We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is old”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I was there during ATF. Everything just fine but room so smelly carpet is old. Location is good we good room face to riverside by free upgrade even we didnt ask for it. But once we checked the bill the cashier charge us at deluxe rate. It seem like she didnt aware of our free upgrade. Finally they adjust for us. Ut took so long almost 30mn just check out. Lucky we ask them to prepare our bill one day in advance ask we had too early flight next day at 6:15am. Otherwise eventhing was ok.

Room Tip: Ask for room face to river.
Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Angousspheap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Dear Angousspheap

Thank you for taking your time to tell us about your stay experience. We would like to apologise for a less-than-perfect stay.

We hope this will not deter you from staying with us again. To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know and send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my . We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Majestic Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

303 - 309 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Formerly the Crowne Plaza, this hotel has now lost its affiliation to that management company and is run by the owning company, apparently the local government.

That says it all really, as in my considerable experience hotels that opened as part of an internationally respected chain, and then decided to "go it alone" usually have done so because the owners no longer wanted to invest the money to keep the hotel running to the standards demanded by the owning company.

This shows in that the hotel needs a full soft refurbishment. Rooms and public areas are tired, and dirty in some places. A smell of old smoke is present in the rooms and public areas.

Breakfast on the first day was, frankly, inedible, and we resorted to eating out for the rest of our stay.

A conference hotel, more suited for the domestic market. If you are in international visitor, coming to Kuching for leisure, then look for an alternative.

Room Tip: If you want a no smoking room, check the room first for smell before you accept it!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_CNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Paul_CNX

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve. Meeting and exceeding guest's expectation is our highest commitment and we are sorry we did not do well on this occasion.

Thank you again and we do hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to the Hotel in the future. Rest assured, your invaluable feedback has been shared with the team for improvements.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know and send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my . We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Strategic location (city center). Room condition was very good and comfortable (TV, Minibar, bathroom, A/C, etc). Room and bathroom was big and clean. Provide a variety of tasty breakfast food. Highly recommended for staying here...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Met_KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear Met_KH

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased to have provided an enjoyable stay for you while on business and we look forward to having you back again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know and send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my . We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel is rated a 5 star hotel, but in the US I would rate it a 2 star hotel. The baseboards in the hallways and rooms are rotting, lots of dirt along the baseboards, and has a strong mildew odor. I would not recommend staying here until they have completely renovated the hotel. Although the accommodations were not pleasant, the staff was very friendly. Location is great, very close to the river and within walking distance to most everything. Drinks in the bar were half the size of what you would get anywhere else and overpriced.

Room Tip: Room on the upper floor with a view of the river.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nvlinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Dear nvlinks

Thank you for your review and we appreciate you sharing your stay experience with us.

We would like to apologise for an unpleasant stay. Rest assured that your invaluable feedback has been shared with our team for service and facilities improvements.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Riverside Majestic Hotel again. To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know and send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my . We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

After about 2 weeks in various horrible Vietnamese hotels, it was a joy to be welcomed at the lovely Riverside. The staff was warm and kind and although we did go to one room that had a strong mildew odor, the quickly switched our room to a lovely room with a incredible river view. Although it was raining most of the 5 days we were there, the Riverside was centrally located so we could get to most restaurants and sites within a easy walk. We would stay there once again without question. Breakfast was great! Huge assortment of choices. Lots of choices for restaurants if you didn't want to go out. Try the steamboat dinner in the River Palace restaurant. Incredibly delicious and staff quite lovely. Right next to a mall for shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms facing river on 15th floor fabulous! Corner suites unbelievable.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fogghaven1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear fogghaven1

Thank you for your review and recommendation! We are pleased that you and your loved one have had an enjoyable stay with us.

Your invaluable feedback has beed shared with our team for continuous service improvement and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know and send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my . We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Pros:
- Located at the heart of the waterfront area. Close to TopSpot food court, have a small shopping centre next to it.
- Self service welcome drink: tea with pandan leave and ice water with lemon (taste wasn't mind blowing though)
- Lobby was nice, clean and spacious
- Easy to get taxi

Cons:
- First thing we noticed when we got to our floor (it was 12th), was the strong mildew musty odor, as if there has been a massive water damage recently.
- When we got to our room (1206), we were shocked with a different kind of smell, like it was the exact same water damage but combined with the old rusty wood odor.
- Very old rusty room with "get in get out" kind of housekeeping or maintenance. Carpet was heavily stained, and dusty. (see pictures)
- Wall was dirty and some part of wallpaper was damaged.
- Only one international power point installed just next to the desk, which means you couldn't charge your mobile next to your bed. Pretty understandable as this was a very old hotel that was built around the 80s.
- Stuffy and strong moldy smell on the bed spread and pillow. It looks like the bed hasn't been made up for weeks. It was my room 1206. But the next room where my sister stayed on, was alright (although her room was smelly too).
- My pillow case was yellowish (see picture). Even my sister agrees. Although this wasn't the case on my sister's bed on the other room.
- Housekeeper didn't change the bed spread and the pillow case when she/he made up the room the next day.
- Dirty closet. Toilet seat was yellowish and some part was dirty, like brown dry pee dirty. See picture.
- Gym equipment and the room were depressing. Only had 4 treadmill equipments. Room was spacious but lack of equipments.
- No sauna or steam room.
- Breakfast quality was mediocre.
- Price was the same with much newer Pullman Kuching that was located 100 metres from the hotel.
- The nice lobby was misleading, it looks like a 4 star hotel, but once you get to your floor and into your room, it's like a rusty old hotel room in the 80s.

I was mad that my mom booked this hotel instead of Pullman (the hotel I asked her to book), her reason was we always stayed at Pullman and liked to try a different hotel. She regretted her decision and has filled in a negative feedback form to the hotel. All in all, we were extremely disappointed with this hotel and it has ruined my trip in Kuching.

To the GM, can you please ask a normal person to go up to the 12th floor and into room 1206 and ask what his/her impression is please.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VelwinWibowo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear VelwinWibowo

Thank you for taking your time to let us know how we can always improve and thank you for attaching photos along with your review.

We apologise for your unpleasant stay and we'll make it up to you and your family the next time around.

Rest assured your invaluable feedback and photos has been shared with our team for improvement.

Please do not hesitate to contact us at pr@centraloffice.my when planning your next trip to Kuching We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed here for a night in July 2013. The rooms are large and have nice wooden furnishings. The hotel is just a 2 minute walk to the riverfront

The staff are friendly and go out of their way to help. It was a short but very pleasant stay for me at this hotel.

The breakfast is also nice

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajay78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcomPaula, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Majestic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear ajay78

Thank you for your review and recommendation!

We are pleased that you have had a short and pleasant stay and enjoyed our breakfast offering. Your invaluable feedback has been shared with our team and we look forward to welcoming you back.

To ensure you get unbeatable rates the next time around, do check out our Best Price Guarantee. If we can be of assistance in any way, please do not hesitate to let us know and send us an email at pr@centraloffice.my . We will be most happy to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
610 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,614 reviews
0.3 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,012 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Imperial Riverbank Hotel
#7 of 55 in Kuching
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Majestic Hotel

Address: Jalan Tunku Abdul Rahman | P.O. Box 2928, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Price Range: £23 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the heart of Kuching's business entertainment, dining and shopping district, the Riverside Majestic Hotel offers free WiFi and is the ideal place for business, meetings and leisure.Overlooking the Sarawak River, the hotel commands a panoramic view of the city and the Kuching Waterfront. It is 20 minutes away from the Kuching International Airport and within walking distance of some of the city's major tourist attractions such as the Kuching Waterfront, Chinese Museum, Tua Pek Kong Chinese Temple, Fort Margherita and the Main Bazaar.The hotel is adjacent to the Riverside Shopping Complex, a 5-storey shopping podium featuring a cineplex and bowling centre. Opposite the hotel is its sister property, the Grand Margherita Hotel, plus the Sarawak Plaza Shopping Complex and the Sarawak Economic Development Corporation Building. The kitchen of Café Majestic & River Palace / Coca Thai Restaurant are certified Halal. Riverside Majestic Hotel is classified as Green Hotel by the Ministry of Tourism and Culture Malaysia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riverside Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Majestic Kuching
Hotel Riverside Majestic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing