We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Kolo Mee!!!”
Review of Noodle Descendants

Noodle Descendants
Ranked #99 of 643 Restaurants in Kuching
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Likes: the food, the food, and the food!!

Dislikes: the heat...

But overall, it's one of the best experience having your breakfast/brunch/lunch there and its tastes is unforgettable!!

Date of visit: December 2011
Thank ClareFarelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 88 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2012

love the noodle..it was located right next to attap corner kopitiam..

Date of visit: January 2012
Thank Brian9594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

One of my favorite places which never fails to disappoint. The tomato noodles, vegetable rice and fried rice are some of my all time favorites. If I want a change, I will go for the soup noodles with seafood with plenty of bean sprouts. Excellent place! Be prepared to wait for a table. Very old family run business. A place where they know your name and the food you want, even before you make your order!!

Thank Sushsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

This is our favorite noodle stall in Kuching but it's not everybody's favorite cup of tea.Will tell you why:-
It's our favorite because it's tasty; they come in large portions; one can choose the ingredients one would like in the soup that accompanies the rice, or type of noodles. One can choose from handmade local kolo noodles, the fatter ":mee pok" noodles, the rice flour "kway teow" of the thin 'bee hoon".

The assortment of ingredients are slices of fish, pork, prawns, minced meatballs, pigs' kidneys, liver, intestines, tripe,fishballs,gizzards, fishcake, roast pork(char siew) salted vegetable and seaweed.
One can either order the ingredients mixed in with a bowl of noodles, served dry accompanied by a small bowl of soup stock , garnished with fried and spring onions.Or a separate bowl of plain well seasoned noodles with onion oil, soy sauce and vinegar, together with a separate bowl of "zeng" which means any combination of the assortment of ingredients mentioned above in a bowl of tasty soup.The soups come in 3 sizes- small, medium or large.Take your pick.

The little vinegar in the noodles is probably the secret to why their noodles are so tasty and unique compared to other kolo noodles found in Kuching.

While here, the iced lemon tea is a must or if you like coffee, their iced coffee is also very good.

Now to the dislikes:-
Without fail, no matter how early you are, you must be prepared to wait for at least 20 minutes- 45 minutes to be served after being seated.If you hit the lunchtime crowd, it is the norm to wait for at least 1/2- 1 hour for a seat. There is really no proper queuing system so one could linger around a table which patrons seem to be finishing their meal but decide not to vacate their seats and another person who arrived after you loitering around at another table may be seated before you do.
It is a traditional family establishment and their manner tend to be rather brusque so if one is not used to their style, they can come across as rather discourteous or even downright rude. They have been around for awhile so I don't think they are bothered by what people think of them, as the long queues of people each day provide the clout that they need to operate successfully, regardless of their style or manners.

They only occupy one shoplot , even though they try to extend their tables into the 5 foot passageway ,so it can get very hot humid and stuffy, while waiting during a warm day.

Last but not least,if you have a weak stomach, avoid this place as most of the guests I have brought always get a tummy upset after eating here.If you notice, they have a "C" certification for cleanliness by the authorities, which is not really clean at all. They also have a tendency to serve soup which is not hot and this probably explains why people experience tummy aches since alot of their ingredients have been par-boiled and left out in the open.It is a standing joke in our family that if we want to lose weight but not sacrifice the taste, we would like to visit the " diarrhea noodles" stall, and the nickname has stuck ever since!

However, having said that, for tasty noodles, this has to be number 1 in Kuching.

Date of visit: November 2011
2  Thank oal151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Big surprise to find few reviews here on Sin Min Joo. When we walked around Jl Carpenter and found many people were waiting in queue for the Kolo Mee (Icon Food of Kuching) and mix. soup. Waiting for 20 mins to be seated and 40 mins more to be served for the yummy Mee and Soup (cost less than 10 RM/pax). Take your patience. they serve the guests one by one. Only open from 8am to 3pm. So go there early to avoid long queue.

Date of visit: November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank David_Hong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Noodle Descendants also viewed

 
Kuching, Sarawak
 

Been to Noodle Descendants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.