We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room”
Review of HomeStay Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
HomeStay Kuching
Ranked #40 of 80 Kuching B&B and Inns
Sibu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Small room”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

1st stay st this hotel.
Pros:
Cheap, near city centre, fast wifi, breakfast provided but not buffet style (eg: fried mee + soy milk), car park with CCTV surveillance. Fan & air cond.

Cons:
Small room, no soundproof as u can hear any sound outside ur room (not recommended for those who wish to honeymoon), limited choice of tv channel & remote is not working, white room with white lamp make the rooms looks very dull. The bed is not comfortable as it was covered by plastic! Bring ur extension cable as only one socket is available.

I actually booked this hotel for 3 nights, but from the first moment my wife and I walked into the room, we want to change hotel. It's really cheap, just doesn't have the hotel feel.

I credit card was charged for 3 nights and the settlement has been done. But the staff was willing to pay me the balance in cash. Credits for them!

Sincerely, I' m not saying this hotel is not good. If u r budget traveller looking for a place to sleep, this hotel is for u. If u r couple or with ur family, I recommend to pick others.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonylau83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed there for five nights the staff are amazing nothing is too.much trouble esp the kitchen staff for his limitted knowledge of english he tried very hard to please you. The rooms are clean and the kettle was a bonus. The nagative part is you definstly need a car as the waterfront area is far and there are no resturants nearby the corridors are hollow so can be noiesy . We had hired one from the airport so were fine.

Room Tip: We had the room with the window facing out which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tazy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
254 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

From arrival until departure I found this hotel to be excellent in everything ad more that was asked, the staff go out of their way in making your stay as welcoming as possible. The hotel is very clean and tidy, the breakfast is basic; but more than enough. My only complaint is that they cover the mattress in a plastic bag!! That makes the bed uncomfortable, apart from that10 out of 10 for this price range. Great having a kettle in the room as well,

Room Tip: Higher floor, room at the front, you have a window and you can, Room at the front, you have a windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuching
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

overall, value for money.it cost less than rm100 for a room with two queen bed. the bed was just ok.the room was clean .it offers basic amenities such as aircond and fan, water heater,and a place to hang your clothes and put your stuff. parking space is also provided.the room also comes together with breakfast. the hotel shares the same building with one motor company and it made us difficult to look for it at first..huhu. one more thing, i also advise you to bring your car charger because there will be only one plug to charge your gadget..huhu.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckynica82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.8 mi away
Place2Stay @ Kenyalang
Place2Stay @ Kenyalang
#30 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#25 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tune Hotel Waterfront Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.9 mi away
Woodpecker Lodge
Woodpecker Lodge
#29 of 80 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Basaga Holiday Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HomeStay Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HomeStay Kuching

Property: HomeStay Kuching
Address: No. 56 Jalan Ellis, Kuching 93300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — HomeStay Kuching 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes HomeStay Hotel Kuching special is that it is a budget hotel that has the astonishing facility of Air-conditioning, Hot Shower, Satellite TV programmes & etc. Furthermore, the hotel is located just 3 minutes away from the city centre offering a view that will have very few parallels in the world. The hotel is designed to satisfy even the most discerning traveller with comfort, elegance and superb service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your HomeStay Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing