We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overhyped”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2008

Hilton Kuching is an OK hotel overall, but it is far from perfect. It may be the best hotel in Kuching (I don't know the others), but I have definitely seen much better hotels elsewhere, which are not so enthusiastically recommended here.

The hotel is a bit over its peak. The building badly needs an overall refurbishment. We stayed on a top floor, supposedly in one of best rooms, but the corridor smelt bad, the aircon in the room was way too noisy, there were spots of moulding on the wall, and the hotel has the noisiest pipes I have ever experienced. We were waken up several times when a neighbor used the washroom at night (and I am usually a good sleeper). If you add to this that the room design is a bit old and clumsy, and the peeling paint in the pool, you get a below average hotel as result.

What makes it average is the service and the food. The staff is very nice and helpful, the several restaurants and cafes serve good food, and the buffet breakfast is really one of the bests I have ever had in a hotel.

The location is also a plus, just in the center, basically on the riverside esplanade. We had a beautiful view from our room over the town and the mountains. But our friends next door had less luck, their window looked in a different angle.

If you get a good offer, Hilton may be the best choice, but do not pay too much premium. There might be hotels in Kuching which offer similar value for much less.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank screenname_BK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,390 - 1,396 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2008

We stayed at the hotel as part of a package which included the Batang Ai longhouse ( see review)
The hotel over looks the Sarawak river and I would suggest you try for a river view room, the rooms were tidy and clean, large comfy bed and hot shower, part of our package was breakfast which was a buffet, plenty of options for everyone.
In the hotel were several restuarants which we tried a couple and the food was very good, the steakhouse especialy, around from reception is a small coffee bar, a stop here is recommended for an ice blended mocha and cake, very good and very cheap, the hotel also has a outside pool.
But I found the best part of this hotel was the staff, they were all so helpful, the airline had lost our luggage, but the staff were so helpful, at one stage 3 members of staff were phoning different people chasing up our luggage, everyone had a smile, everyone wanted to help, when we checked out one member of staff found we were not leaving for another 8 hours and arranged for us to have our room for free until we left
Over the last 8 years I have stayed in many hotels and taking everything into consideration this hotel has to be one of the best if not the best I have stayed in.
Kuching it self is a interesting place, the sunday market is worth a visit, it is also open on saturdays and the orang utan at Semengok are well worth a visit, couples or families could easily spend three or four days here.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trentsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We spent 3 nights here in May 2008 and were very impressed. We were allocated a river view on a high floor which enhances your stay. The food in the main restaurant was very good and quite reasonably priced when compared to similar rated hotels in Sabah. Service was very efficient, yet friendly. The location of the Hilton is excellent, allowing direct access to the riverfront walk and also very close to the Main Bazaar shopping street.

This was our jumping off point for several trips in Sarawak - - one to Semmengoh Orang Utan sanctuary ( not so well known as Sepilok in Sabah, but only 45 mins drive from Kuching and we saw 7 orangs compared to only 3 at Sepilok, and the conditions were less crowded and seemed more natural - the orangs arrived by swinging through the trees, not along horizontal ropes).

Stayed: May 2008
1  Thank Brit_abroad_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2008

This was our third visit to this hotel. The staff are fantastic and have always made us very welcome. The breakfasts are amazing with a wide choice of hot and cold food plus a great selection of fruit. The rooms are very comfortable and on our last visit we were upgraded to a suite. Eating in the hotel is very reasonably priced and of a high quality.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bryan lusty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2008

The Hilton Kuching is located across the road from the river front area. Walking distance to 2 shopping centres.
The hotel has a mini cafe, lobby bar, great buffet breakfast restaurant, and fabulous gym. Pool is large and located outside.
Business centre is located near the fitness centre. taxis available outside. Reception quite efficient and friendly.

Standard rooms are normal size, all rooms have no balcony.
An executive lounge is available on the top floors.
If you get a good rate here it can't be beat.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Travelgypsyisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

I do not want to repeat much of which many people have said previously but the staff remain both friendly and helpful - nothing is too much bother.

The location is excellent and if you have a river view from your room that is an added bonus.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank CliffDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2008

The hotel was clean, and the staff was extremely helpful and kind. We had some issues with our return flight and the hotel staff went out of their way to help us. the hotel was by far the nicest in Kuching and had a great location. You must get a riverview if you stay here and try to get a higher floor. The river view is spectacular. Also the hotel has some great restaurants, and terrific roomservice. Its a wonderful hotel to relax and recharge after hiking and trecking in the forests.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £41 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing