We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical of the hotels here, but pricey.”
Review of Abell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abell Hotel
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The large exterior and rather nice restaurant situated here makes it seem like it's a four-star hotel. Thankfully, on checking the booking sites, it turns out that this hotel is quite typical of the "budget boutique" hotels scattered around the area. On checking in, it was entirely as expected - small but functional room, no view, with nice enough bedding and a good rain shower installed ensuite.

As with most of the other hotels of similar class I've stayed in here, sound proofing was downright lousy. I could hear doors banging close, and people calling out to each other in the corridor. I suspect the corridors themselves had acoustics that were echoey, which made having thin walls worse.

I didn't take breakfast here, so unable to comment on the quality. However, there are many eating places within walking distance, whether it's for breakfast, lunch or dinner, and whether you fancy local food or fast food restaurants. Also lots of pubs in the vicinity, and some supermarkets.

Like I said, quality of the hotel is quite typical of similar hotels in the neighbourhood. The difference is that it is more expensive than the others. It's not that I'm too unhappy with the hotel, but considering I can get the same quality (perhaps slightly better in some ways) within the same location and for a better price, I don't see myself returning to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiselstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Clean modern makeover with friendly staff. Points stop there! Room was so small you had to maneuver around bed and doors to get where you needed to. Toilet was soooo close to basin you had to put one leg over toilet and then straddle it to sit down. You could literally fold your arms on basin while you sat on toilet! Funny but annoying. Room had no windows and smelt. Air conditioning was centrally controlled and noisy and FREEZING!!! After 2 nights we were glad to leave

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stay here for a couple occasion either my vacation and my business trip. All I can say it's that I'm very satisfied during my time stayed in this hotel. Very polite staff, always smiles and greet you every time you pass. Room is clean and comfort, even though the toilet is a little small but it's not a real big deal for me. Location is just great. Shopping mall it's beside and opposite this hotel. Waterfront area, which is my favorite place, it's just 5 minutes by walk. Breakfast is good, they don't have a lot of variety though. Overall this is a nice hotel, good location, great staff, I will definitely coming back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed for two nights. Initially I had only booked for one night and since I had to extend my stay by one more night, this was done in a breeze. The room was clean and well kept. Walking distance to some shopping malls and there's a good selection of eateries and pubs nearby. Staff were friendly and went out of the way to help. Would recommend this hotel to others as it is conveniently located and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The cheaper the room, the smaller it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsureshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Well appointed small rooms in a 4-story hotel.

There are interior rooms with no window to the outside. These will have the lowest rates.

Room small but well-designed, bathroom attractive.

Excellent Internet bandwidth but only in the lobby!

Large flat-screen TV has Fox sports (1 channel), news, and Fox Movies Premium channel. Also a Chinese and Malaysia channel.

Comfort plus: Non-smoking hotel. Instant coffee and tea with a kettle in the room. Cold, new fridge, very cold air con.

Comfort minus: demand water heater for the shower only warms, no way to increase the temperature.

Safety plus: 3 exit stairs. Locking safe box in the room. Sprinkler system.

Safety minus: hallways have many turns, and there are short, dead-end halls that will be a trap during smoke and fire.

Restaurant downstairs available for meals most days. Evening dinner is expensive but a nice Brazilian all-you-can eat BBQ.

Walk just a block to McDonalds, or across the street to KFC and Pizza Hut.

Close to many bars, restaurants, shopping, and the river walk.

Easy to catch a bus from the nearby Margarita hotel to the resorts.

Room Tip: Interior rooms will be more quiet and cheaper. Street side rooms will have some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JamboME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

The staff at this hotel went far out of there way to help us whenever they could. They always made us feel that we could ask them for help with anything during our stay and that they would deliver.

Our room was very nice and well kept. The food at the restaurant was okay. Would recommend this hotel to others as it is in a great location - just steps from the waterfront, the staff are amazing and the rooms are great.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Located near the shopping centers and Taman Kereta. Good location to stay, shop and eat. The room was clean and comfortable but I found the toilet was too small. All of the staff were nice and warm. It was a pleasant stay after all. Will come again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoanVivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abell Hotel

Address: No 22 Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Hotel Class:3 star — Abell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing