friday morning so was even better as we were free to check out the acoustics of the place! It's a beautiful cave and a great place to visit, especially if you rent a car. (However, don't go if you do not like a lot of steps...)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Annalise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fairy Caves also viewed

 

Been to Fairy Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing