We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”
Review of Damai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Damai Beach Resort
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights. With family. Nice hotel with a nice beach.
Pros:-
Nice large rooms.
Very helpful staff esp ms hines at reception, mr ismail one of the concierge staff. Everyone knew everything abt the place.
Nice beach.
Close to damai central.

Cons:-
Rooms nice but poorly maintained.
We took 2 rooms both tv's were not working well. Phones were also not working properly. They sent maintenance promptly but should have been checked earlier.
Very stingy with towels soap etc. They have an eco concept but please dont stinge on soap bars , hand towels etc.
At the buffet breakfast big signs everywhere abt how every 100 gms not eaten will be charged!!!! Kinda like treating your 5 star guests like school kids.
No safe deposit box in the rooms .only in the lobby.
No free wi fi. When you site a hotel far from town you need to be more generous with things like internet access.
I stayed in riverside majestic before I went to damai and felt so much more welcome there.(also free good high speed wi fi)

But the staff at damai (all) from reception to restaurant were all uniformly very good.
I doubt I will go back here. Easier and better to stay at kuching town. Esp if the main purpose is to see whats in the jungle.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank shanil178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    260
    183
    83
    63
See reviews for
287
237
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I have been remiss in not writing this review sooner. Our family stay was almost a month from January 24, 2014 to February 14, 2014. First let me say that this was the most enjoyable stay I have ever experienced, and I travel a lot. We are a family of four girls; grandma, mommy and two granddaughters, Aria and Indya. The amazing experience began the moment we arrived and checked in at the front desk. We were immediately upgraded to a beautiful ocean view hilltop room. We arrived late at night and were greeted warmly and taken to our room by shuttle. The swimming pools are lovely, room service was so friendly and helpful and wifi in lobby was great, but I understand it will be better next time we stay as there will be wifi in the rooms as well. Everyone from the front desk staff to the restaurant staff to the housekeeping staff, and the General Manager treated us like we were celebrity guests. Everyday when we returned from our adventures, the housekeeping staff had placed all of the girls dolls and stuffed animals in cute arrangements on the beds and around the room. I can't say enough for this amazingly wonderful stay, and we are looking forward to returning over Chinese New Year 2015 and will be staying in the "family suite".

Room Tip: Hilltop rooms have great view. Air conditioning works well. We will be staying in family suite nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeri Hope D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I had read bad reviews on Damai Beach Resort and hoped they weren't accurate as our travel agent had booked us in there. We had been at Bunga Raya resort previously and the first night when we arrived late we were all shattered by the resort. It is just under 40km from Kuching. The location is lovely being on the ocean and if you are on the hill the view is beautiful unless you are at the end of the building as we were with the air conditioning system underneath us that is noisy and runs 24 hours. They sent us a confirmation saying we had been upgraded to a poolside room and we could see the pool from the second floor. There was rubbish in the corridors, our beds were hard and uncomfortable and basically there is not much that has been done to the resort in the last couple of decades. There is rotting timber, a tilted vernadah to walk on etc. When we walked through the dining area to our room on the first night all the seating in the dining room is torn or worn and vanish off the chairs. The view out to the pool was blocked off with tin as they were doing some retiling around the pool. I could not understand this as it blocked the view of the ocean, one of the few good things going for it and the pool. There was not much happening outside with the workers!

When I requested another room on the first night the staff were very nice and upgraded us to up on the hill were the accommodation was better. The most disappointing thing was the buffet breakfast were the choice might have been good for a Malaysian but very poor quality for an Australian who loves good quality. There is signs everywhere stating you will be charged for every 200g of food not eaten! I understand the rational and trying to minimise waste but it is very sad they have gone to these lengths and I wonder if that is the result of poor quality food and people not eating it.

My suggestions for the resort is taking the tin down and let the view in even if you are working outside. A lot of your staff (especially those at the pools sit around doing nothing all day, maybe when there is no one eating or swimming some could be painting, sewing new chair covers. Getting better quality chefs!!! PLEASE. We decided we would rather go hungry and drive back into town rather than eat there, the Central Damai food was just as disappointing. (I am not exaggerating) Buy some golf buggies to replace the old vans you use to transport people around (easier to get into than the vans and appropriate for the distance up and down the hills. There is a musty smell everywhere. The pool up on the hill and the view from there was the best thing at the resort. There is great potential with a LOT of money and sad not to the owners not to invest by putting money into works.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lizzy797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 6 nights in Baruk Suite ( the round ones on the hill)& it was amazing! Beautiful staff, breathtaking views,fantastic pool. Loved the whole experience & would return. Pick your rooms wisely, I would go hilltop or beachfront.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quadeAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This resort has a very good package for those who want to disconnect themselves from busy city life. Clean and calm beach not much waves. Rooms are only average but managed to provide basic comfort. Breakfast provided also very basic but bread n butter are there for you survive. Must do at resort are cycling, mountain hiking (mount santubong) and jungle trekking at nearby forest. Staffs here very helpful and always smiling. Nearby facilities such as damai central, escobar and sarawak cultural village. The resort is nice because not crowded and very quiet. there are no ATM nearby. Bring enough cash. My room's bathroom was poorly ventilated therefore causing slight odours.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lechman R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Bought 2 nights stay for my family to spend mother's day. Booked a 'Standard Balcony' through Agoda. When arrived, was put in an old building block up the hill.Reason being new block was full. And we were even required to put RM100 deposit, what for man??We paid the room in full! Grass was as tall as our waist and the building looks creepy. Albeit the large room, little positive things can be said about the rest. The bathroom door knob was so old it was locked. the maintenance guy had to rip it off and replace with new knob. The room was far from the main
building, pool etc luckily we were from Kch and brought our car.

Unfriendly staff, terrible room. Wasted close to RM700 for 2 nights, and ruin our mother's day celebration mood. Go elsewhere people, not worth spending your night in this sad excuse of a hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank illeuzaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Damai Beach Resort we have stayed at before, but this time was in a group family holiday, we all stayed in baruk suite the round ones up on the hill, and there was a private pool area, bar up there as well, a free shuttle bus took us to downstairs area and we all enjoyed the vast selection breakfast and there was two choices for dinner or a short walk to damai central .

During the day just relaxing hearing the ocean and enjoying the pool and amenities, so of which where being upgraded, i am glad that renovation works are updating the place and where not an inconvenience.

The staff where always helpful and friendly, the maids cleaned the room folded clothes and put everything back away :)

Due yourself a favour stay in the baruk suites try to get as near to pool as possible for the best view, and also the fireflies that came at night into the trees :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrien19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
13.8 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,541 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
13.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
575 reviews
13.7 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
989 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damai Beach Resort

Property: Damai Beach Resort
Address: Teluk Bandung | Santubong, Kuching 93756, Malaysia (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Damai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between the panoramic South China Sea and legendary Mount Santubong, Damai Beach Resort offers wide ranges of accommodation & facilities to suit every holiday makers needs. Main swimming pool for adults & kids is ideally located at the main building while another pool, secluded on the Hilltop has a breathtaking view of both the mountain and the sea. 5 F&B Outlets, convenient shop, souvenir shop, Tour Agent counter, Recreation Centre, Business Centre, Spa & Wellness, Shuttle service are some of facilities offered. Catering & Events caters from small meeting to large conference besides private parties and Weddings & other special moments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Damai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Damai Beach Hotel Kuching
Damai Beach Kuching
Holiday Inn Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing