We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich and beautiful”
Review of Textile Museum

Textile Museum
Ranked #22 of 88 things to do in Kuching
Type:
Attraction details
Stansbury
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Rich and beautiful”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I can look at textiles all day, so this is my kind of museum! It has a few floors with glass cases and large floor displays showing a range of costumes and fabrics. There are displays of weaving looms, bridal outfits and ceremonial outfits for different cultural groups. It is free and a great place to potter around for a while. The gift shop is small but packed with gear. I was surprised at the lack of travel/cultural books, DVDs etc in Kuching but maybe I just didn't find the right places. I bought a great book of b&w photos of Borneo in the giftshop and there were a lot of beaded and wooden items.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    67
    32
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A must see place to go”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Informative displays, educational and a good overview of the culture of Sarawak and the differences between the textiles of the different ethnic groups

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting museum, excellent gift shop”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

The museum was pretty well planned out and presented; we stopped into the museum on an impulse and left having learned a lot more than expected. The gift shop was much more authentic than the shops along the waterfront.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“A gem of a museum”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This is a small museum but full of interesting costumes and tribal wares from around Borneo. The explanations of weaving patterns and pictures on the textiles are very informative. And all free! Wonderful way to spend and hour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pumpkinIzmir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top-notch museum”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

So far in Kuching we have not been disappointed by the high standards maintained by the city's museums. The textile museum met the bar with a sprawling display over a few floors. Housed in a large, air-conditioned building, the information and displays are well laid out, easy to follow in-depth or skip a few / skim read. We found it worth a visit while the heavens opened outside. As per normal, I can't remember nearly all of what I read, but I did come away satisfied with a few tidbits I will remember for a while yet.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Textile Museum also viewed

 

Been to Textile Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing