We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grilled red meat was pretty average”

Elephant Cafe & Bistro
Ranked #158 of 586 Restaurants in Kuching
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Grilled red meat was pretty average”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

On celebrating mother's day, we went to Elephant cafe.

I decided to try their grilled meat - lamb, chicken with sausage. As expected, the sausage was horrible. It was highly processed. For the price, you cant really expect much...as they say, you get what you paid for. The quality of the lamb was lacking. The meat was somewhat chewy. I mostly tasted the sauce rather than the meat itself. i rather it was the other way round as i like to taste that grilled flavour. I am not into sauces. It was not a very satisfying meal. For the same price, i can get better grilled meat at the Zest restaurant where i can taste that grilled taste without being overpowered by the sauce. Zest is only within 10mins walk from Elephant cafe.

However, there is no denying that their milkshake was still fantastic.

Next time, i wont order their grilled red meat. Chicken is ok for me.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank kakiayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    16
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“One of the much better 'western' outlets in Kuching”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

The price is pretty good for the 'western' food. You get pasta, grilled meat plus chunky fries and a small number of local dishes. I thought the quality of the food was pretty decent for local Kuching standard. I dont find it easy to get non-local meal thats decent and this one is. My grilled maryland chicken was not swimming with thick sauce (it just coated the chicken and was enough without being too over powering) and its well seasoned.

Deco is pretty minimalistic. I like the cushion benches but not on the cheap plastic white chairs and tables, which dont seem to 'match' the benches. Guess that doesnt matter as long as food is decent.

Nice milkshakes for Rm6.80 at the time of writing. You could get sundae ice cream here but the machine makes a huge noise each time it is used. Maybe its their way of getting your attention to get some sundae.

Nice friendly staff. So, i am happy to pay for their 10% service charge as they deserve it unlike some other places.

Its a stone throw away from the 360 degree express hotel.

They are closed on Monday and opens for lunch and dinner for the weekdays and all day for the weekends. They dont serve breakfast.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank kakiayam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Good for what it is”
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

by Kuching standards, this place serves up decent 'western' style dishes. It's situated in a very unassuming, even scruffy, part of town but once inside the ambience is actually very nice. Staff attentive and cheery, service prompt and prices reasonable. Like the minimalist decor but felt the rather cheap looking tables and chairs lets it down slightly. Overall though, it's fine and definitely way ahead of anything else in the immediate vicinity. Tempted to return for a cappuccino next time, hope they make them from 'real' coffee :)

Helpful?
Thank KR_EDINBURGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“good place to eat with family and friends”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

this cafe is cozy and located in area similar to Chinatown. Ample parking spaces. they served local and western food at affordable prize. bring your family there.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank vivienateng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great milkshakes”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

the milkshakes and ice cream cups are awesome! the food is mostly western, taste is average( ok if you are craving western food. we went twice and both times some items from the menue were not available. the place is quite cool / american diner setting and there are many locals guests. the servie is not too attentive but i would always go there for the shakes!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 430travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Elephant Cafe & Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Elephant Cafe & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing