We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And again!”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just been back to the Hilton for our second visit this year. Totally enjoyable once again with the staff ensuring that my wife's birthday on the day of our arrival did not go unmarked - Thank you all so much.
We were placed in the same room as our last stay so happily had the great river, and distant mountains view. No complaints about any aspect of the room.
It seems "tric0660" had a much less happy experience at the Executive Lounge than we did. Our experience was being welcomed whenever we went to the Lounge, and during the day, always an offer of fruit juice, tea, or coffee. During the "cocktail hour" there was no reluctance to serve drinks, including gin tonic and acceptable red and white wine from Luis Felipe Edwards. The appetisers, hot and cold, served at this time were ok, if not stunning.
Food offerings at the Waterfront Cafe were good, breakfast with a wide spread of Western and Asian dishes and excellent buffets, Lunch,High Tea (weekends), and Dinner. Wish I had room to try it all!
There was a problem with the internet access in my (executive) room, I was told it was an ISP problem. Whatever, it is worth passing on this information to future guests :-
I purchased a Hotlink sim on arrival in Malaysia,(cost RM8.60), using my smartphone as a Wifi "hotspot" I was able to use my laptop to surf - 24hrs,100MB,for RM2; or 1GB,RM30 valid for one month. In addition, for international calls, using the prefix "132" VERY cheap.
Once again sorry to leave, but our next visit already booked.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vetus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Vetus,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Welcome Back. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such a good care of you and you found the service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon! Safe Travels.

With kind regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching and Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, Managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was a very nice hotel with excellent service. The restaurant was a very good choice for both breakfast and dinner with easy access to the riverside boardwalk. The facility has a small spa and fitness center, but the spa facilities did not open until 10 am. The guided tours were quite expensive, and we found it quite manageable to self tour using local transit and taxi to to get to locations

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank ronv891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2014

Dear Ronv891,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.

With warmest regards,

Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in March 2014 in an Executive King Room.

The room was very spacious and well furnished although the highlight was the extremely comfortable, supportive and luxurious King bed. When reading or watching TV or even admiring the gorgeous view, we always chose to sit on the bed rather than the furniture.

Another highlight was the spectacular view of the Sarawak River and the New Sarawak State Legislative Assembly Building. This building is so interesting and unique that we never ever tired of looking at it.

What is best about the hotel is it's brilliant location.
Directly opposite the waterfront esplanade - accessible by a pedestrian crossing (which the traffic obeys) directly outside the hotel's entrance. The esplanade livens up each night with food and market stalls, musicians and a good vibe.
The hotel is minutes walk to Carpenter Street (Chinatown), as well easy walk to many of Kuching's famous foodie haunts for local cuisine.
The famous Top Spot Food Court is only 5 minutes walk away and definitely worth visiting.
Shopping Centres are plentiful and close by to the Hilton - Merdeka Plaza, Riverside Shopping Mall, Sarawak Plaza, Green Hill Mall - and a short taxi ride costs only RM12 to the bigger and newer malls outside of the CBD.
Pontoons to jump on a boat to cross the river to visit the Malay Kampongs and Malay open air eatery are reached within minutes from the Hilton.
If you like a deep, strong and effective massage the Mirage Spa is just around the corner from the Hotel and totally worth a visit.

The staff at the Hilton were always friendly and genuinely interested in having a conversation with us. We were always welcomed when entering the Lobby and never did we have to open the doors for ourselves.

The pool area is lovely - and being an older hotel - the pool is deep. We have no problem with enjoying a pool in which we can actually swim in.
I have read other reviews where people have ridiculously complained about the depth of the pool. Handy Hint: Don't go in any body of water if you can't swim. Simples!

We really enjoyed the resident band playing at the Hotel Bar. Always a great way to end a wonderful day in Kuching.

Our room included access to the Executive Lounge, which fell short of our expectations.
The Lounge access included food and beverage, however it was near impossible to get any service. Drinks were not readily available, and had to be "ordered". Even non-alcoholic beverages were locked away in bar fridge; taunting us. Once we received our drink it seemed that we were only allowed the one, as no staff member was present to offer another round. The food was not plentiful nor tasty and very repetitive.
Also the Lounge was permitted to families with young children which meant it was sometimes very noisy with screaming, barefooted children who were permitted to touch the food and cutlery. This is probably more a reflection on the parents than the Hotel policies, however. In other Hotels we have stayed at, the executive lounge is strictly for adults and children above 12 years; to maintain a certain standard expected of any executive lounge.

Our other major gripe was the Wi-Fi situation which, for a top rated and internationally branded business hotel; was ridiculous.
No free Wi-Fi in the rooms; and only free Wi-Fi in public areas of the Hotel, accessible by access codes which are changed daily; and particular to each public area; to maximum of 2 devices. Which meant logging onto the Wi-Fi in the Waterfront Cafe required 1 access code, Wi-Fi in the Lobby another access code; and another for the Executive Lounge.
We did discuss this situation with management and staff who are aware of the problem and advise that it is being addressed as an ongoing priority.

The buffet breakfast at the Waterfront Cafe was plentiful, with a variety of local and international flavours. As always when we travel in Asia, I would like to see more choices of local fruits on offer. We can get oranges, apples and bananas at home!

We visited the hotel gym several times. The gym could do with an upgrade of facilities/machines. The cardio machines are old, although in working order; and not at all plentiful. Towels and water are not provided. Overall not to the expected Hilton standard. One gets the feeling that the gym is a token offering.

We would have accorded a 5 star rating to the Hilton if not for our below average experience at the Executive Lounge, the Wi-Fi situation and the sub-par facilities at the Gym.

If you are tossing up between the Hilton and the Pullman, I would choose the Hilton for it's warm and friendly vibe. The Pullman is new and shiny but also very impersonal.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tric0660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Tric0660,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that the staff took such a good care of you and you found the service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction. We will take your comments into consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The hotel is strategically located in the heart of Kuching, about 20 minute taxi ride from the airport. The back door is just opposite the famous Waterfront along Sarawak River.

We had some problems during check-in but it was solved smoothly. The room is spacious and the view is very nice, overlooking the river. Breakfast was excellent with lots of choices and the service was good.

Room Tip: Choose the river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Hazimo,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon! Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Good quality hotel with pleasant staffs. Room clean and tidy as expected for this line of hotel. Furnitures a bit dated but well maintained. Nice view with good location for city adventure. Room upgrade can be requested and may have a pleasant surprise. Good breakfast with reasonable cost.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Chya Wei W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Chya Wei W,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

I am very happy to read your comments about your recent stay and glad that you found the location and service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon! Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were a bit dubious about the Hilton after reading some reviews, however we have nothing but praise for all aspects of operations at the Hilton. Apart from anything else it is first and foremost the best located hotel in town, right on the boardwalk. The staff were absolutely fantastic, genuinely friendly and helpful with none of the fake "yes sir-no sir" act that some good hotels practise. If you do decide to pick this one we thoroughly recommend that you opt to choose the $30Au upgrade which gives you an astounding high view of the old town and right opposite the river. It also gives you exclusive use of the Executive Lounge with prime views of the city and free drinks between about 6 and 8 pm. Also thrown in are little Tapas style nibbles which are often enough to sustain you till breakfast. There is also tea and coffee served throughout the day accompanied by the most delicious selection of high tea style cakes and local biscuits, all yummy.
Downside:
The chairs in this lounge are probably the most uncomfortable I've experienced..... ever, but they look nice. You really can't relax in them too long without the back jabbing into your spine.

Must try restaurants: Junk (cutting edge 5 star) Bla Bla Bla ( ditto) Living Room (ditto). They are all within 20 meters of each other in the same street. Ask in the hotel, everyone knows about them. Expect to pay about $40Au to fill up including drinks. Kuching is a fantastic place.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view room and if you can afford the small cost, ask for an upgrade to incl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthSpray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear PerthSpray,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you for your review. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such good care of you and you found the service levels of the hotel to your satisfaction.

I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I really enjoyed my stay here. The pros: This hotel has a great location with nice views of the river. The staff here is very helpful and accommodating. The breakfast was excellent. The lobby, dining areas and pool are in good shape. The cons: The rooms are a little dated and could use some updating and cleaning. The carpet in the hallway was very dirty. You have to pay to use wifi in your room or you can get free wifi in the lobby.
The pros definitely outweigh the cons, and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Kuching.

Room Tip: I highly suggest getting a room on one of the upper floors facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobca1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear bobca1947,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

First of all, thank you for your feedback of your stay with us. I apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure cleanliness and comfort are our first priority.

I understand the condition of the cleanliness of the carpet hallway was of concern, I am always looking for reviews to provide insight to our guest experience and I will keep your review in mind as look towards refresh options.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to Kuching City.

With warmest regards,
Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,039 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £41 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing