We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paradise of Green & Sound of Nature” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Borneo Highlands Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Borneo Highlands Resort
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
KL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Paradise of Green & Sound of Nature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

This is a place for nature lovers. If you like green, fresh air, away from the city, tranquillity...this is the place. Not many people come here and no private cars are allowed within the resort area. It is a hill & golf resort, about 10 years old. Food served are 'meatless', mainly organic vege, eggs and bean curd (locally known as tauhu), very tasty and nothing is bland. They do serve meatless simple local cuisines like fried rice, roti canai, tom yam and fried kueh teow, among others. Prices for food were not cheap (when compare to local food prices) and subjected to tax and service charge. But I think quite reasonable for a hill resort, taking into consideration the transportation cost to bring the ingredients. Resort staff at all levels were extremely helpful, friendly and cheerful. We were welcomed by bights smiles all the time!

We stayed at the Jungle Cabin (more like chalet on stilts), which was a distance away from the golf course, surrounded by nothing but greens, greens and greens. A very beautiful and peaceful place. The Cabin itself was reasonably clean but interiors were not as new as pictures from the website. Very fresh & cool air. The sound of nature was magnificent up at the resort area. It was a very pleasant stay as we've got what we wanted - a breakaway from the city, heavy traffic, heat (we come from the hot city of Kuala Lumpur)and crowd. We loved our stay simply because we were not looking for some posh, five stars resort type of vacation. We just wanted to relax in a quiet place close to nature.

Trekking to the Kalimantan Border is a must. Scenic view at the border worth the one hour of non-strenuous trekking.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gggoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear honkerin,

Thank you for the very good review and ratings. We are glad that you enjoyed your trip at the Resort.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    27
    16
    7
    8
See reviews for
16
26
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

Our purpose of travelling to Kuching was a simple one. We wanted to see the organgutans at the sanctuary near Kuching. We chose to stay at Highlands Borneo Resort as we were hoping for a couple of days of peaceful luxury for the price. Instead, we ended up paying more than you would expect to pay for two nights stay at a 5 star hotel in an expensive city. What we received in return was two nights accommodation in a room with stinking drains in the ensuite (we asked about this and someone came up to spray a bit of air freshener in the ensuite and that was it. The ensuite continued to stink but even though we were the only guests in the hotel, fixing them or moving us to a room without a stinky toilet seemed way beyond them), rough sheets, no nice touches (a small tube of moisturiser of even conditioner would have been gratefully received) and a whole army of staff who seem to stand around and do very little. The saving grace of this place is its location, which is quiet and the views are quite spectacular.

We had mentioned wanting to see the orangutans in emails and to front desk staff throughout our stay. So keen were we to see them that we made sure the night before we double-checked when we needed to leave to see them. 11.00am, we were assured, was plenty of time. It would take about 35-45 minutes to get there on our way to the airport.

Fast forward to our final morning where we were up early eating our stale breakfast cereal and generally killing time until we were due to check out. A chance conversation with one of the staff revealed that, in fact, feeding time at the sanctuary was 9.0am to 10.00am! It was 8.50am and we indicated that we could be checked out in five minutes and wanted to get to the sanctuary as quickly as possible. Another 15 minutes was wasted as arranging this was all too hard. Despite the fact that a hotel car sat outside the front, they seem incapable of following our suggestion to just drive us down to the sanctuary. They also then decided to let us know that the sanctuary closed at 10.30am and had we left at the time they told us the night before we wouldn’t see anything anyway!

There was no information about anything in our hotel room. There wasn’t even a map of the resort complex to let us know where we could walk to or any pamphlets to show us what there was to do in the area. Just a whole bunch of ineffectual staff serving up stale and bland food at prices you would pay for decent food in any Malaysian city. It was the air of somewhere about to go broke.

Far from being a new traveller to Malaysia, I travel here four or five times a year and have done so for five years now. What I encountered at Borneo Highlands Report was nothing short of an embarrassment to this wonderful country. So my advice is simple. Save your money for better things. Stay in Kuching and take a day trip out to see the organgutans. At least you’ll get to see them and have money left over to donate to the cause.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Runonthespot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Runonthespot,

Thank you for the feedback as it allows us to make further improvements. We regret the discomfort experienced during your stay at the resort.

The relevant departments has been informed and improvements has been made. Proper training has also been conducted to all our service staff at the Resort to update on their product knowledge.

We also made sure that there will be a senior staff or manager on duty at all times to address and attend to our valued guests in the event that out junior staffs are unable to do so.

Again, we regret the discomfort experienced and we look forward to welcome you back again to Borneo Highlands Resort and experience for yourself the improvements.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2009

Very ordinary food, hotel service staff pleasant but no assistance on anything outside the norm.
Golf course was good but no sand in any bunker.
Felt like the resort was going out of business and was in desparate need of improvement , renovation etc

hotel plumbing was also a problem.

In summary, don't stay for the price.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adamasia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Adamasia71,

Thank you for your feedback as it allows us to improve further on the Resort as a whole. The relevant departments has been informed and improvements has been made. We are constantly improving in order to provide better service and experience to our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort and experience the improvements.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

If you want absolute peace and quiet, this is the place to go. Situated about 40km from Kuching, it's a good idea to use the resort's transport from the base of the mountain to the resort. It's about a 15 minute drive up a very windy road and is dangerous for those unfamiliar with the route. There are 2 types of lodging - clubhouse and jungle cabins. The clubhouse rooms are attached to the main building and are very basic (no TV). The jungle cabins are 2 km from the main building, but this isn't a problem. Just call the reception for transport to the main building. The jungle cabins have a nice view of mountain ranges and jungles. A bit isolated from the rest of the resort. The cabin rooms have satellite TV, microwave, fridge and kettle. You have to bring your own tea, coffee and sugar. The furniture and bedding in the rooms are a bit old and the cabins are moderately clean. With so much vegetation and moisture around, I guess the wooden buildings and furnishings tend to spoil sooner! There's no air conditioning but there are ceiling fans in the cabins. If it's raining or has rained, the evening temperatures can drop to 17C. The only restaurant in the resort is vegetarian and the food is a bit tasteless. The landscaping throughout the resort if beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear aquajade,

Thank you for the very good review and ratings.

We constantly improve our service and food standards in order to meet our guests expectations.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2009

It was a great getaway from the hustle and bustle of life. The weather was cooling and the air fresh. The vegetarian organic food was surprisingly tasty. The staff were fabulous, ensuring that our every need was met-felt like royalty. The rainforest trekking was filled with many scenes of untouched nature and the view of the Kalimantan was just breathe taking.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NaturallifeMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear NaturallifeMalaysia,

Thank you for the excellent review and ratings.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

My partner and I stayed briefly at the resort last month. It is in a great location with friendly staff and a terrific, albeit saturated golf course, and the views of Kalimantan are spectacular, one of the resort's highlights. The rooms are fine, a decent size and both light and airy. However do not expect a modern city style hotel. There is no tv, etc and if that is what you are looking for this resort is not for you. It is all about relaxing and for this it is a good spot. It is very quiet with hardly a sound at night. The spa was reasonable but nothing special. The pools in particular are located at the bottom of what in effect is the clubhouse for the golf course, with a splash pool for kids just below the open air spa rooms- don't expect total tranquility there then. The worst part however is the fairly dreadful food. Yes, it is all vegetarian but it is the most mediocre fare you could imagine, with bland vegetables akin to a school lunch. The wine list is miniscule (and not good) and the service friendly but poor. When we were resident the waitresses couldn't even distinguish between an omelette and scrambled egg and they failed to bring one course entirely. All I can say is thank heavens for the soups! Now, we could have lived with mediocre food had there been any options but half way up a mountain you have Hobson's and that's it. Bear in mind that the resort asks you to pay top dollar. Improve the food and service, lower the very expensive price and this place has the potential to be a winner but for now, I would give it a miss.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinman13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Tinman13,

Thank you for the feedback. The relevant department have been informed and improvements has been made.

We appreciate the constructive feedback and would like to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2009

I cannot believe that there are no reviews of this wonderful place.

My wife and I stayed for 3 days. Rooms are fine with great views. Food is vegetarian and tastes great (yes they do have breakfast eggs).

The golf course is a manicured paradise in the jungle. Walk-in golfers are discouraged so you normally have the course to yourself. Carts are provided.

The spa is well appointed. Ladies from the local villages offer herbal massages.

Not a resort for those seeking a disco in the evening.

A true hideaway for total relaxation.

Only one hour from Kuching by car to the base gate. Transport up to the resort is provided.

  • Liked — Tranquility
  • Disliked — No internet
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AplusK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenardTiang, Manager at Borneo Highlands Resort, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear AplusK,

We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank you for the excellent review.

We look forward to welcome you back to Borneo Highlands Resort.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
43.5 mi away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#17 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
31.1 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
29.8 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
31.1 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
27.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#8 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borneo Highlands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Highlands Resort

Property: Borneo Highlands Resort
Address: Jalan Borneo | Padawan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#3 Spa Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Borneo Highlands Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden treasure in the heart of Borneo’s highland rainforest. Cleverly tucked away in the exotic highland rainforest of Borneo standing at the height of 1,000 meters above sea level on the Sarawak-Kalimantan border. Flushed within 5,000 acres of untouched greens, surrounded by the world’s oldest and 2nd largest tropical rainforest, Borneo Highlands Resort is surely a sanctuary to escape to. Unwind, renew, and rejuvenate with a careful selection of enjoyable retreats, tailored exclusively for you to take care of your inner self while we take care of the rest. Back to Nature, Back to Basics ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Borneo Highlands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Highlands Hotel Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing