We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair for the price”
Review of Abell Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Abell Hotel
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fair for the price”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The staff are great, the room was tiny with a closet bathroom/toilet, clean and modern though. It was good for one night. Breakfast was extra, so I ventured round the corner to Maharajas, a tiny cafe, for roti chanai, excellent choice. Good espresso at the hotel. Not a lot of style and some rooms look good, mine was ok. You get what you pay for. Brown doors though?

Room Tip: Maybe pay a bit extra. I wouldn't want to share the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lailaf62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    73
    37
    8
    2
See reviews for
26
38
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent hotel, clean and handy for the center of Kuching and it's range of affordable restaurants. We arrived on our first day and ate a meal off the menu which was one of the tastiest of my 10 hotel tour of Borneo.
The breakfast was buffet style and on other occasions was menu, we suspect it depended on the number of people in the hotel.
I ordered the laxa for breakfast which was a lovely mix of Thai style noodle and chicken soup. It was delicious.

The room had excellent free wi-fi and was very comfortable and quiet with everything you would expect in a top hotel room.

The staff are friendly and very professional. Go to the restaurant experience called TOPSPOT which is a short walk from the hotel for a brilliant seafood eating experiance at affordable prices.

Walk to the river and visit the nearby Chinese temple. We felt very safe in Kuching and felt that this hotel was in the 'perfect position'

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rawson-Gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

this was a really nice hotel right in the middle of kuching. great location. room extremely quiet. staff super friendly and helpful. price was a fair price. there was only one problem: there was NO WIFI in the room.

Room Tip: my back room was dead silent. i would imagine rooms on the street get the traffic noise as is always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sidney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Abell is a small 3star hotel located at a very strategic place. Walking distance to the riverside, seafood restaurant, and next to Jalan Padungan where most of the local food can be found.

Staff are providing good service, answering queries in a lots of details, providing a lots of guidance such as where to find transport, information of entrance fee, opening time, and also where to find good food.

Overall we have good experience with the hotel, rooms are a little small, but it is clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meiyeeho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Simple 3 star hotel but satisfactory. Conveniently positioned for shopping, food searching and a walking distance to the water-front for Sarawak river view and cruising adventure. Right infront of the hotel there is shopping mall and nearby are many 4 star hotels. KFC just a stone throw and a Popular Bookstore shop is at the neighbouring building. Room clean and bedding comfortable. Hotel staff are warm and friendly and ever willing to answer your queries. We bought packed fresh sea-food and they were kind enough to store it for us while waiting for our scheduled flight home. Tourist quides are available and the cost quite reasonable. We did not take the hotel tourist quides because we already booked in advance with Amogha Travel Kuching.

Room Tip: The room we had was just above the entrance facing the main road. Though the building is at the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Puteriandalas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Travelled to Kuching as a group of old classmates for a friend's wedding. Was booked in to Abell Hotel for 2 nights and really appreciate its good location within walking distance to the major attractions of Kuching including the Waterfront, and the very sumptuous seafood center, TopSpot.

Rooms were a bit on the small side but reasonably comfortable but well isloated from the noise of the hustle and bustle of the city right outside. Parking is free for hotel guests and almost everything touristy can be done or eaten within walking distance. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kong H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great option for a comfortable stay in central Kuching.Very handy for a stroll to the river front, shopping, and eating places.
I'd have to agree with other reviews, the rooms without a window are claustrophobic. We were moved to one for one night because of our late booking, and I'm glad we were able to return to a windowed room which was excellent. Otherwise, everything you could want from a hotel. And thanks to "Stayfree" (Safree?) and the team for being so kind and helpful.

Room Tip: As mentioned above, ask for a room with a view to the outside world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DPKilmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.4 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
995 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kuching
590 reviews
0.1 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 54 in Kuching
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abell Hotel

Property: Abell Hotel
Address: No 22 Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Hotel Class:3 star — Abell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Abell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing