We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Kuching”
Review of Traveller Homestay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Traveller Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I was in Kuching with a colleague for a conference and we wanted to stay somewhere homely. Traveller Homestay was perfect. We had privacy in our rooms with good air con but also a comfy living area where we could hang out with access to DVDs, TV, computer and kettle. Moi went out of her way to look after us, and was sensitive to our dietary needs (vegetarian and wheat allergy). The town centre is about a 10min walk away and the public bus to Bako NP stops right outside the door. Thanks Moi for a great week. We felt very welcome in your home.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

123 - 129 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

I highly recommend this homestay. It is the family home of Moi, who runs the bakery/cafe downstairs. It has beautiful old floorboards and high ceiling rooms, antiques, two shower/toilets which are shared and a computer, TV and DVD to use. Wifi reception is good and there is a small rooftop terrace upstairs. The homestay is on a major street but the traffic is low key and never intrusive. The whole place is very clean. The best thing is Moi, who is a wonderful host and makes you feel like you are her guests in Kuching. It is 10 minutes walk from the centre of town.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is my very first backpacking trip and it was a great introduction. It Felt like I was staying in a bed and breakfast. The host Moi is so, so nice and very accommodating. The rooms were very clean and have fans or ac. The bathrooms are super clean as well. The breakfast is excellent, you get to try a different local dish each day. We only had to snack before dinner which saved us the cost of lunch. Overall I would highly recommend staying here. Its in a great location as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jas_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Sam and sian we stayed in quite a lot of homstays and this one is by far the best, lovely owners who do everthing they can to help you find bus stops, arange taxis, tryin local food ect without even askin. nothings to much trouble they make you feel asif it is your own home. the rooms are good very clean as are shower rooms, nice breakfast with western food and a try at sum lovely local dishes superb value for money would highly recomend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samandsian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a very nice time in this homestay! Except the basics such as a good bed, hot shower...you get a cosy room and a delicious breakfast with eggs, toast and a delicatesse from the coffeeshop downstairs, runned by host Chai Moi and her brother. Rooms have AC, are very clean and are decorated with a mirror, night lamps etc. Chai is always available and very helpfull. When we went on a daytrip to Bako, she even came with us to the busstop at 7am and waited to be sure we had the right bus :-).

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blinkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We are two Mexican sisters touring Asia and we were so pleased to find a home from home. A big thank you to Moi and her family.  My sister and I had a very pleasant stay.  The homestay is very clean and the room was big with window, comfortable bed and good WIFI.  It has a living room with computer and TV, a small kitchen area for making tea, and a roof top.  But ther best was the breakfast. So much food we could skip lunch and save money which really helps when you are on a small budget. Very happy to have found this place.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

My wife stumbled across this place by chance as we wandered around Kuching. I have to give her and the Travellers Homestay 10/10. The whole setup is excellent and could only be better by a very expensive hotel. The place is spotless and I mean spotless. The lady Moi is very helpful with ideas and has a constant smile on her face. It ticks all the boxes a traveller needs for a comfortable relaxing inexpensive accommodation. If you need a place to stay in Kuching look no further. The biggest compliment is that when we return in a couple of weeks we'll be staying here for sure.

Room Tip: We like a room with a window. Bright and light is a must for us and they have such rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveLorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.2 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,003 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,639 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
2,028 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ranee Boutique Suites
0.3 mi away
Borneo Seahare Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Traveller Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Traveller Homestay

Address: 240 Padungan Road, Kuching 93100, Malaysia (Formerly Borneo Life Chinatown Homestay)
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range: £11 - £14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Traveller Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing