We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A good and friendly hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We (family with two kids aged 7 and 10) stayed for 4 nights. We were picked up at the airport, absolutely no problems, and got two connecting rooms, which was very convenient. Rooms were very spacious and nicely decorated. Everything worked perfectly. For wifi in the rooms, you have to buy cards which allow you to use the internet with one device (!) for 24 hrs altogether within three days - for some 40 RM, which is rather expensive. The second expensive thing in the hotel is the restaurant. The food is good, but especially for lunch it is better to walk down the beach and try the food court next door - there you have all sorts of Asian food stalls with good food at very cheap prices. Only the restaurant promising seafood fine dining is not quite up to the standard that this promises. Trips to Kuching, the Orang Utan place and the national park can all be booked at the travel agency in the hotel. We had the same driver and guide for both trips on two subsequent days and found him very friendly, helpful and informative - he did his best to show us all sorts of animals, be it the dominant male Orang Utan Richie (veeery impressive) or a green viper in the national park. All in all, a very enjoyable and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flabbergast52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    255
    179
    79
    63
See reviews for
278
232
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

hey ! first of all , im from Kuching haha well, for me Damai Beach Resort is the best here :) its a nice place for u to clear your mind . nice beach sort of and most people go here . as for me who loves a place where theres lot of people (not that much but more than other beaches in Kuching) so that i can 'wash my eyes' hahaha get what i mean yeahh haha and the facilities are good too. friendly staffs. as for the foods hmm not that good BUT u can always go to Buntal Village nearby to eat seafoods tho :) apart from that, its a nice place for a gateaway from the hustle life. couples,families,friends its suitable for all . its pretty clean. and if u wanna go for a day trip U CAN!! just rm3 per entry and u can spend your day at their beach with FREE DRINK. just one pack thou hahaha also u can use shuttle bus to go there for rm20 return fee. andu can play the water games there too (pay yourself) haha conclusion is, its OK :) dont put your hopes too high thou hahaha

Room Tip: u can see their websites haha the one on the hill with the seaview are nice BUT its quiet as not man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loretta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

Damai Beach Resort was a perfect choice for a short family getaway. We stayed in one of the chalet like cabins, which provided us with a more campy rustic feel. The downside to the chalet was that, just like a rustic camp cabin, it had that musty damp smell. However, one cannot forget that you are near the beach, you are dealing with moisture and humidity, therefore, this is not something that will be easily erased by housekeeping and daily cleaning. In other words, those that might complain about the damp musty smell and even the dust, might want to refrain from the chalet experience. Our family enjoyed it because it did provide a more outdoorsy camping like experience. Housekeeping did their job daily and always changed linen and provided towels, including extras upon request--no hassle.

The breakfast buffet was average, but provided plenty of choices that included westernized selections like pancakes, to local delicacies that are always interesting to try and experience. You can even have a eggs made to your preference. However, I still cannot get use to what most hotels in this region call "breakfast sausages", as they are really small hotdogs, and not actual "breakfast sausages" like the ones served in the United States, but 'hey' this is a unique learning experience. A negative note would be in reference to long waits for food during lunch and dinner services, and not a large selection of food choices, but the food that you do receive is enjoyable. We did make reservations on two of the nights to eat at the Fishermen’s Catch Seafood Restaurant, which is on the hotel's premises. The food was fresh and delicious, and the service was hospitable and friendly.

Damai Beach Resort provides easy access to a clean beach, which is always a plus when traveling in this region. We had a very nice and relaxing time walking along the shore, collecting shells, and splashing in the waves. A suggestion, though, would be to bring swim shoes or something you can wear into the water because it is rocky in some parts.

The resort also has affiliations with travel venues that can assist in arranging trips to some of the local attractions, which is quite convenient and affordable, though I am sure you can find cheaper rates if you venture out on your own.

One inconvenience to staying here is that it is a bit of a travel from the airport, and is not in close walking proximity to much of anything, meaning you have to always take a taxi. But, if you are looking for a nice little getaway from the hustle and bustle, Damai Beach Resort can definitely provide an arena for relaxation.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanHenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. Our Garden View room in a main block was large, but that is where the positives end. The room was not particularly clean, and the bathroom smelt badly of drains. The overall condition of the bathroom was very poor, with large amounts of filler everywhere, and gaps in the tile grout - defianately seen better days.
We were informed on arrival that the main pool was closed for work, hopefully it will include the paving, which is positively dangerous in places.
There are too many petty rules, such as a fine of 10RM for every 100 grams of food not eaten when taken from the buffet, fines if the pool towels are returned late, etc. I have never seen this in any other hotel we have stayed at, and this one is so run down it makes you wonder why they bother. Certainly not a place we would return to.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We booked 2 Poolside Superior rooms to accommodate our family. The rooms were spacious and very nice. Unfortunately, the poolside is currently under construction.. Something they forgot to mention to us when we booked the rooms. The walls between rooms are paper thin which created hostility between room users. The restaurants are extremely expensive, all I can say is thank god for the food court a few minutes away, which we found by accident as the hotel staff did not tell us about it. The views are gorgeous and the beach is not too bad. The Gym is tiny and costly, there are very few activities available and everything has a high price tag attached to it. The whole place needs a revamp, as it's old and rundown. The room staff are lovely, whilst the reception staff seem very stuck up and full of rules. We have stayed in numerous hotels in Borneo and with the exception of Damai Beach Resort everyone has been friendly and hospitable. More like a 2 star hotel, definitely not a resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claud_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Can not say enough about this place. Fantastic views of a small cove removed from the town centre. Go for a Barok suite it is well worth the extra money as the views are to die for. I would suggest 1608 to 1610 as they are at the front and close to the pool.

I would have given 5 stars but 2 things let it down. The mattresses on the beds should have been replaced some 10 years ago and the food in the restaurant was less than average (There are otheer eating options close by).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

I spent 3 nights here with my two daughters aged 5 and 9. The hotel is quite old- rooms are nothing to speak of- there were ants everywhere in the bathrooms- I assume because we were on a ground floor maybe? We were going for luxury - simply to spend time on the beach and see the orangutan sanctuary so for that it was fine. One thing this place has going for itself is the beach and the amazing sunsets! It made our trip in addition to the hawker like stand just down the beach- best Prata (banana and chocolate) we've ever had! The staff was very friendly- we had to pay for Internet service which was annoying and the food was- well lets just say one of my kids ordered chicken nuggets and they were orange! My fault for allowing that but the thought makes me sick! Other than that staff, beach, sunset, cheap price and hawker stand make it worth it I guess

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeshmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
13.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
13.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
15.1 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
13.7 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Property: Damai Beach Resort
Address: Teluk Bandung | Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuching
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the panoramic South China Sea and legendary Mount Santubong, Damai Beach Resort offers wide ranges of accommodation & facilities to suit every holiday makers needs. Main swimming pool for adults & kids is ideally located at the main building while another pool, secluded on the Hilltop has a breathtaking view of both the mountain and the sea. 5 F&B Outlets, convenient shop, souvenir shop, Tour Agent counter, Recreation Centre, Business Centre, Spa & Wellness, Shuttle service are some of facilities offered. Catering & Events caters from small meeting to large conference besides private parties and Weddings & other special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing