We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but can be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
1 review
“Good but can be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

I am very surprise that the hotel does not provide wifi service at the lobby as well as to all the room with the hotel rates of Rm279 per night. I had my b/fast at the cafe & found many if the staff is not smelling & sucking while doing their work, they didn't inform me the buffet b/fast cost Rm35++. I find with that price the spread is not value for money considering there's not much local spread served only Sarawak Laksa which I only found out from the supervisor when I went to pay the bill. The front liner are friendly. The hotel need to improve according to the rate they charge or else I will not come again nor recommend my friend to patronize it.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    209
    120
    21
    11
See reviews for
91
117
43
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The outer look of the hotel does not show that this is a 5 star hotel. Their hospitality service is excellent. The facility in the room is superb especially the electronize remote control that controls the entire lights in the room. The location is very strategic as it is close by to all the shops. Wifi is only available at the reception and I feel that they should get it extended to the rooms. Not bad after all but it will good if they have it. Overall, excellent place to stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satthiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

Location of the hotel was great, so many things to check out once you are out onto the main road. You can turn right towards Chinatown and where the bars are, or you can turn left towards the Waterfront and walk towards more yummy food ...

The lobby interior looks inviting, but I can't say the same for the hallways to the rooms. Carpets were old and musky, dog-eared, stained. Had apprehension walking to our room, but it was a good thing the room was much cleaner and well-kept compared to the hallways.

Bed was hard and sturdy enough, pillows were fluffy and comfortable, felt like it wrapped your head all over ... Toilet was clean, and toiletries were provided.

Wifi was not provided, and that was quite a bummer. Even in the lobby area there wasn't a WiFi connection. Feel that the staff could have been more friendly and helpful. Once we needed help to set the lock on the safe, and nobody was picking up at Reception or Customer Service. After trying several times and letting it ring for a while, someone finally picked up ... But they never came! Service definitely needs to be improved. However, there was a redeeming moment, where I called Room Service for a wine bottle opener, a man promptly came to the room and offered to bring the wine bottle down to open it for me ... That was good initiative.

On the day of check-out, the Reception staff were all busy, so we just stood patiently behind a couple waiting. I'm very certain the staff saw us, but then this other hotel guest just appeared out of nowhere and cut the line. The staff proceeded to entertain him per normal, which I felt was not the right thing to do. All in all, I was not too impressed with the service; though the room was comfortable and spacious enough for 2, location was great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizarrebeings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

From my research this hotel seemed to have it all within walking distance. Riverside Majestic was across the road overlooking the Sarawak River in the heart of the CBD. Just walk across the road onto the waterfront and there's the ferry to take you to the other side where you'll find plenty of hawkers selling layer cakes. Not claiming that they have the best layer cakes but certainly plenty to choose from.
across the road also is the Sarawak Plaza for shopping and the Riverside Majestic itself is connected to the Riverside shopping complex. Behind this complex are hidden gems of boutique fashion shops and good cheap hawker food. I only discovered this on the last day of our stay...which was a shame. around the corner within 5 minutes walk is a laundromat who will do your bag full of laundry for a fraction of what you'd pay in the hotel. Also there are a few money changes within 5 minutes which you can shop for the best exchange, otherwise Sarawak Plaza basement there's a money changer that is always competitive. Breakfast was always something to look forward to, although I wish there were more local food in the selection. Overall a pleasant stay with nothing much to complain about.
A word of warning, steer clear of the kolomee at the front of the hotel. It is the worst. If you want famous Kuching Kolomee you will need a local to tell you where, otherwise try the back of the hotel. It will be much better than the little noodle store at the front of the hotel near the sarawak plaza. It isn't kolomee and is giving kuching kolomee a bad name.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank saoye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful position, with direct view on the river.
High quality, very good service and assistance, exceptionally good breakfast buffet, with plenty of Asian and Western food.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clauser1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saigon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

Location wise, sensational. Staff were friendly, the room pretty good but the pillows were a little lack lustre. Buffet breakfast was included.

The hotel was having some renovations done when we were there so a bit of extra noise but no big deal.

Did the trick for us! Again we booked via Agoda and got a good deal something like $45 USD per night.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saigon-Unseen-Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AfreedaNawawi, Marketing & Communications Officer at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, 5 October 2011
Dear Saigon-Unseen-Tours,

Good day to you! Thanks for your feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are happy that you find our rates reasonable. While we may not be the newest hotel in town, our amenities and products are continuously being upgraded to ensure that we are providing only the best to our guests.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the breath taking river view from your room and the friendly services you have received from our team.

Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you again next time.

Take care.

Afreeda Nawawi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2011

As is Kuching, so is the Hotel Riverside Majestic - timeless!
The staff is super helpful, polite and have a sense of humour.
Breakfast is a delight of Asian & Western food - I loved the Asian.
Some aspects of the hotel are quaint and yet delightful - could be frustrating for those in a hurry.
Loved the view from the room, daily room serviceand the happy folk we dealt with.
So sorry to leave!

Room Tip: Pick a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
3.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
4.0 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Majestic Hotel

Property: Riverside Majestic Hotel
Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Kuching's business entertainment, dining and shopping district, the Riverside Majestic Hotel offers free WiFi and is the ideal place for business, meetings and leisure.Overlooking the Sarawak River, the hotel commands a panoramic view of the city and the Kuching Waterfront. It is 20 minutes away from the Kuching International Airport and within walking distance of some of the city's major tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and the Main Bazaar.The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside Shopping Complex, a 5-storey shopping podium featuring a cineplex and bowling centre. Opposite the hotel is its sister property, the Grand Margherita Hotel, plus the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. The kitchen of Café Majestic & River Palace / Coca Thai Restaurant are certified Halal. Riverside Majestic Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Riverside Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Majestic Kuching
Hotel Riverside Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing