We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit frayed round the edges but still good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Ranked #43 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Recently stayed here for four nights. Had a three bedroom apartment. It was a reasonable price and included breakfast. In general the service was good, food in the restaurants was fine, albeit a little expensive. The apartment was a good size, and big enough for us, 4 adults and one teenager. The only real issue we had was that the place is beginning to look a bit tatty and needs some work. The windows gave on to the square in front, but it was rather difficult to see out of them as they had not been cleaned in a long while. Also, whoever decided that wallpaper was suitable for a hotel in the tropics was not very clever. It is fraying a lot and coming off the walls in places. The gym seemed well-equipped, but not all of the equipment worked very well. We had stayed here about 13 years ago, and it seemed quite palatial then. It seems however that little or no maintenance has taken place since then. Having said that, the important things like aircon and water pressure were both good and when we had a broken shower it was fixed straight away. The cleaners were efficient and provided plenty of towels. The whole place just needs a bit of a revamp, especially externally, then it will be fine again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank werdneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2013

I don't think it is a proper 5 star hotel but it is pretty good. The location is great, it's clean with quite air con, has a pool, mixed sex sauna & steam room (other places I stayed had single sex ones only)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

For a "Palace" a deluxe room does not have bathtub, bath gel, conditioner, tooth brush, sewing kit, kimono, small pool, kimono, empty mini bar and variety of TV channels. Hotels are now using Duvet but this hotel still using bed spread which is torn. For "Merdeka" it does have big deluxe room and good water pressure for a nice hot shower. Arrive at 1100 hours but was not given a room even the day before their occupancy is low during fasting month. Came back at 1800 hours my requested room was not available which then after waiting I was given a deluxe room upgrade. If this was done when I arrive it would had been better. I was heavenly sleeping and was woke at 2330 hours by reception just to check I had check in? since they are not sure if I had check in. After that they ask me would I like to have breakfast tomorrow. Can you believe that they do marketing at late night???. Hotel is walking distance to town and malls. Trip to or fro airport is RM 26.00.

Room Tip: Odd room numbers on Deluxe Wing, had room on third floor *303 with front road, greenery field view,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nyms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stay in this hotel for business about 2 times. What to expect for 5 stars hotel? Of course besides the great service i expect for great room. unfortunately the room was so small and look so old. Maybe some renovation or upgrading the wallpaper or the carpets will give good feeling to the guest. Very frustrated for wasting my company's money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

If you want a hotel with great staff great rooms and reasonable cost then try the Merdeka Palace hotel awesome place clean friendly and close to all the best places to eat and visit a thoroughly enjoyable stay had the best time ever

Room Tip: For a family or even just friends choose a suite everything you need is there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The hotel used to be the best Kuching has to offer but it's 5 star Malaysian Tourism rating is in serious need for a review. Was there with my wife, mother in law and a friend and had the 3 bedroom suite. The first suite had a broken air condition in one of the rooms. I requested to be changed to another room, only to find the main air condition in the living room and light not working. The third suite that we were given was ok but smelled musty and was very dusty. It was obvious that the hotel had very low occupancy rates or people just never bothered to complain. The technician who came after an hour was not well-trained and could not rectify the air conditioning problems we faced in the second room we were shifted to. Having flown for 3 hours shifting rooms with our heavy luggage was the least of our problems. The hotel is about 20 minutes walking distance from the riverfront where all shops were located but the alleyways were dark and dangerous at midnight. We then decided to order food via room service which was expensive, indicative of it's 5 star status but rather unimpressive. The hotel is not exactly in the city center and requires quite a bit of walking to get to interesting locations with the exception of the museum which is next door. Taxis are unmetered and are a rip off especially if caught from the hotel taxi stand. You would be better off exploring the city on foot. The only saving grace for this hotel is the size of its suites, which is large by Malaysian standards, given the price, and the good views over the city from the suite's lounge. If you don't mind the damp smell of cigarettes, the non functioning air conditioner ( which is crucial in the tropics), the poor plumbing and old ragged room furnishings, then this hotel would be your pick.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors have better views but apart from that almost all are equally bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarence17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed there from 10 - 13 June 2013 for our business trip. The building looks old, but the service not bad, receptionist friendly and greet us "Good Morning" and "Good Bye" when we about to check out. Love the shower, "strong water"

Too little choice of breakfast. We had same breakfast on 11 and 13 June 2013. Staff in the coffee house were playing around chasing each other and hitting each other where next to our table. Attitude need to be improve.

But overall still ok. Stayed here for 2nd time for business trip.

Room Tip: Newly open Plaza Merdeka Shopping Mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daphnechaisinyee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#28 of 55 in Kuching
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#22 of 55 in Kuching
190 reviews
1.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#12 of 55 in Kuching
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Address: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £23 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an advantageous strategic location, only 15 minutes from the airport, the regal Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites gives guests privilege across to some of Kuching city's historical jewels such as the Sarawak Museum and one of Kuching's landmarks, Padang Merdeka. Nearby are the Textile Museum, Chinese History Museum and Islamic Museum. The Hotel is just a short walk to the newly-built shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka, and is a 5-minute walk to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites is home to 213 rooms inclusive of apartment suites. The Hotel offers comprehensive facilities including Wi-Fi access, health centre, gym, swimming pool and sauna, all of which ensures a pleasurable stay for guests. The Hotel has six international standard food and beverage outlets: Ristorante Beccari, the award-winning Italian restaurant; Aurora Court, the all-day dining restaurant; Victoria Arms, the English pub; Yn Cellar; La Habana Cigar Divan; and its cafe bistro, Seattle Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing