We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well placed City Centre Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here twice in a recent trip to Borneo. The hotel is centrally located very near the riverfront, lots of restaurants and a couple of large shopping malls.
On our first stay we were shown to a room with twin beds when we had requested kingsize, without question we were moved to another room - twin again!!!, moved a third time to the executive floor (slightly newer furnishings and in room mini bar) but there was water in the wardrobe running down the electrical fuse box!!! Finally again without question moved to a kingsize - actually a nice room - but a bit exasperating after a flight from the uk. Bed was very good.
Extensive buffet breakfast Excellent. Tip - Beers and water very expensive by them in a nearby shop!
Second visit the first room was the one next to the lift shaft - crikey was it going to be another saga but infact the next room was fine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grinders13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Dear Grinders13

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (537)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

370 - 376 of 537 reviews

Reviewed 1 March 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 11 nights during my stay in Sarawak, only leaving to stay upstream at a Homestay.
This hotel is essentially on the waterfront where you can see joggers and village boats going across to the other side.
The staff were very pleasant and most helpful. Ivy, in the club lounge deserves a special mention as she was so warm and friendly and really made my stay better.
Rooms okay, clean and king sized bed if you want. Always nice to spread out even if you're alone.
Poolside lacks atmosphere. They have very cheap loungers, with no tables or umbrellas so nowhere to hide in the blinding sun!
There is a bar there too, but I guess due to the lack of guests t the poolside never opened at 11 as promised by the signs. Pool could do with an upgrade!
In terms of decor, updates and amenities I think it's sister hotel, Grand Magherita definitely has the edge. However staff nowhere near as friendly. I guess you have to compromise on something sometimes.
Give me friendly every time.
Breakfast nice with a good variety.
Drinks however very expensive in the bar.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
Thank Nextadventure33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Dear Lisa F

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had a pleasant stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again, perhaps during the World Rainforest Music Festival in June.

Rest assured we have shared your invaluable feedback with the team for service improvement, and also with Ivy at the club lounge.

She sends her warmest wishes and said it was a pleasure making your stay in the Riverside Majestic Hotel memorable.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We stayed for 10 days. This is one great hotel with great hospitality. The staff are all friendly and helpful. The room is huge and comfortable. Buffet spread are delicious and lots of choices, but everyday they served the same menu, kinda boring. The hotel is attached to shopping mall, and very close to riverfront. Will absolutely coming back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuffyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2013

Dear shuffyzz

Gong Xi Fa Cai and thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased that you and your family loved your stay with us and we look forward to having you back again.

Rest assured, we have shared your feedback with our team for continuous service improvement.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

I decided to give Riverside Majestic a try after reading good reviews from fellow travelers, and taking consideration about their recommendation on room tips, I requested for a room on the higher floor. Sure, it was more expensive but it was worth it. No amount of money could beat satisfaction and the service provided by the staff of RMH exceeded my expectation.

Let's talk about physycal aspect of the hotel. Walking into the lobby, one would notice that this hotel may not be in the contemporary-design wagon, but the native Sarawakian design has it's own class. The room was great, and the river-view was wonderful.

However, the thing that captures our heart the most is the awesome service. Sure, Kuching may have some newer establishment who boasted that they might better, but based on my experience, none of them could beat RMH. From the moment we checked in until we checked out, I definitely have no complain at all. They are trying their very best to satisfy the most discerning guests, and I'll say they have succeeded. They have fulfilled all my requests, including reserving a parking space, and always ready to give 5-star service anytime.

Room Tip: Try room on higher floor facing the river. You will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mb0urne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2013

Dear Mb0urne

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you and your family have enjoyed your stay with us. We have shared your invaluable feedback with our team for continuous service improvement and we look forward to having you back again.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Attended a business function in Kuching and was checked in to Majestic Riverside. The reception is warm and friendly and their system still has records of my previous stay years ago! The facade still looks alright but the room needs upgrading, it looked tired. The carpet is dusty to the bare feet. The shower curtain needs changing as it has stained and smell.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank owlyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2013

Dear owlyong

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had a pleasant stay with us while on business, and we look forward to having you back again, perhaps during the Chinese New Year holidays.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Hotel service was good. It was near to shopping center and Taman Kereta (a great seafood restaurant). Our room was adequate and the breakfast was nice. It was a good value for money and a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YoanVivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear YoanVivian

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you and your friends have enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again, perhaps during the Chinese New Year holidays.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I Stayed there in December 2012 - Hotel Staffs is friendly and very Helpful.
near to riverside front - Easy Access for Food and for 10 min walk you can see a car park which serves very Good Sea Food - at least 4 Seafood's Restaurant located on top of the Car Park- with very Good rate.

Hotel is a Bit Old, Need Renovation..

Overall is still OK

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmartDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2013

Dear SmartDave

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you and your friends have had a pleasant stay with us, and we look forward to having you back again, perhaps during the Chinese New Year holidays.

It is our sincere desire to continuously strive and deliver great service at every opportunity. Hence, if we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know when planning your next visit to Kuching.

To ensure that you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,009 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#8 of 55 in Kuching
45 reviews
3.6 mi away
Imperial Hotel Kuching
Imperial Hotel Kuching
#10 of 55 in Kuching
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Majestic Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £23 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Kuching's business entertainment, dining and shopping district, the Riverside Majestic Hotel offers free WiFi and is the ideal place for business, meetings and leisure.Overlooking the Sarawak River, the hotel commands a panoramic view of the city and the Kuching Waterfront. It is 20 minutes away from the Kuching International Airport and within walking distance of some of the city's major tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and the Main Bazaar.The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside Shopping Complex, a 5-storey shopping podium featuring a cineplex and bowling centre. Opposite the hotel is its sister property, the Grand Margherita Hotel, plus the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. The kitchen of Café Majestic & River Palace / Coca Thai Restaurant are certified Halal. Riverside Majestic Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Majestic Kuching
Hotel Riverside Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing