We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”

Kuching Offroad - Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One day offroad adventures in the beautiful landscape of the Bau area 20Km from Kuching. The BAU HISTORY TRAIL visits gold mines, historic villages and caves. On the way you will learn about the local history from prehistoric times onward. The TRINGGUS TRAIL visits remote Bidayuh villages (real heads in the head house!) and a 60 minute jungle trek with knowledgeable local guides introduces you to jungle and farm. Depart Kuching 08:45 return 18:00. Both adventures include a Bidayuh style lunch. Finally, if you are looking for Borneo's famed biodiversity, you can find it on THE NIGHTWALK!
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A day full pack of adventures and experiences .Amazing hospitality.James is very knowledgeable and passionate about history,nature and especially caves.Thanks to Emma too,for delicious lunch provided.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hristo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameshj, Owner at Kuching Offroad - Day Tours, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Thanks for the review Hristo. Hope to see you back in Kuching.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An incredible insight into the wonders of Sarawak”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We (family with 2 boys 15 & 13) have just completed the Trinngus Trail. James is a font of all knowledge relating to flora, fauna, caving and the history of the region. Importantly, he has worked hard to build relationships with local villagers and as a result we were welcomed into 2 small villages, off the beaten track. The trip included a visit to a local market, skull house, Malay-Indonesian trading post shop, a trek through the jungle to the Indonesian border, a tasty local-food lunch, exploration of the Fairy Caves and a historic gold-mining area. This trip was one of the highlights of our trip to Borneo. I know that we will return one day and will be booking a caving trip with James on that occasion!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameshj, Owner at Kuching Offroad - Day Tours, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
I'm very glad that you all enjoyed the trip Deborah and look forward to taking you caving. Many thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Off the Beaten Track”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Ex pat Brit James provides an outstanding experience in the jungle and small kampongs of western Sarawak..together with a fascinating but challenging exploration of the Fairy Cave...a not to be missed experience. His in-depth knowledge of the geography flora and fauna of the region, together with his cultural awareness and sensitivity made for an exceptional day, worth every ringitt.

Helpful?
Thank Hayden H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameshj, Owner at Kuching Offroad - Day Tours, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Thanks Hayden. I'm glad that we made it an exceptional day for the two of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great day with James”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My parents and I did the offroad tour approximately a month ago. The tour was a great combination of culture and nature. James has so much knowledge about the nature, geology and local people.

One day I will definitely book another tour with james.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank WouterN89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameshj, Owner at Kuching Offroad - Day Tours, responded to this review, 5 November 2014
Wouter - thank you. I'm glad that you all enjoyed it and that I'll be seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun!!!!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We (family with 2 boys-14 /11) did the Trinngus Trail and the Night Walk with James and Mary. We had an absolute blast! On the Day Trek, we went round a local market, Chinese trading village, a village with a skull house, a jungle trek to border with Indonesia, a delicious lunch with local food (great kalimantan juice), went into the caves and drove to a goldmine...it was action packed! There is no way that we could have done all of this in one day and between James and Mary they were extremely informative about the area, the life, flora, fauna and other stuff.
After the days adventures we carried on with the Night Trek. Once again, James was incredibly informative about everything we saw and kept us all motivated to spot different species (even those of us normally run from spiders). We hardly walked a few metres and saw lots of species, 56 in total. James said it was record for an hour and a half! James sent us photos of all our doings and all the BUGS!
Many thanks to James and Mary for sharing their passionate interest in everything Malaysian.
Definitely one of the highlights for the whole family.
Highly recommended.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JSC347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jameshj, Owner at Kuching Offroad - Day Tours, responded to this review, 29 October 2014
Thank you all for the kind review. Biodiversity comes out at night. I was amazed when I first went into the jungle at night (close to the airport) at just how many species there are. The NightWalk location has yielded more than 350 in total.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kuching Offroad - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Kuching Offroad - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing