We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In need of renovation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“In need of renovation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

We stayed at Merdeka palace for two nights, after finding what we thought was a "good deal" on a standard room. On agoda it claimed to be a 5 star hotel, so we came in with high expectations, and after seeing the magnificent lobby we thought we hit the jackpot! However, it all changed when we entered the room. I guess it really nice back in the 80s, but today it is just torn down. Wallpaper was peeling off everywhere, the hallway had stench of mold and in the bathroom there were quiet a lot of black mold to find, especially around the door. The Air conditioner were leaking and wasn't cooling at all. They still used the old big TVs (But with a small screen though...) in the room. And I didn't expect a view, since it said car park. But I didn't actually think the window was facing the inside of a garage! Another thing was the toilet that didn't flush properly and some "floaters" were difficult to get rid of. The shower had a nasty stench from the drain. Hair dryer was broken, etc.
We did spend one night in this room however, since we were tired after spending a few nights in the jungle, but when we spent the night and realized the air conditioner-problem we went down to talk to the receptionist, and pointed it out to them. I have to give them credit for the staff however, who are very friendly and are really trying to make the best of the situation. (I have been a hotel receptionist for several years myself, so I can understand what they might be facing.) Especially so when we did get upgraded to a very nice and big room that still had the same basic flaws as the other one, but without the bad smell, and the air conditioner was working very well. (My dear wife thought it was to cool this time, but I liked it. :) )
We paid about RM270 for these two nights, without breakfast. I do think we would have got more value for our money in a good 3 star hotel than at this 5-star one. Next time we go to kuching, I think we will be looking at other hotels.

Room Tip: Rooms without view are REALLY without view, facing the inside of a garage. A bit noisy as well on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jnensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    73
    76
    23
    19
See reviews for
67
37
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

O.K., this may not be the finest hotel around and could do with a room make-over, but you are effectively in Borneo and and the humidity must play hell with the decor. The staff are great and try very hard to please. The location is good too. I'd go there again

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fairlyordinaryguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neu-Ulm, Germany
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

I have been there twice for some days and enjoyed the stay. Very friendly stuff. Most of the relevant parts of the city are in walking distance. Good breakfast. For dinner we visited the restaurants downtown, so we can not say anything about the quality in these aspects. The bar is not really cheap.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guenter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We chose the Merdeka Palace Hotel after reading good reviews in tripadvisor. The room was small and the bathroom shower had black mould everywhere, the back of the bathroom door was covered in blackmould. We complained and were given a 1 bedroom apartment that was an improvement although the wallpaper was peeling off the walls. The carpets in the corridors were all stained and dirty. The breakfast was very basic. The entrance to the hotel was beautiful it is a pity that the rooms were not up to the same standard. A very dissapointing stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 542Lulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

sibu, malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013 via mobile

I booked 2 nights stay here during my official duty trip cos my intended hotel is fully booked. However, do my disappointment, i found this hotel not worth the money i have paid. In terms of location, it is strategic as you can go to Merdeka Plaza within walking distance. But the room design is really of very old fashioned. I think a lot of refurbishment work needs to be done. The pillows are too flat, not much of tv channels to choose from, and one of the plaster walls are mouldy. The aircon temperature is unadjustable in the room and it's a bit warm in the room. The breakfast was just average though. At the rate paid, i should be able to get a newer hotel with newer facilities

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellalittrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed from Feb. 23 to March 3 in a two bedroom suite. I was in the larger room with the 'control panel' in the bedside table which made it very hard to find the light switch! Who would think to look IN the bedside table for the LIGHT SWITCH! I found this quite inconvenient.
You could tell that while the windows were now made inoperable, at one time the windows had been left open during heavy rain as the carpet was quite damaged by the windows in the living room. There was NOT any smell of mold however. Still, the carpet really needed replacement.
Wifi was not available on this floor, however they supplied a t-5 cable to hook up to a laptop. The cable didn't help my smartphone though!
The apartment was quite spacious, there was a fridge in the cabinet under the TV in the living room in addition to the fridge near the kitchen. The kitchen included a two burner stove, microwave and even a dish drying rack under the cabinet above the sink. There were THREE bathrooms, one in each bedroom and the third near the kitchen, just off the dining room.
It's right next to some museums, and just down the block from a big modern shopping mall with a very similar name, Merdeka Plaza, so be sure your driver knows the difference!
It's just a few blocks from the waterfront, with great tourist shopping. There are also at least 2 laundrymats within easy walking distance, since in-house laundry seemed a bit pricey.
The included breakfast buffet had good variety and includes and egg station where you could order eggs any style and omlettes made just for you.
The staff was wonderful, smiles came easy for them and they were always eager to help.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SKiDDLES_the_Clown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Check in from 2 - 4 February 2013 in a Deluxe room.
Check in was superfast and the staff greet me with smiles on their face.
The concierge was very friendly and offered me helps in getting my way around town.
The room was superb, nicely sized and loved the wardrobe which was located behind the beds.
The old tv was not an issue as I'm on holiday. However, there was no mini fridge in the room.

The bathroom was good, the water pressure of the shower was fantastic. However, there was no supply of shower gel or shampoo except for soap which was replenish daily.

The mattress was ok for me...not too hard and not too soft. Would prefer to have two pillows on the bed (they only provide one pillow each bed) but you can always call and request for more pillows.

The location was fantastic. The museums were just next door and spend a whole morning exploring. The Merdeka Plaza was also within walking distance where you can have Starbucks. The waterfront was also just cross the roads.

However, I have problems sleeping on first night as my room was literally above the pub but thank God, the pub was closed on Sunday.

The lobby was nice and I like the ambience...

Room Tip: always ask for room on higher floor and not facing the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akublues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#19 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.6 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#27 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
0.6 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Property: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Address: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an advantageous strategic location, only 15 minutes from the airport, the regal Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites gives guests privilege across to some of Kuching city's historical jewels such as the Sarawak Museum and one of Kuching's landmarks, Padang Merdeka. Nearby are the Textile Museum, Chinese History Museum and Islamic Museum. The Hotel is just a short walk to the newly-built shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka, and is a 5-minute walk to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites is home to 213 rooms inclusive of apartment suites. The Hotel offers comprehensive facilities including Wi-Fi access, health centre, gym, swimming pool and sauna, all of which ensures a pleasurable stay for guests. The Hotel has six international standard food and beverage outlets: Ristorante Beccari, the award-winning Italian restaurant; Aurora Court, the all-day dining restaurant; Victoria Arms, the English pub; Yn Cellar; La Habana Cigar Divan; and its cafe bistro, Seattle Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing