We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would definitely stay at the Hilton Kuching again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Kuching

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Kuching
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“I would definitely stay at the Hilton Kuching again!”
Reviewed 12 February 2009

Besides the slippery tiles in front of the hotel, we had a great stay at the Hilton Kuching.

The reception was very friendly. I you could, upgrade to the executive lounge. The breakfast is amazing - lots of malaysian choices (not everyone like curry for breakfat), very friendly staff.
The cocktail hours at night are also great. Sitting on the 11th (?) floor and looking down and around the lights of Kuching. The staff serves the alcohol quite swift and some of them make quite a nasty Gin Tonic. Also very good the snacks served then.

On the negative side: the pool. Lacks a bit of tlc.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank RosiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    639
    218
    49
    24
See reviews for
264
456
118
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2009

lovely attentive staff,restaurant manager good fun and staff brilliant,thanks for my intro to sushi!. lovely room overlooking the sarawak. great gym with very friendly staff. better than the 5 star sutera in kk. would love to come again.
adrian and debbie langley

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkAdrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

Hilton Kuching was a lot better than I expected, and definitely worth the money (rates are quite reasonable). It's true that some of the facilities are a little aged, for instance the pool area and especially the kiddy area. Anyhow, they work fine and are quite peaceful, so I can't really complain, and rooms are fine although they lack the latest stuff such as LCD TVs and jacuzzis.

The hotel staff was the friendliest that I have probably ever experienced, and while my 2-year old son got sick during our stay, the hotel accommodated all sorts of requests with smile and even drove us to see a doctor for no cost and waited outside to give us a ride back. Late at night I truly appreciated the gesture.

Overall, I highly recommend Kuching and Hilton Kuching for their relaxed atmosphere and friendliness towards families with small kids. We'll definitely go back!

  • Liked — Service & staff, location, value-for-money
  • Disliked — the condition of children's pool area
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler121708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We stayed here for the last night of our one week holiday in Kuching after spending the other nights at Kuching WaterFront Lodge, which is just down the road.

The first impression given by the reception staff was somewhat cold and distant but I didn't let that bother me too much. Other than that, they were efficient and we got our room fast. No river view since ours faced the side road and the new Tune Hotel which is being refurbished.

The first thing I did was catch a nap and I was amazed by the comfortable mattress and pillows, especially the pillows. It was so soft and the blanket so flurry that I fell asleep pretty quickly! The air-conditioning system was working fine too and the in-house cable TV has just what I wanted - Discovery Channel.

The only problem was the thumping music at night. I'm not sure whether it was coming from the pub across the road or the lounge within the hotel or maybe it was one-off New Year's eve party. I'm not a light sleeper so it didn't affect me much and the bed so so comfy anyway. Managed to catch the New Year's fireworks.

The location is good. Just next to the hotel is Riverside Mall with your usual KFC, Sugar Bun, etc. Mac is nearby too. If you want local food, the nearby coffee shops have kolo mee, chicken rice and other delicacies to offer but all of them will close by 3pm or 4pm so be early.

Paid about Rm $350 for the room which is pretty affordable for us after converting it to Singapore dollars. The bed, pillows and blanket are really good......

  • Liked — The Bed and pillows.
  • Disliked — The reception staff and no free internet access
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RolexBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2008

We were visiting Kuching on business but had the opportunity to stay extra days as holiday. Hilton provides picturesque swimming pool at the 1st floor of the hotel. Located near to several shopping complexes, it is also situated next to row of shops and bars (No need to worry if you’re here without your own vehicles). The Hilton has a good view (though not the best) of the Kuching waterfront. As far as the room is concerned, the room was a bit tired and gloom and in need of refreshing redecoration and updating (especially on the lighting + colors etc). Although it is roomy for single traveler (with your spouse or girlfriend), it is not comfy for those who are with kids. The reception staff seemed disorganized too. The housekeepers on the other hand are very hardworking and helpful.

  • Liked — Swimming pool
  • Disliked — Gloomy room
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank semuaputih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2008

I stayed here this week for four nights, having planned it as a last-minute long weekend away from Singapore with my girlfriend.

We just missed out on getting a suite (the allocation had gone by the time we finally booked), and were allocated a Standard Double instead, so our hopes were not that high. However, the room was excellent; large, well fitted out, modern and clean. I have stayed in far more expensive hotels, with far worse rooms than this.

Our room was on the entrance-side on Jalan Borneo, so no river views. But having a view of the river didn't really matter, since we went and took tambangs (river taxis) up and down most days, and the sunset cruise, so by the time we left we were pretty familiar with the river.

Breakfasts were very good, a great range of food and very attentive and friendly staff. Often you can have efficient staff, or smiling staff, but it is not often that they are genuinely friendly, and apparently happy, as was the case here.

The lounge bar is very cool and contemporary, very slick (another night we thought we'd try another cocktail bar locally, just for a change, and went to the the lounge bar (The Club) in the Crowne Plaza - what a dump!, dartboard, snooker table, and chavvy chainsmoking kids propping up the pub-like bar. We walked in, and walked right out again!)).

We had a dinner in the Steakhouse which was outstanding. Both for the quality of ingredients, but also the cooking and presentation. I'd challenge anyone to find such a meal for two for RM300 anywhere else in Asia. It was the first time I have asked for my compliments to be sent to the chef, for many years!

All in all we had a great stay, and thought the hotel excellent. We were already discussing a return trip, before we had even got to the airport to leave last night.

  • Liked — Location, great staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything!
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2008

I stayed at this hotel for four nights in an Executive King Deluxe Room.
The room was of a large size but I found the layout of the room somewhat strange - almost like they didn't know what to do with the extra space. The room itself was clean and in good condition but was showing some wear and tear. The bathroom was also large and in good condition. The big plus for the room was the view over the river from the large windows in the room. A riverview room is a must for this hotel.

The executive lounge was a good size and the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast served in the lounge contained hot and cold items and a selection of local and western foods but was fairly non-descript. A good selection of snacks was also served in the evening and the lounge also had free wifi, which is a big plus for me.


One large negative with the hotel was I found the plumbing in the hotel to be really loud and at night could hear toilets flushing, showers etc at a really loud volume.

Despite this I really liked the hotel, and Kuching. I think if people have expectations in line with the price of the hotel they will be quite satisifed with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank burrco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,929 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
127 reviews
1.4 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Kuching

Property: Hilton Kuching
Address: Hilton Kuching Hotel Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#1 Business Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Kuching 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Kuching is located in the heart of the charming city of Kuching, overlooking the tranquil Sarawak River. Kuching's landmark, the hotel commands the best view of the gently winding river and other captivating sights.20 minutes drive (11 km) from Kuching International Airport, whilst the commercial centre and city attractions such as the Main Bazaar, Kuching Waterfront and the Tua Pek Kong Temple are a mere walk away.Modern shopping centers are reachable on foot, as are classic old historical sites are nearby. The hotel makes the perfect base to explore Kuching! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Kuching Hotel Kuching
Hilton International Kuching
Kuching Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing