We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It should be 5 Stars”
Review of Abell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abell Hotel
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I would praise this Abell Hotel in Kuching, could be the most hospitality hotel. It is a 3 Stars, but the service and facilities are already no higher praise. It was my sister who booked the hotel and later free upgraded to double single bed room. Though it is a 4 Story hotel, but it is clean and fresh, neat and tidy. So, I would rate it 5 Stars. Hotel is at Jalan Tunku, Kuching.

Room Tip: As good as.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennyisegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2013 via mobile

Got a city view room. Small room (as expected as they placed their room size in their web page), very clean with TV frige, safe and lovely sleepable bed. The air con functions well and the hotel has a nice location, near water front, seafood restaurants, eateries, massage and even karaoke. Near two miserable malls but with supermarts that fill your needs. Staff is friendly and speaks ok English. I think it's a fair deal for the hotel rates we pay with the kind of room we get and the comfort that goes along it. Despite numerous complaints about small room size and exaggerate the smallest by a lot, try getting a city view room. We need a to to snooze not to do workout so I think for the rates we pay its a fair deal. Returnable stays and I enjoyed the few days of residence.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2012

Stayed in ABELL for 3 nights : 8th to 11th Dec. This hotel is about one and a half years old. Rooms even though a bit small but was clean, with small table and chair;security box;small fridge;water boiler;hot shower;3 in 1 coffee... Hotel staff were very helpful and ever ready to go the extra mile to make the guest comfortable : Ms Alice, Mr Zul to name a few. The water front Kuching is just 10 min walking distance.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gawtham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We thought as the hotel was right around 50 usd it would be a bit more lux.
What a bummer! A 24 inch piece of art and a tiny mirror a boutique hotel does not make.
The room is so small two cannot walk abreast across the room. The showers are big, but only part of the shiny elaborate plumbing worked. There is a bar with loud music on the street, which wafts up to the rooms and the buffet breakfast is not included, it is 8 usd. The only moderately healthy option were two salad plates of fruit and cold tea! There is a bell hop who will ask if you want a day tour tomorrow every time you pass and Oh, and there is a insane drilling sound shaking our rooms. heheh
luxury, it is not.

Room Tip: On the second floor the bar down the street is loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trevadea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Abell Hotel is fairly new (opened April 2011). It is at a good location - walking distance to most attractions in Kuching. The rooms are clean and the bed/beddings are very comfortable!
Breakfast buffet is so-so only. As it is near a few coffee shops, you can also choose to have Kuching/Malaysian breakfast outside. :-)
We chose rooms at the back as the front face the main road, which can be a bit noisy. Depending on which location, some rooms at the back have only very very small "ventilation" windows or long panel glass only facing the corridor - hence it can be a bit claustrophobic.
However, it is good enough for a short stay. I definitely recommend to have seafood at the "Top Spot" food court as well as shop for souvenir along the Main Bazaar nearby!
Staff is also very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If you do not mind traffic noise, the rooms facing the main room are better with full panel windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tanicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I was arriving into Kuching after a long flight so wanted a hotel booked and what a mistake to book into Abell. Arrogant management, small rooms. The lady manager wanted the front desk clerk to charge me for the telephone call while he was trying to help me
Dont stay here. for the same price there are better hotels in Kuching with better rooms and with windows

Room Tip: Just dont come here that is better..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aungkhant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Certainly, staff is what it makes a good stay in this hotel. Friendly, with natural smile and willingness to go extra mile to help at any point, people at Abell will outcome their colleagues from more established, "branded" hotels.

Location is good, walking distance to most of the things to see in the city. Rooms are cozy and warm. Some of the rooms are windowless, but they are equipped with false-balcony type window with nice flowers. Overall, it's perfect place to stay in Kuching.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with window, although even windowless rooms are quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gev-Sar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abell Hotel

Address: No 22 Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Hotel Class:3 star — Abell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Abell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing