We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired beach resort”
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our travel agent booked us into the resort for three days as part of our Sabah/Sarawak holiday as we were on our honeymoon. We were put off by the exemplary charges if any items were removed from the hotel room. It would have been great if they were provided in the first place There were no hand towel, no face towel, no bath mat and items on their inventory that they did not provide in any case. We had to clarify this with the Reception. Also there were missing light switches and we had to ring to get them to replace blown bulbs in the bedroom. What was even worse was that the bed linen were stained and old and that put me right off. We gave up chasing housekeeping and went to bed They only changed the linen the next day after we complained the next morning. The walls were paper thin and you could hear every thing that was going on in the next room. The hotel was under renovation and parts of the pool was roped off. The noise from the works was not condusive for a relaxing time. The beach was great though and we escaped to it. The food was great at Damai Central which was accessible via the beach at low tide. The hotel locked the gate that gave access to the Damai Central via the foot path. The restaurant was not able to cope with meals ordered from the ala carte menu as I didn't want a huge meal from the buffet It took over an hour and a half for my meal to appear and that was after having to chase them. The food was cold when it finally arrived. We have stayed in six hotels during our trip and this hotel was very disappointing. The hotel needs more than just the external renovation but also their staff needs training to provide better customer service to their clients. They need to get the basics right, clean rooms with clean sheets and working lights.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

321 - 327 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights from the 14th August, 4 of which were in a beachside cabin and 4 in the hilltop Baruk suite. The cabin is great, loads of room and well equipped, as for the the Baruk suite....you should really experience it. The views were incredible and the experience was worth every penny (especially the jacuzzi bath). The pool up at the hilltop is great as well. We had no problems with crowds, the weather was great and we really enjoyed the breakfast. We generally ate out in the evening at a nearby fish restaurant in Buntal called Lim Hock Ann Seafood. The fishing boats bring the fish directly to the restaurant as there is a jetty outside, you pick the fish you want and it's cooked how you like it. Doesn't get any fresher. Topspot in Kuching is also well worth a visit if you like your seafood. The place is packed, vibrant and the food is fresh and well cooked. There's also a couple of restaurants, a food court and a 24 hour shop down the beachfront near the Sarawak Cultural Village.
I'd recommend the Semenngoh Orangutan trip which we organised through the hotel, as well as the Bako National Park trip. We also saw dolphins and crocs on the 3 hour river boat ride.
I booked this and was unsure if I'd done the right thing after reading a lot of the reviews and also looking at climate charts predicting 5 hous of sun if we were lucky and a good percentage of cloud cover. We had an amazing experience and the weather was great - sunny every day until about 4-5 pm then fabulous thunderstorms that lit up the sky.
It's NOT a 5 star resort but the prices reflect that. It IS somewhere you can relax in comfort amongst beautiful surroundings....

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Cheekymonkey2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Arrived to find the beach side pool right next to a building site! Changed rooms to be nearer the hillside pool which is much nicer and was away from the noise. Make sure you use the safe in the room as our camera and charger was stolen from our room while we were at the pool! Only response from management was that they would investigate but that the staff were very honest - heard nothing since! Very disappointed as we had stayed here before and really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happyinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Look - My wife and I knew what we were getting ourselves into - peak holiday period in Asia - at what is a cheap and cheerful resort. The staff and management were fantastic - and a real credit to the facility. However, overall - the resort was a little tired, food options by day 3 were repetitive and the karaoke in the main bar/lounge made the whole evening drinks and night cap - a non-event. There was little to do our side the resort - so if you're looking for something to do at night time beside scrabble and uno - this is not the place you are looking for.

I would recommend getting a villa up on the hill away from the activity of the main building - where the pool is less crowded.

Room Tip: A lot of the beach side bungalows have paper thin walls - try to look for a room in the brick struct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ_Ashby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have to agree with the recent reviews. Yes, the place could do with sprucing up a bit, the food is OK but not great and the hotel is certainly not to the highest international standards (bathroom tiles need re-grouting, some floor tiles need replacing and a few new carpets would be nice - there is an on-going renovation program in place). That being said, however, it is not an expensive hotel and has a number of very good features. Our room was very large and cool, and overlooked the beach. The setting was quite magnificent - a beautiful safe, sandy beach, backed by shady trees with the rain forest as a backdrop. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and getting taxis, shuttles etc. was easy, and the overall facilities are good. The overall setting of the hotel, including the lobby area was extremely pleasant. Local attractions such as the circular rainforest walk in the Permai Rainforest resort (10 mins away), the Sarawak cultural village (5 mins away) and the Santabong river cruise (pick up from the hotel - 15 minute drive) were really excellent. If you are looking for 5 star luxury (with prices to match) then don't come here, but if you want a great beach, lovely staff and a setting backing onto the rainforest at a reasonable price, then the Damai Beach Resort is worth a visit.

Room Tip: Superior Poolside rooms overlook the beach and are within 30m.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuffolkCountryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Me & my family prefer to be here for a relax vacation as it only took us for half an hour to reach there. We have tried staying in various types of room (it's nice and comfortable) and we normally exercise walking up the stairs to the Hilltop pool-sea view. We can even walk to Damai Central. As to our experience, Damai Beach Resort is still the best place to go for a vacation.

Room Tip: Executive Suite are good for big family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmilyS8712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

I had not been here for a couple of years and expected the place to be spruced up a little. It wasn't but still this a good resort, a great location , great staff and good facilities. It does need renovated and the prices should reflect that the resort is a bit tired. Would still recommend if only for the location

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annaegge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
13.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,667 reviews
13.7 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,039 reviews
13.7 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
626 reviews
13.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
15.1 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Address: Teluk Bandung | Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £39 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the panoramic South China Sea and legendary Mount Santubong, Damai Beach Resort offers wide ranges of accommodation & facilities to suit every holiday makers needs. Main swimming pool for adults & kids is ideally located at the main building while another pool, secluded on the Hilltop has a breathtaking view of both the mountain and the sea. 5 F&B Outlets, convenient shop, souvenir shop, Tour Agent counter, Recreation Centre, Business Centre, Spa & Wellness, Shuttle service are some of facilities offered. Catering & Events caters from small meeting to large conference besides private parties and Weddings & other special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing