We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will stay for the second time”
Review of Abell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abell Hotel
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I will stay for the second time”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Althou the water pump is noisy due to the pumping system but thats not a big deal. Staff are friendly, keep smiling all the way from open up main door till up to room. Cleanliness is good, at least its clean and comfy to stay in. It worth to stay in again for the next time when i visit Kuching again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JesseyYap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    69
    36
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
36
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Checking experience was wonderful, staff was very friendly and helpful. this is 3 star hotel, so the room you can aspect to be small. We like our room, clean, nice clean bedding and the bathroom was sufficient. the location of the hotel is great. a lot of restaurant around from local food to western to the fast food.
the big complaint I have is, 1) breakfast, one word " Lousy."
2) the hotel could definitely use sound proofing, I could hear people talking in the middle of the night and taking a shower.

Room Tip: ask for the room close to the elevator. If you like your room with window to look out, don't boo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alangkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloemfontein
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Whilst this modern, minimalistic hotel is within walking distance of the walking distance of the riverside, and two shopping malls, the layout of the rooms and the "view" of some of the rooms are questionable. We stayed in two different rooms during our visit to Kuching. The first room had no view - the "window" looked out on cheap plastic flowers. None of the rooms had light fittings or a reading lamp near the bed - one has to get up to switch the lights on or off.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with a window facing the street - otherwise you will be boxed into a claustrophobic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoreneBloemfontein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

The large exterior and rather nice restaurant situated here makes it seem like it's a four-star hotel. Thankfully, on checking the booking sites, it turns out that this hotel is quite typical of the "budget boutique" hotels scattered around the area. On checking in, it was entirely as expected - small but functional room, no view, with nice enough bedding and a good rain shower installed ensuite.

As with most of the other hotels of similar class I've stayed in here, sound proofing was downright lousy. I could hear doors banging close, and people calling out to each other in the corridor. I suspect the corridors themselves had acoustics that were echoey, which made having thin walls worse.

I didn't take breakfast here, so unable to comment on the quality. However, there are many eating places within walking distance, whether it's for breakfast, lunch or dinner, and whether you fancy local food or fast food restaurants. Also lots of pubs in the vicinity, and some supermarkets.

Like I said, quality of the hotel is quite typical of similar hotels in the neighbourhood. The difference is that it is more expensive than the others. It's not that I'm too unhappy with the hotel, but considering I can get the same quality (perhaps slightly better in some ways) within the same location and for a better price, I don't see myself returning to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiselstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 September 2013 via mobile

Clean modern makeover with friendly staff. Points stop there! Room was so small you had to maneuver around bed and doors to get where you needed to. Toilet was soooo close to basin you had to put one leg over toilet and then straddle it to sit down. You could literally fold your arms on basin while you sat on toilet! Funny but annoying. Room had no windows and smelt. Air conditioning was centrally controlled and noisy and FREEZING!!! After 2 nights we were glad to leave

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontianak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stay here for a couple occasion either my vacation and my business trip. All I can say it's that I'm very satisfied during my time stayed in this hotel. Very polite staff, always smiles and greet you every time you pass. Room is clean and comfort, even though the toilet is a little small but it's not a real big deal for me. Location is just great. Shopping mall it's beside and opposite this hotel. Waterfront area, which is my favorite place, it's just 5 minutes by walk. Breakfast is good, they don't have a lot of variety though. Overall this is a nice hotel, good location, great staff, I will definitely coming back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I stayed for two nights. Initially I had only booked for one night and since I had to extend my stay by one more night, this was done in a breeze. The room was clean and well kept. Walking distance to some shopping malls and there's a good selection of eateries and pubs nearby. Staff were friendly and went out of the way to help. Would recommend this hotel to others as it is conveniently located and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: The cheaper the room, the smaller it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gsureshk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#11 of 54 in Kuching
23 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 54 in Kuching
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abell Hotel

Property: Abell Hotel
Address: No 22 Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Hotel Class:3 star — Abell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Abell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing