We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My goodness....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“My goodness....”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I have no idea of other hotels in Kuching, and I came here alone for some meetings. I was recommended this place, but.... wow, welcome back to 1984. The staff is actually good, they really try and they are nice people to speak with, actually up to there the hotel would have been good. Breakfast is not that bad either, too much mainstream, normal, easy... but for a business breakfast is enough and I was not missing anything.

But then the rooms.... I tried to take some pictures, but could not get the reality of it. Having a maintenance issue is one thing, this is more total lack of care and maintenance. Showers moldy and black, beds that have seen too many people on them, decoration outdated, wall paper peeling all over, carpets stained, some of the most uncomfortable pillows ever... honestly, the hotel was good for a renovation something like 15 years ago, now it's too late.

A shame, because the lobby is impressive and the service was good, but my goodness the room...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Campanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    79
    80
    26
    27
See reviews for
77
43
20
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Miri, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We had a table very close to the food. There were plenty of choices. The turkey was excellent. This is the 2nd time that I booked for Christmas Eve & the quality of food were kept to top quality. Did not try any of the pasta corner as we don't know what was offered. Remarkable staff. Though super busy, they were quick & attentive. The self service ice cream was a hit for kids but the ice cream were frozen so it made it hard to scoop up esp for kids.
Overall it was an enjoyable dinner. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Beautiful decoration....great ambience......a wide selection of food....superb presentation. Attentive and friendly staff. The food was delicious but I would not say the same for tge desserts. Still it was worth the money. Great place to celebrate a special occasion.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Vimalahspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putrajaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

The hotel had a grand lobby, resembling a palace. It has a strategic location, next to Sarawak cultural museum, merdeka plaza, the shopping mall and the waterfront. Our room overlooked the merdeka field. The hotel had a small garden on the sixth floor next to the swimming pool. Swimming pool is small but adequate for swimming activity. The hotel room though equiped with old furniture very clean and comfortable. Breakfast may not be extensive but is good enough. I especially like their omelette.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badazain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Upon checking in, discovered that the apartment is really run down, very bad lighting, dirty towers, bed not made, wonder if they did change the bed sheets, torn comforter in one of the room, apartment meant for five people but only one small miserable bottle of body gel and one small miserable bottle of shampoo, must demand for additional bottles, no sandals, no fridge, booking made through Internet thus we were informed that we can't ask for a change of rooms. Not cheap but horrible hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kuching hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Just in case if you think this is a 5 star hotel as what they marketed to us, please do not believe it at all. Besides the lobby which looks abit more grand, the rest of the hotel facilities are very poor. Very very poor.

The room is very small and the decor is very old fashioned. The bed is old and the pillow looks like they have not been changed for ages. The toilet bowl cannot flush and the hot water is not hot at all. For a 5 star hotel the room looks very cramp and the window face nothing but a piece of wall. It seems to me it is not even a window at all. Also, the room floor carpet is filled with layers of dusts, there are even ants crawling on the wall!

Besides, the service is very poor as well. My friend has changed 4 rooms within our 3 days stay in this hotel. First room they didn't change the bed sheet and it was filthy dirty, second room was very noisy at night as there was people singing at the lounge, 3rd room was a smoking room when she was promised a non smoking room, and only until the 4th room it was bearable.

If you are planing to stay here because of the "perceived" value that they marketed. Please do not! If you stay here because of strategic location, there are other options around and if you have a rental car, going around Kuching is not a problem at all.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Hotel has aged over time. Breakfast spread was minimum and the WIFI failed at night presumably due to many overloading as during the day it was working fine. However the water pressure in the shower was fantastic. The music in the pub Victoria Arms was too loud into the night which affected my sleep.

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe Rooms and those on higher floors as the music from the bar could get a bit loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloryredstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#29 of 54 in Kuching
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#21 of 54 in Kuching
186 reviews
0.6 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#11 of 54 in Kuching
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.6 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 54 in Kuching
588 reviews
0.9 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Property: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Address: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With an advantageous strategic location, only 15 minutes from the airport, the regal Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites gives guests privilege across to some of Kuching city's historical jewels such as the Sarawak Museum and one of Kuching's landmarks, Padang Merdeka. Nearby are the Textile Museum, Chinese History Museum and Islamic Museum. The Hotel is just a short walk to the newly-built shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka, and is a 5-minute walk to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites is home to 213 rooms inclusive of apartment suites. The Hotel offers comprehensive facilities including Wi-Fi access, health centre, gym, swimming pool and sauna, all of which ensures a pleasurable stay for guests. The Hotel has six international standard food and beverage outlets: Ristorante Beccari, the award-winning Italian restaurant; Aurora Court, the all-day dining restaurant; Victoria Arms, the English pub; Yn Cellar; La Habana Cigar Divan; and its cafe bistro, Seattle Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing