We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Borneo Highlands Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$58
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Kuching(Kuching)
US$60
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$39
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$40
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$38
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$28
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$41
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$37
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$46
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
17
31
18
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
17
31
18
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflower gardenannah raishorse ranchneeded maintenancewinding roadvegetarian restaurantjungle trekkingfried noodlesone night stayfresh fruitnasi lemakviewpointkalimantanfoothillsspaborneo8km
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2012

For us here is really a hidden paradise in Kuching .We are really enjoy the peaceful and quite environment here. Borneo Highland gives you the chance to just let loose and relax while breathing fresh mountain air and enjoying dazzling scenery and amazing sunsets. The average temperature at this highland is about 18-28 degrees Celsius.
We enjoy our stay at The Club House room, the room is clean and we had a super fantastic view from the room . We enjoy the meat less meal here , thumbs up on their choices of food where at the Annah Rais Café, they have a selection of Organic Food from their own organic vegetable farm.
Seeing Kalimantan from 1000 meters above sea level is a must ! we will surely come back again !

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank feliciachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear feliciachan,

Thank you for the very good review and ratings and we are glad that you enjoyed the environment and your stay here with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We really enjoyed our 2D1N stay at Borneo Highlands Resort. The staff were very friendly and helpful and since we visited in the rainy season of Kuching, the resort was practically empty. Our room had an amazing view, and was simple and clean. No television required!

The restaurant (although vegetarian) was great and the food was fresh and very tasty.

The golf course was the highlight, so amazing (even for the non-golfer tagging alone). Clubs hired at 80 ringgit.

The spa was wonderful, all using natural products and with experienced and professional staff.

Overall, a great weekend getaway!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rachL2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

Dear rachL2012

Pleasant greetings from Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank you for the excellent review and ratings and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We stayed six days relaxing and enjoying nature in this fantastic location. Definite no place for party and meeting people.
The adjacdent golf course is a must for golfmaniacs. Even it was raining all night long the maintenance of the course allowed a decent round. Surronding and views are simply spectacular.
It is expensive, but worth the money considering you play golf as accomodation includes unlimited rounds of golf

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pappnasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Pappnasen,

Thank you for the very good ratings and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Borneo Highlands Resort.

We look forward to welcoming you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

I heard from friends that it is not worth going all the way to Borneo Highlands Resort to play golf nor stay in the hotel as it is poorly maintained. Despite their discouragement I wanted to try it out as I heard that the hotel was renovated 3 years ago and upgraded. The price for staying in the resort is not cheap and though I was warned of the vegetarian meals I went anyway as I was visiting Kuching.

On arrival the room looked nice even though it is very small. Then the teeny weeny bathroom started to get wet each time I used the sink. I reported to the reception and they replied that it was nothing wrong and they just wiped it.

By 10 pm the bathroom was still wet and they told me that the staff was off duty and there was nothing wrong. How can that be? I had not showered nor use the bathroom and still it is wet. Then they changed room for me in the middle of the night. So stressful!

There is a lift in the resort. However it is always out of order and if you stay on the 2nd floor and the amenities are in the basement you really have to walk up the stairs for your meals, etc....Not recommended for those who cannot walk!!

The hotel is supposed to be renovated but the wifi is out of order each time there is rain or thunderstorm.....and it rains everyday in the afternoon.

The vegetarian meals are not worth trying.....unless you are absolutely hungry and need to feed a gnawing stomach.

There is a theatre for film show to occupy the guest but the films are so outdated and so old they might as well not provide the guest with this entertainment.

I am glad that I went to see what the renovated Borneo Hills Resort is like but I will not bother to visit it again as there are other stresses to put up with if you are thinking of going there for a good time of relaxation for golf.

Room Tip: Make sure that the rooms are dry when using the sink or toilet
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank soohiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear soohiang,

Thank you for the feedback. We regretted the discomfort experienced during your stay with us.

We constantly seek improvements in our service and facilities and has made improvements based on the feedback received.

We look forward to welcome you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

The Higlands resort is a wondeful place to switch off and relax for a couple of days. Located over a large site it's elevation is between about 2,500 and 3,000 feet making a a bit cooler. The gardens and 'park' lands arr well maintained and offer great views. Try to get to the viewing point - at about 3000 feet you can look across into Indonisia - STUNNING views. This is also the border so you can step across from malaysia into Indonisia.

The hotel, rooms are spa are well appointed and the staff very helpful.

I would happily visit again.

To get there by road just follow signs for Annah Rais Longhouse - the entrance to the resort is easy to find. best to park you car in by the entrance (secure car park) and take the 4wd up to the resort. Trip takes about 20 minutes and the climb is very very steep.

Room Tip: Great place to switch off, chil out and relax.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esorlegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Dear esorlegin,

Thank you for the excellent review and rating. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip at Borneo Highlands Resort.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews