We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax”
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The location is a bit far but a hotel by the sea is a good place to stay if you only want to relax. The staff were excellent especially the reception and housekeeping departments. We stayed for 2 nights immediate after a public holiday but the service was excellent. The chalet we were in was in good condition, only the AC was leaking but it was rectified almost immediately after we informed them.

Room Tip: Chalets are a gem but rooms by the pools are excellent too
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhairul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    258
    183
    83
    63
See reviews for
284
237
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in a Baruk Suite, a 2 story individual round buildings up on the hill, downstairs was a open veranda area while the room was upstairs. It was an usual but a lovely huge room that had a queen and single bed, plenty of seating and a spa bath in the bathroom. There was also a balcony to sit out on and enjoy the views of South China Sea. There was a pool on the hill top near our room which I thought was a lot nicer than the pool down the bottom and hardly anyone using it. There was (a lot) stairs that you could walk down to the bottom (main) area or just near room (undercover) there was a buzzer that you hit and within a couple of minutes a shuttle bus would be there to take you down and same when you wanted to go back up.
There was plenty of things to do around the place with a putt putt golf, table tennis, a playground and a kids club (this was closed when we went pass). The beach wasn't the best but the best in Sarawak but if it's the views and sound of ocean and not so much swimming in it this is fine. The Sarawak Cultural Centre is next door and there was a shopping complex with food court and a bar with music near completion .
The breakfast was fine with a decent variety and the juices they sold through the day were yummy. There was also a convenience store but I would recommend you bring most of the stuff you need. Dining options were limited.
This is an awesome resort but hasn't been up kept to well and needs to be advertised a little more as there was hardly anyone around and no atmosphere so made the place feel dull and lonely and for this reason only I gave it a 4 instead of 5 stars.
Would I stay in this place again??? Definitely but hope next time there will be some other people staying there too

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jessie1512w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This resort, even in the shoulder season, charges quite a lot for rooms, and takes additional money from 'day tourists' bussed in to use the pools. There is no reason why this resort should look as tired as it does. Our mattress was rock hard, hotel room doors slammed, you walk past a rubbish dump to get to the hilltop pool, they have the saddest putt-putt golf course I've ever seen, the list goes on.
Spend some money, owners!

Room Tip: We had an 'ocean view' room, which was away from the noise of the pool, but adjacent to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bradley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We stayed at the neighbouring Damai Puri Resort and Spa, but once we found this place it was a welcome relief. We were there in monsoon season but this resort still had a good family-friendly atmosphere and had a busy vibe to it - a far cry from its neighbour.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bean_Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

The nearby Damai Golf & Country Club is great and good value for the money. The beach resort is a village designed to house a lot of short- term visitors. Because of the rainy season, the beach was only accessible during low tide. Rubbish seems to be something local staff just overlooks, you find it all over the place flying around. Hotel transportation sucks. We got a shuttle to the golf course, but they were not able to pick us up for the return. Golf course staff finally felt pitty and drove us back with their private car. Embarrasing!!
Reception staff was very helpful and friendly, just that beyond their desk, customer service does not continue. Housekeeping picked up towel, but forgot to bring new ones. Pillows are moldy and smell. Shower just warm, no hot water. Food is very local, overpriced and just acceptable, do not expect much. By the way, ensure to bring your own drinks from outside, the convenience store is low on stock and expensive on non-halal drinks. However, breakfast buffet was generous and good. Won't return in December, rain really spoils the day.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pappnasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhu, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed at the Damai Beach between 6 to 13 November. My husband Alan is a former Royal Marine who served in the Indonesian Confrontation in the 1960's. He was treated like a VIP all week. THe staff couldn't have been more respectful,friendly or helpful. We were looked after like royalty and stayed in the Baruk suites which were amazing with views over the SOuth CHina sea. We couldn't fault anything and would recommend the hotel to everyone. If you are looking for a beautiful, relaxing place to holiday, this is it. We went out into the remote parts of Borneo and found the kampongs Alan served in. Also a trip to the Orang Utan sanctuary at Semenggoh and Kuching. It was all so special and memorable. We would love to return if we can.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbeach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We were on a time share exchange into this very dated resort . I am not the easiest guest to please! Certainly the main reception pool area needs some renovation - interestingly the hotel is "Cat friendly" but I was amazed to have a cat jump onto the counter into the rear room with a rat in its mouth .. thought I was seeing things at first.
Much of the hotel is dated and some shabby points.I made a point of visiting a couple of days before arrival to check it out - be warned it is a long trip to the main town and taxis are expensive. I tried to pre check in to avoid what was a holiday weekend and asked for a parking space as these are first come first served .. and we found we needed it when it was available to us . We had a hilltop - "long house" and it is certainly a LONG way from the beach and main reception . The reception thinks it is proffessional - some staff were good others were not - indeed almost both extremes !!!! .Shuttle vans that have seen better days are used to transport you ..mind your head and the sliding doors which are difficult to open if you are on the slope and MIND YOUR HEAD and the fumes the bus boys and security guys were a good feature - very friendly .. litter bins were not cleared frequently until they were told . .
Views were good from the Hiltops and the pool on the cliff was nice .. pool staff very helpful not sure what use the bar man was he just seemed to just smoke or sleep - piuck up the phone iof you needed food !
Manageress was seemingly helpful and tried but I think there are limitations in some areas of the team and skills
Rooms clean although we had a leak in the tolilet "hose" was eventually sorted .. linen changed ok but sometimes no bath mats. TV were old style CTV . needs Flat screen . THERE IS NO WIFI except at poolside or recption and IS CHARGEABLE!!!
charges are made for every thing - need extra coffee / tea sachet you get charged, leave too much on your plates at buffet breakfast and there is a threat warning notice of a charge . Apparently some "locals" ( Malaysians) fill the plates and eat only half.
The Satang Restaurant for breakfast was good and staff were very helpful ( some would be suited in higher positions as they were very efficient ) .. when not a busy day they will even get your tea and coffee otherwise it is a frre for all .. ! Verty helpful chef found me some real "pork" bacon type slices a real treat in what is mostly a halal - no pork - country .
So praise for staff here although generally meal prices were not cheap . The trees restaurant seemed surplus on the night we ate there - we were the only ones .. serving local dishes the meals were very expensive and the quality was average - the Roti was frozen so we looked elsewhere . We found that nearby the foodcourt supplied real good cooking with very good local prices - we ate there most as we stayed at this resort for a week . The roti stall holder was a former chef at the Damai and opened his stall up . We are a little budget aware but taste and hygene is paramount.
All in all we enjoyed the stay alythough if we had a family we would look at one of the cabins on the beach and maybe ask they cleared some of the debris from the coastal path area. Good location for the tribal cultural village - worth a visist and certainly talk with the folks who work there - one guy carving string instrumenst was a dancer there and has worked for over 20 years - nice to have a chat without being organised or staged .
So to sum up a little tatty and scruffy and maybe the uniform designes could do with an update and the general staff issued with some new T shirts as the others altopugh clean were tired .
Sunloungers by the beach were rusty but poolside plastic just tired - need detergent and a scrub not just water to clean them. Would I go again .. yes probabaly as it was overall and OK vacation but not when they are full and with knowlege that this is typical of many Malaysian - Mainland West and East Malaysia buildings - the general idea of upkeep is not the same as other countries. I note we have been visisting Malaysia for over 30 years although this was our first trip to Kuching . We also stayed at a private house for 4 days before the Damai stay - that scored "luxury" status but sorry that place is a secret and does not take many guests.

Room Tip: pick the lower levels if it is quiet and you have a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pootegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
13.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,517 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
13.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,965 reviews
13.7 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
13.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Property: Damai Beach Resort
Address: Teluk Bandung | Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuching
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the panoramic South China Sea and legendary Mount Santubong, Damai Beach Resort offers wide ranges of accommodation & facilities to suit every holiday makers needs. Main swimming pool for adults & kids is ideally located at the main building while another pool, secluded on the Hilltop has a breathtaking view of both the mountain and the sea. 5 F&B Outlets, convenient shop, souvenir shop, Tour Agent counter, Recreation Centre, Business Centre, Spa & Wellness, Shuttle service are some of facilities offered. Catering & Events caters from small meeting to large conference besides private parties and Weddings & other special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing