We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borneo Highlands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borneo Highlands Resort
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

The Higlands resort is a wondeful place to switch off and relax for a couple of days. Located over a large site it's elevation is between about 2,500 and 3,000 feet making a a bit cooler. The gardens and 'park' lands arr well maintained and offer great views. Try to get to the viewing point - at about 3000 feet you can look across into Indonisia - STUNNING views. This is also the border so you can step across from malaysia into Indonisia.

The hotel, rooms are spa are well appointed and the staff very helpful.

I would happily visit again.

To get there by road just follow signs for Annah Rais Longhouse - the entrance to the resort is easy to find. best to park you car in by the entrance (secure car park) and take the 4wd up to the resort. Trip takes about 20 minutes and the climb is very very steep.

Room Tip: Great place to switch off, chil out and relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank esorlegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear esorlegin,

Thank you for the excellent review and rating. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip at Borneo Highlands Resort.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    27
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
16
26
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

no proper instructions given on how to go to the resort until the driver told us that we need to pay additional fees to go to the resort. no shopping and the buffet breakfast spread is poor and cold. The resort is very secluded and is very far away from the city which makes travelling and shopping very difficult. Transport is limited and expensive. The only good thing is scenery is beautiful. will not recommend to stay in this resort

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller121411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Traveller121411,

Thank you for the feedback. Relevant departments has been informed and improvements has been made.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort and experience the improvements.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Already booked the trip before reading the previous unflattering comment. So I was not sure what to expect from the resort. But the first impression on arrival was excellent. The view and clean cool air was a tonic to de-stress. The reception of the foothill guard, the reception party and the restaurant staff was all smiles and friendly. I am a meat lover but still like the health conscious meals (Vegan + eggs). Golf course is excellent and the room is big with an excellent view of the hills / jungle. This is in all, a very wonderful stay all together. Will certainly be back again, hopefully with extended family if the cost is not too prohibiting.

Room Tip: Go for the Eagle room. Cost not much more to the package but you get a bigger room and better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKwoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benard T, Assistant Manager, Marketing at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
Thank you for the feedback and glad that you enjoyed your trip.

Do contact us if you wanted to come back again and we can work out a special package rate for you.

Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

Booked a 2 room chalet was given a 1 room it was so run down and dirty, after complaining they offer club house room which was ok for 2 nights , The place we poorly run staff not trained.

If you looking for service and relaxation
Batang Ai Longhouse Resort
Highly recommended

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daz_London1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benard T, Assistant Manager, Marketing at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 8 September 2011
We apologize for the miscommunication that might have caused the reservation error.

Thank you for the feedback and we will look into the matter. We strive to continuously improve our services and facilities.

You are welcomed back to experience for yourself the improvements.

Do feel free to contact us.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2010

We stayed at this resort for three nights as part of our round Asia honeymoon. The resort facilities are excellent and serene. You can play golf, go on secluded picnics and rainforest tours, have a spa day and a romantic candlelight dinner under the stars in their gazebo. One day we took one of the golf carts available to guests and toured the entire surroundings for over an hour which is breathtaking. We sampled two of their rooms and preferred the rooms on the upper floors for the amazing views.We were on an all inclusive package but found the food to be quite basic but palatable with only vegetarian options; no meat. They did mention that their foods are organically grown in their local farm. This resort is great for golf lovers (18 hole) and romantic or family getaways.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear PrincessR,

Thank you for the very good review and rating. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip at Borneo Highlands Resort.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

Borneo Highlands Resort is really the place for you to relax and enjoy the great view and atmosphere. Avoid from the hectic of the city, enjoy clean air and fresh surroundings. During our trip, there is less people as well, and that makes it even more relaxing and subtle. It is a great experience at there, with the view of Kalimantan view point. It took us around 45 minutes by foot to reach there using the road. You can reach there either using the jungle trekking of use the road. It costs RM 30 for the car ride to the Kalimantan view point. Rental of bicycle cost RM 20 for 2 hours and RM 35 for the whole day.

The customer service at there is splendid. They will always serve you with a warm smile =) In addition to that, we can even check out at any time we want, as long as we inform the receptionist on the time they will come to pick us up.

Overall, it was a great experience for me and my friends. Another thing, for local Sarawakians they do offer a discounted price.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoyableHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear enjoyableHoliday,

Thank you for the very good review and rating. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip at Borneo Highlands Resort.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

This is a place for nature lovers. If you like green, fresh air, away from the city, tranquillity...this is the place. Not many people come here and no private cars are allowed within the resort area. It is a hill & golf resort, about 10 years old. Food served are 'meatless', mainly organic vege, eggs and bean curd (locally known as tauhu), very tasty and nothing is bland. They do serve meatless simple local cuisines like fried rice, roti canai, tom yam and fried kueh teow, among others. Prices for food were not cheap (when compare to local food prices) and subjected to tax and service charge. But I think quite reasonable for a hill resort, taking into consideration the transportation cost to bring the ingredients. Resort staff at all levels were extremely helpful, friendly and cheerful. We were welcomed by bights smiles all the time!

We stayed at the Jungle Cabin (more like chalet on stilts), which was a distance away from the golf course, surrounded by nothing but greens, greens and greens. A very beautiful and peaceful place. The Cabin itself was reasonably clean but interiors were not as new as pictures from the website. Very fresh & cool air. The sound of nature was magnificent up at the resort area. It was a very pleasant stay as we've got what we wanted - a breakaway from the city, heavy traffic, heat (we come from the hot city of Kuala Lumpur)and crowd. We loved our stay simply because we were not looking for some posh, five stars resort type of vacation. We just wanted to relax in a quiet place close to nature.

Trekking to the Kalimantan Border is a must. Scenic view at the border worth the one hour of non-strenuous trekking.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gggoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear honkerin,

Thank you for the very good review and ratings. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip at the Resort.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
43.5 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#17 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
31.1 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
29.8 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
31.1 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
27.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#8 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Highlands Resort

Property: Borneo Highlands Resort
Address: Jalan Borneo | Padawan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borneo Highlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden treasure in the heart of Borneo’s highland rainforest. Cleverly tucked away in the exotic highland rainforest of Borneo standing at the height of 1,000 meters above sea level on the Sarawak-Kalimantan border. Flushed within 5,000 acres of untouched greens, surrounded by the world’s oldest and 2nd largest tropical rainforest, Borneo Highlands Resort is surely a sanctuary to escape to. Unwind, renew, and rejuvenate with a careful selection of enjoyable retreats, tailored exclusively for you to take care of your inner self while we take care of the rest. Back to Nature, Back to Basics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Borneo Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Highlands Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing