We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Annoying petty charges” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Annoying petty charges”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

It's annoying to no end that in 2014 Hilton still mounts all these petty charges for every move you make - wifi is chargeable, printing a page is chargeable, no airport shuttle, breakfast is extra, everything. The room itself was good though and we slept well.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SashaRumyantsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    625
    213
    49
    22
See reviews for
257
444
113
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The rooms felt dank and dreary which some good photography obviously got around. Think '1990s avocado colour bath'! I felt it could have done with being refurbished a long time ago!

Pool was unappealing. Gym was warm with dated equipment. Worst of all the lobby stank of cigarette smoke as did the cafe and bar.

Aircon was too loud and kept us awake along with the noise from other rooms. All three nights we could hear other guests until the early hours. Rooms had little sound insulation from the busy road outside too.

Free WIFI was only available in the public (smokey) areas and not in the rooms unless you paid.

The Toilet flush broke.

We went out in the evenings for dinner but were warned to use the riverside entrance and not walk down the road to the main entrance at night! Having been to the bar opposite that had a seedy feel to it, with young girls seemingly entertaining older men this made sense! Still, we also found the bar in the hotel to be very loud and smokey so not much of an alternative, nor what you expect in a Hilton hotel.

The best bit was the tour company which operates within the hotel. Whilst I have no doubt it would have been far cheaper down the road (or too just book a taxi) we were very impressed with our guides on both tours. Very knowledgeable, helpful and friendly, which is more than can be said for the hotel staff!

In summary I used to blindly rely on the Hilton brand, believing it ensured a certain level of quality. It seems that is not the case and I will have to investigate other options in future.

I tried to complain to Hilton but they have made this very hard and I could not find a way of doing this on their website. I tweeted them asking for an e-mail address but they never responded.

Room Tip: There are some very nice hotels in Kuching along the waterfront, down the road from The Hilton. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tristosterone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

A pleasant stay ,the room are comfortable and clean. The lifts are fast and the lobby is airy and convenient. I like the location which is beautifully positioned in the City center and opposite the waterfront. The restaurant is also in a very good position as it presented an outside view of the waterfront and the main road. You can be a part of the moving traffic whilst having breakfast.The rooms are spacious and very clean. The furniture and fittings are new and of a good design and set up. The room smells fresh as the hotel maintain its cleanliness and install new carpets. The receptionist should acknowledge its Hilton Honour members to make the guest more important.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Razali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Razali A,

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon. Safe travels.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
163 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Nice clean and neat hotel without much frills. you had to ask for bedroom slippers and bathrobe and toiletries. did not quite like the pillows as it gave neck aches. Staff were nice and I would like to thank Pamela from the Reception who took extra trouble to prepare a surprise complimentary cake for my husbands birthday .Otherwise a pleasant stay in the rainy monsoon period.

Room Tip: try getting the waterfront rooms. though we were not given despite of various requests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Razta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Dear Razta,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Kuching. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that Pamela was helpful! I will be sure to share your comments wit her.

I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melaka, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Pleasant experience but will not hesitate to try other hotels in this region next time, as hotel & general facilities look tired. But good effort from staff to provide us a good stay. Wished we were given a river view room though...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Dear Ashley K,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're very sorry you were unhappy with our facilities.

We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile


Considered ok by kuching standards. Good view of the river. Decently clean and well maintained for such an old property. The ballroom is very nice if you are panning to host an event. My only complaint is- NO FREE WIFI!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pseo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear Pseo84,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you found the location and the amenities of the property to your liking.

We are currently working with our service provider to provide free wireless internet in the room soon.

Hope to see you return soon! Safe Travels

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Probably it is the cheapest Hilton in the world. I reserved the good room not to be able to stay at in the usual times. All is available cheaply and is the best! On the next time, I surely stay at Hilton Kuching. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kazuhiro T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Kazuhiro T,

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon. Safe travels!

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,906 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Hilton Kuching Hotel Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing