We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2011

I had a terrible experienced with Hilton Kuching in month of April 2011 as my hotel rooms was cancelled without notice when I arrived there! The worst part is I travel with my colleague (first time to Kuching) and had to appologize to her due to this problem. What a disaster!
Hope that those who planned to stay there, make sure you had contingency plan, i.e. had others hotels contact number to avoid dissapointment when Hilton cancelled your rooms without notice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Willloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,261 - 1,267 of 1,669 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2011

I stayed at the Hilton Kuching for 5 nights, after completing a group tour of Vietnam with Travel Indochina, , on the next leg of my 2011 SE Asia tour.
The hotel is has renovations in progress but these did not interfere with my stay.
The parts of the hotel that have not been renovated are still in good condition although a little dated. The restaurants and bars I tried are excellent. The Waterfront restaurant has a very good buffet breakfast and dinner. There is a very good coffee shop adjacent to the Lobby where light snacks are available all day. You can also get a light evening meal. I did not try the other restaurants. There is also a nice Bar, Senso, adjacent to the coffee shop.
The staff, especially the concierge and porters are very helpful and all the other staff are very friendly.
My room was excellent as I was upgraded to a Junior Suite with a large lounge room, king sized bedroom, large bathroom with separate shower and bath and a separate toilet. In the lounge room, there was a lounge suite, sideboard with television and a reasonable size table that could be used either as a desk or a dining table. The bedroom had a King Size bed, a desk and plenty of wardrobe space with a safe, and a cupboard with a television. The bathroom facilities were excellent with plenty of towels and all the expected amenities.
The hotel location is great. The river is directly over the road with a nice promenade and food stalls in the evening. It is only a short walk to the Main Bazaar, for handicrafts and antiques, and the centre of town and several shopping malls.
I would recommend the Hilton Kuching, especially at the very reasonable room rates available to other traveller and the renovations when completed, will make the hotel much better.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Hilton Kuching is definitely not what I expected of the Hilton brand. I guess I wouldn't have minded so much that the toilettries were scarce (had to ask for toothbrush+toothpaste. My colleagues walked to 7E to get theirs), the service at breakfast was slow and the overall ambience of the hotel screams "upkeep!", but "hospitality" was missing from the moment I stepped out of the airport taxi. The concierge did not bother coming to open the taxi door for me, not even the doors to the hotel. And ther receptioninst, oh dear... Rather than make things easy and pleasant for the guest, she made it horrible. When she asked for identification, and I wanted to give her my passport (although I'm Malaysian), she insisted to see my IC. Same difference, no? And when I asked where the lifts are, she said 'on the left'. When I looked to my left, she said, 'left!' - and then I realized she meant HER left a.ka. MY RIGHT. Hilton Kuching (I don't know about other Hiltons) needs to buck up, and not just mending the exteriors of the hotel, but the staff as well. They are in the HOSPITALITY industry, after all. I hope mine is an isolated case and no other guests get a similar treatment of indifference from Hilton Kuching. Having said that, would I stay in Hilton Kuching again? No, thanks.

Room Tip: Try the Spa, about the only good thing there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpicyOlio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Has the Hilton name, needs redecoration....., location is absolutely great near the river. Food is good enough, nearby a nice location named James Brooke for nice food. The entrance is very good. They also manage Bating Ai. This really needs better management. The location of Batang Ai is fabulous.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank ChckitOutNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2011

We stayed in this hotel for two nights as part of a package trip to Borneo. Our room was on the 11th floor and it was huge – probably the size of two standard rooms. The outside wall was all windows overlooking the city. Everything in the room was very good and at a high standard. The hotel provided water and the usual amenities. Our in-room safe wasn’t working as the battery had died. The staff came very quickly and replaced the whole safe – the only problem was that it wasn’t anchored on the shelf. He assured us that it would be fine. I played around with it and secured it myself. We thought this was unusual for a hotel like a Hilton.

The hotel pool was very large and comfortable. The exercise room was well equipped. The hotel however does not have either a sauna or steam bath. Breakfast was very good with lots of selection. The hot food could have been hotter – a common problem in Asia we have found. As well service in the breakfast room was very poor with few staff and very slow service.

We would recommend this hotel. Since it was included in our package we cannot comment on value for price. There are other hotels nearby though that offer essentially the same quality of room and service for very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canadian079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2011

This is a review of the Pool and gym area only, not of the rooms.

We paid to come and use the roof top pool and the gym here for the day as our hotel had neither and we wanted a workout and to relax. Really wish we hadn't bothered.

The day passes were ridiculously expensive and jacked up simply because of the Hiltons brand name.

The Gym itself was nothing special, it was small and didn't really have much equipment. It had just enough for a basic workout and that was about it.

The Sauna/Steam room weren't switched on despite repeated requests. But to be honest when I actually checked them (thinking they would finally have them on) I didn't stay anyway because they weren't exactly clean or well maintained.

The pool area was in a pretty shabby state too. The water was clean and fine to swim in, but the tiles were chipped, the paint work of the whole area was grubby and the changing rooms were filthy and stank of stale smoke, with butts all over the floor too! Not nice at all!

If this is a reflection of the whole hotel the management should be ashamed! Do not come here at all!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MichaelHuxley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

we have a second home in kuching and have been going to kuching for over 15 years and have been visiting the Hilton for that amount of time last year we missed coming to kuching due to illness .We visited this year and of course went to the Hilton in our view was the best hotel in kuching . What a disappointment the buffet dinner was appalling little choice the hot food was Luke warm at best and very poor value the following night we went to the steak house again the standards have dropped and the portion size would leave a child hungry .I don't believe how what was the best place to eat in kuching has become the last place I would now go to but sorry i wont be returning

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melp212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £41 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing