We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but dated resort”
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is probably the best placed resort in the Santubong area. The strategic location sees the resort flanked by the sea and the mountain, the view is surreal.

There are wide selection of room types at this resort. There are pool views, hillviews, beach chalets and hilltop rooms and suites. The hilltop accommodation, while having great views, is rather inconvenient, needing van shuttle to go to and fro the other amenities. Due to the spread, there are 2 pools, one near the lobby and the other at the hilltop. The view from the hilltop pool is fantastic, overlooking the South China Sea and Santubong mountain.

There are many interesting nooks and corners in this resort. However, it is really dated and in desperate need of major renovation and some attention to detail.

The staff, while amazingly slow to respond, are really friendly. They could be better trained. The food we had were not overly exciting.

We tried the spa and again, the service was very friendly. However, this has to be the most worst spa treatment we have received. The treatments were akin to the DIY treatments done at home - those ministrations should never be called massages and facials.

Overall, the resort gives a satisfactory holiday. However, I have the feeling that this resort has the potential to be a fantastic holiday destination if the place is spruced up and the services improved.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YL S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (717)
There are newer reviews for Damai Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

440 - 446 of 717 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

I would have picked three and a half if it had been available. I stayed here with my partner for two nights in January during the midweek. It was pretty quiet, but I was told by a local friend that it gets packed at weekends with locals. We stayed in a seaview deluxe room. The first room they gave us had no safe, the aircon was not working and there was a large hole in the carpet. We asked to be moved and they found us another room without too much fuss. The place could perhaps do with a bit of updating, but overall I thought it had a positive atmosphere. The gym, however, looked dire. The staff were mostly friendly and keen to please. Both pools were good and the hilltop one was particularly lovely with great views. Unfortunately, while we were there the monsoon was affecting the seas (which were very rough) and the beach was closed throughout.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We arrived on a Wednesday, and had the feeling that we had the place to ourselves, told be a staff member that occupancy was around 15% but it would increase to about 60% on the weekend. The staff were fantastic friendly and genuine, the breakfast was good a mix of western and eastern foods, and lots of fruit. The clifftop pool has a magnificent view of the ocean. The Damai beachfront was the first resort built in the area so they grabbed the prime piece of real estate, they had a great hill with superb views the Puri resort in contrast is built on flat land. We had a look at Puri it seemed even more deserted and not sure that the extra price is justified.

Room Tip: we stayed in poolside superior room, in one of the large blocks which was fine until the weekend whe...
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petermoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed at the Damai Beach resort at the end of a two week tour of Borneo. We stayed in a large chalet second from the beach. The resort itself is very large but when we were there it was quiet. The beach was virtually deserted as most people stayed around the pool.
There is a shuttle bus which takes you into Kuching. This takes around 40 minutes. There is a charge for this service, but it is still cheaper than a taxi. Make sure that you book ahead though because if you just turn up and expect to get on, you may be dissapointed.
The staff at the resort were all very friendly and the restaurant has a verandah overlooking the beach where you can choose from a varied menu catering for western and asian tastes.

Room Tip: Ask for a chalet on the beach
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Russ1470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

The location is a bit far but a hotel by the sea is a good place to stay if you only want to relax. The staff were excellent especially the reception and housekeeping departments. We stayed for 2 nights immediate after a public holiday but the service was excellent. The chalet we were in was in good condition, only the AC was leaking but it was rectified almost immediately after we informed them.

Room Tip: Chalets are a gem but rooms by the pools are excellent too
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rhairul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We stayed in a Baruk Suite, a 2 story individual round buildings up on the hill, downstairs was a open veranda area while the room was upstairs. It was an usual but a lovely huge room that had a queen and single bed, plenty of seating and a spa bath in the bathroom. There was also a balcony to sit out on and enjoy the views of South China Sea. There was a pool on the hill top near our room which I thought was a lot nicer than the pool down the bottom and hardly anyone using it. There was (a lot) stairs that you could walk down to the bottom (main) area or just near room (undercover) there was a buzzer that you hit and within a couple of minutes a shuttle bus would be there to take you down and same when you wanted to go back up.
There was plenty of things to do around the place with a putt putt golf, table tennis, a playground and a kids club (this was closed when we went pass). The beach wasn't the best but the best in Sarawak but if it's the views and sound of ocean and not so much swimming in it this is fine. The Sarawak Cultural Centre is next door and there was a shopping complex with food court and a bar with music near completion .
The breakfast was fine with a decent variety and the juices they sold through the day were yummy. There was also a convenience store but I would recommend you bring most of the stuff you need. Dining options were limited.
This is an awesome resort but hasn't been up kept to well and needs to be advertised a little more as there was hardly anyone around and no atmosphere so made the place feel dull and lonely and for this reason only I gave it a 4 instead of 5 stars.
Would I stay in this place again??? Definitely but hope next time there will be some other people staying there too

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jessie1512w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This resort, even in the shoulder season, charges quite a lot for rooms, and takes additional money from 'day tourists' bussed in to use the pools. There is no reason why this resort should look as tired as it does. Our mattress was rock hard, hotel room doors slammed, you walk past a rubbish dump to get to the hilltop pool, they have the saddest putt-putt golf course I've ever seen, the list goes on.
Spend some money, owners!

Room Tip: We had an 'ocean view' room, which was away from the noise of the pool, but adjacent to the...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bradley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
13.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,614 reviews
13.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
609 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
13.7 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,012 reviews
13.7 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Bandung | Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £36 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the panoramic South China Sea and legendary Mount Santubong, Damai Beach Resort offers wide ranges of accommodation & facilities to suit every holiday makers needs. Main swimming pool for adults & kids is ideally located at the main building while another pool, secluded on the Hilltop has a breathtaking view of both the mountain and the sea. 5 F&B Outlets, convenient shop, souvenir shop, Tour Agent counter, Recreation Centre, Business Centre, Spa & Wellness, Shuttle service are some of facilities offered. Catering & Events caters from small meeting to large conference besides private parties and Weddings & other special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing