We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mega Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mega Inn
Ranked #34 of 82 Kuching B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Pros: Mega Family Room was spacious and clean. Plenty of food stalls around the inn. As we were staying on the topmost floor, the lift was really a plus point. Laundry rates and wifi connection were acceptable. Friendly counter staff. Bathroom was spacious too with good water pressure and good water heater.

Cons: Saw 2 baby cockroaches in the room, so pest control is definitely required. When it rains heavily, it leaks at the window sill. Sliding windows cannot latch which is not that safe for kids who climbs around.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JeyCeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    11
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
1
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Bintulu, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

I've stayed here for 3 nights and 4 days. Everything was okay for me. The taxi service is always available. They are many food courts nearby. If I'm not mistaken, Borneo Medical Center is just opposite the King Center. So, if you plan to have a medical check-up there and you need a place to stay, I highly recommend you to stay in Mega Inn. Besides, Mega Inn is situated near to the shopping malls. For example, The Spring.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FlorenceZara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

The rate are affordable,and the room are clean, the staff are friendly, and able to late check in as long as the room available.the location also strategic for those that own transport.in fact if u do not have a transport there are easy to find a taxi. Its also near to the spring mall,cityone, chilipeppers,taka,rojak kuchei and its also near to bangunan sultan iskandar (convenient for those that need to do things at govt office).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RaydentKentRezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

Highly recommended for budget travelers. Lot of eateries around the hotel. Not very far from malls & shopping complexes. It takes around 20 mins to reach airport. Other tourist locations can also be reached in good time. Rooms were clean with basic facilities and aircon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prabhu_shankar_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The housekeeping kept our room clean everyday. They also alert the maintainance to repair our toilet.

The staffs are friendly and helpful. The location of the inn is easy to find & it is close to the spring and one jaya. Local food is easy to get nearby. There is also a supermarket next to the inn. Buses and taxis are available too.

I only wish they could subscribe Astro channels instead of the ones they have right now.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marieagarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Good clean budget hotel, good showers good for facilities locally a short taxi from Kuching but never the less a good family budget choice lift was a little noisy and I've been in quieter but all in all a good nights sleep

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GSWebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Sarawak
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I can't sleep the whole night because of the rats are making noise and crawl, run and play on the ceiling like their playground. I can stand if it just a minor problem.

I came downstairs asking the worker ( i think big person on the hotel) to change the room. I have to wait for ages just to ask him look into the problem, but he just don't want.

When i request to change room he ask me to add some more payment. He is crazy, because it already 4.30am and he want me to add money just to change the room. I say NO, and he ask me to keep waiting.

As i need to sleep, i returned back to the room and face the rat's sound again.

Earlier upon check in, i'm not paying the rates as stated on the booking.com. The price should be RM70 nett but the lady said the room is no longer available instead i have to pay RM80 nett for the room.

Booking.com should highlight this problem to the hotel.

I will never come to this premise again and I will not recommend you guys to stay here.

Amazingly..my comment to xxxkxxg.com is not as what I wrote. I don't want to share my view with them again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mohdhafidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.0 mi away
56 Hotel
56 Hotel
#22 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
1.6 mi away
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
Memoire Hornbill Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pine Garden Hotel
Pine Garden Hotel
#32 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.9 mi away
Padungan Hotel
Padungan Hotel
#13 of 82 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
1.9 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mega Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mega Inn

Property: Mega Inn
Address: King's Centre, Kuching 93300, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mega Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Mega Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing