We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience”
Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good Experience”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed in Hilton Kuching during 18/07 to 21/07 for three nights and found
the services excellent. we stayed in the club room on the 11th Floor and had used the club house
for the break fast and for dinner in the restaurant. The house-keeping was par-excellence.
Our special appreciation to the staff on duty during our stay. See you again.

Room Tip: From our room we can watch the river and the parliament and more so the sun set.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murugesan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear murugesan a,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Hilton Kuching. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and that our team member was helpful! I will be sure to share your comments with them.
I hope you will return should your travels bring you back this way.

With warmest regards,

Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    687
    239
    57
    26
See reviews for
290
493
127
416
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The rooms were nice, and very much up to Western standards for a classic hotel. It has a terrific central location that allows one to walk to most of the places a tourist would want to go. The staff is accommodating and very service oriented. We actually forgot something in the room safe and they had it waiting for us when we returned after visiting Bako National Park. The only meals we had at the hotels were breakfast and it is excellent.

I am giving an “average” rating only because there are more luxurious hotels in the world, but this hotel is definitely on the higher end of “average.”

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Robert G,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that the staff took such a good care of you and you found the location of the hotel to your satisfaction.

Hope to see you return soon. Safe Travels.

With warmest regards,

Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Only here for 8 hours of which most of it is in a bed so not much to review on.

A midnight check-in with one staff member at the desk took a good 5 minutes - not sure why but he kept on disappearing into the back office. Finally got our key and went up to our room on the 7th out of 13 floors. Note to myself this was not an Executive floor which would be standard for Platinum HHonors members. Perhaps the hotel was full?

The room, though small compared to the ones we usually receive, is well appointed with a River View, albeit slightly outdated. But this is all we need to sleep.

I get up at around 6.30am and check out the gym and pool and am disappointed the steam room and sauna is not open until 10am - it would have been a great battery-charge for the day.

We decide to go to the main restaurant for breakfast (complimentary for Diamond members) and check at the desk where it is. The same guy who checked us in, looking much more 'sleepy' now, informs us that we can only eat in the Executive Lounge. When I tell him how unusual that is as at all other Hiltons Diamonds can eat in the main restaurant, another perhaps more senior receptionist swiftly comes over with a smile and tells us of course we can eat there. As it turns out it is a lovely restaurant with an abundance of tasty treats and friendly staff.

This is the only taste of Kuching we are getting on this trip as our focus is Batang Ai. But I already love the city and will be back!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Japanuki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Japanuki,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that you were treated with an undesirable level of service. I have addressed these issues with our staff. The next time you are in Kuching we would love to have you come back and experience a better level of customer service.

Thank you once again for your comments.

With warmest regards,

Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We initially booked our stay at the 4 Points but we changed it last minute to the Hilton due to the critical reviews and the fact that the 4 Points was not centrally located. The Hiltonis centrally located next to the waterfront and can be considered as a nice city hotel with moderate facilities. Nice restaurants, a coffeebar, a buffet restaurant, swimmingpool with lunch/bar facilities and a gym. The business centre was initially located at the 1st floor but was relocated to the 12th floor. We had 2 connected rooms at the 7th floor with river view. The rooms are nice but definitely not a 5 star standard room. The bathroom is ok but you can see that maintenance is needed. Were do you still have shower curtains in this kind of hotels? The AC unit is very noise and the bed mattress is very hard. We also had diner at the Steakhouse restaurant. We ordered a Chateau Briand, a Filet Mignon and a T-bone. We all wanted our meat medium rare. Unfortunately we had to return the T-bone 2 times, overcooked and raw. The staff solved it perfectly and in the end we had a delicious dinner. We staid 4 nights at this hotel and from here we made nice day trips to Bako resort and the Orangutan resort and the Longhouses.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Edwin_Corine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Edwin_Corine,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we're sorry you were unhappy with our guest rooms. We will take your comments under consideration as we continually work to improve our guest experience.

We hope you you will consider staying with us in the future.

With warmest regards,

Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

What is this? A rundown 1star hotel is better than this dive. Shame on you. Rooms.....bah! Dirty, ugly, dark!!! Service ... Forget it!
This hotel should be either overhauled or change their name to Local Dive. Stayed there 2 nights and checked out never to come back. Across the street is the Pullman hotel , much cleaner, brighter, nicer and all for the same price incl. Wifi in the room for free. Not like in the Hilton for €6 a day but free kn the lobby. Never again to a Hilton, and I am even a HH member....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dutch1961Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Dutch1961Amsterdam,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

I am sorry we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved during your recent stay. I apologize for the issues in your room and will work with our housekeeping and maintenance team to ensure this does not happen again.

If you return to our area, I hope you will consider staying with us again.

With warmest regards,

Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hilton Kuching is located stategically near the waterfront and not too far from a few shopping malls.

Rooms are good and spacious and there is a friendly atmosphere within the hotel. It's an almost perfect hotel with just a slight hiccup, their fitness centre.

The male locker rooms really looked run down with locker doors missing or broken. This is not what you would have expected from a 5 star hotel. Hopefully, the next time, I stay there, there will be an improvement!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ng_Kai_Chong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maclean, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hilton kuching is conveniently location on the waterfront promenade, with fantastic views of the river.
The rooms are spacious and the bed comfortable. We spent the afternoons in the pool which was great for our 3year old.
The staff very friendly and couldn't do enough for us.
If we ever make it back to kuching we will defiantly stay at the hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonKuching, General Manager at Hilton Kuching, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Lyndz82,

Very warm greetings from Hilton Kuching.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our team members was helpful and you found the location of the property to your liking.

Hope to see you return soon! Safe travels.

With warmest regards,

Jon Warmington
General Manager
Hilton Kuching & Batang Ai Longhouse Resort, managed by Hilton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,994 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kuching
590 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 54 in Kuching
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing