We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kuching Hilton Hotel”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Bloomfield Hills
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Kuching Hilton Hotel”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This hotel has a very nice location and is in close proximity to the Sarawak River where one can take a riverboat cruise. It is also walking distance to the market where one can purchase souvenirs. We had a very nice room overlooking the Sarawak River. We reserved an executive suite room which was nice but there was no free wifi access. There is a travel agency in the hotel that assisted us with our tours. The prices were very reasonable. Our guide, Alfie, was very helpful. The wait staff were not too friendly and seemed quite reserved. The restaurant cafe had average food. Wait staff need to have more customer service training,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Cecilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear A Trip Advisor Member,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience.

Complimentary wifi services is available in the lobby and all restaurants except in the guest room whereby a nominal fee is applicable. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Thank you again for your feedback and i invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Kuching city.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    658
    227
    52
    25
See reviews for
275
478
123
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
667 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed at this hotel one night while in Kuching. The rooms were quiet, clean and spacious. Of the 2 hotels that we stayed at in the city, I would highly recommend this one. The Steak restaurant in the hotel is very good and had a nice 3 course meal at a reasonable price. Great location along the river and within walking distance to many sites.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Nvlinks,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay with us at Hilton Kuching and I am glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Located in a very good position in Kuching, a standard hilton hotel where you know what to expect in advance.
Rooms are nice, spacious and clean. Breakfast was good with plenty of choices, mostly focused in the Asian standards.
Staff was ok, but not the best I have met.
There is also a bar at the hotel, where live events take place and many locals visit it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GMali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear GMali,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

We are very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

The entire team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
312 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

This was my third time at this property and will continue to return as I find it to be an excellent value. It is frustrating as this could be one of the best Hilton properties worldwide if some extra attention to detail. I guess Kuching is a laid back city and this reflects at the hotel.

Good:

Great rate at less than $100 usd per night with upgrade to the PH deluxe room.
Staff was always friendly and helpful.
Housekeeping visited the room at least twice a day.
Breakfast in the restaurant was very good.

Bad:

Mold in the shower. Room in need of deep cleaning.
Window insulation poor and did not seal allowing heat and noise in.
Lounge cocktail service - this was really bad for an executive lounge. The supposedly warm food was put out cold (think soggy fried food) and then started to heat at the time the service was to begin. Rewarming this type of food makes for a terrible result and at least 45 minutes to heat. Drinks were put out late and taken in early with both the vodka and rum disappearing during my stay. Cleaning of tables was poor with a damp cloth to porous table mats leaving food underneath.
Pool service was great last time and was no where to be found this time.

The staff, while friendly and kind, seem to spend more time chatting and less time to service.

Room Tip: PH river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Drtravels,

Thank you for returning to Hilton Kuching and for your feedback.

We apologize for the housekeeping problems and food quality issues you encountered. We appreciate you bringing these to our attention. We will make every effort to ensure our rooms and food quality are up to standards.

Thank you again for your feedback and i invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Kuching city.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Kuching is a great little city and the Hilton is a nice place to base your visit. It is right across the street from the river walk and there are a ton of great shops and restaurants nearby.

Rooms are quite nice and very clean. The restaurant is nice. The bar is fun -- especially if you go one of the nights the lounge act is in town, though beer is pricey.

Only downside of the hotel -- no wireless in the rooms. You have to go to the lobby to use wireless internet. But I would stay here again

Room Tip: River views are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadWarrior-FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear RoadWarrior-FL,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience staying with us in the Trip Advisor. I am glad that you found the location and the amenities of the property to your liking.

Complimentary wifi services is available in the lobby and all restaurants except in the guest room whereby a nominal fee is applicable.

Hope to see you soon! Safe travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
170 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

The check in was not that quite great but it was expected since there were loads of guests about. What was shocking was that one of my staff was given a smoking room (we requested for a non smoking - sighhhh) and when she entered her room her so called room had another male guest sitting in "her" room smoking. When we went to the reception to report this to an Indian lady attending to her made a quick change of her room and I did not hear any apology. Surely this is one of the worst mistakea any hotel can make and a simple apology would have been nice.

Waiting for the lifts is another nightmare. We had to wait a long time for the lifts.

My rating of poor was based on the incident with the room as I view this as a serious error.

Room Tip: High floor with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Rosalia D,

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were unhappy with your room assignment during your recent trip. I have reviewed your comments with our front desk team. I invite you to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Kuching city,

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

I stay here for 4 nights in executive club room with nice river view.
Check in and check out was efficient.
Good service but little disappointed with club lounge.
I really enjoy the live music with "faces"

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TT06095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear TT06095,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you found the location and service level of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon, Safe Travels,

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,965 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
554 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing