We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed like family”

Airport Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airport Guest House
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
751 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Welcomed like family”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

This guest house is a little gem, and the hosts Jenny and Henry are the icing on the cake. We only stayed one night because of the proximity to the airport, our mistake as we thought it was just airport accommadation, when in fact it is set in its own grounds with two large ponds and beautiful flora. What made it for us was the genuine hosts who frankly went above and beyond to care for their guest, the most rarest of things these days. Its proximity to the airport clearly is its main business, but I would recommend it to tourists as the benefits the hosts can add will make yourTrip. The time we have spent in Borneo has been so memorable that we have decided to return at the earliest opertunity, and no prizes for guessing where we will stay first.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RonA_Plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Very warm welcome here from the owners and great to spend some time with some locals. Would highly recommend. Comfortable rooms, good wifi, and a very easy walk to the airport and bus terminal. Wouldn't recommend if you need to be central and wanting to get anywhere else as buses stop around 5pm. Useful place as there is no airport bus. Again, a big thanks to Jimmy and his wife for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonothan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

This is d nearest, less then 10 min walk to n from d Kuching airport, very helpful n friendly retired couple, lots of flowers, plants, herbs, fruit trees at d gardens, with pink n white water lilies at d fish pond..with happy birds singing at sunset n sunrise on most of d fine days, n one or two fire flies appearing for d lucky visitors on a fine nite..my best discovery do far

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Henrypoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foshan, China
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Great location near the airport: it took me only 7 mins to walk from the door of the guesthouse to the entrance door of the airport - this was important to me as my flight was at 6.30am and I did not need to arrange transport. This is not a good location to explore Kunming; it is far from the city center and public transport there is difficult. It is a place to sleep when coming or going via the airport.

This is a very basic budget guesthouse - what is expected for such a cheap price. My room had a bed, a chair a mirror and a fan (there are air con rooms)..didn't need anything else. This guesthouse is the ground floor of a house. There are communal showers and toilets at the end of the corridor. There were flies in the shower room, this was because there was a door open to the garden - didn't bother me as it is what to be expected in such a climate.

There were 8 rooms though there was only one other person staying when I was there, so it was very quiet.

There is a small reception area with sofas to sit and read the variety of magazines. There is a microwave and kettle with complimentary tea/coffee in this area.

It is kinda isolated, but come out of the driveway and turn right. Walk for 10 mins along the road. You will get to a shopping mall adjoined to the bus station. It has several of your normal shopping mall type eating places, a big supermarket, and many other shops including a bookshop with English language novels.

The manager and his brother in law, the owner were so friendly and helpful. I mentioned I was a vegetarian and he drove to around the city to find a vegetarian restaurant. They were very helpful and if it were not for the fact that I was going rather than coming, I could have picked up a lot of hints as to how to explore the area more cheaply. The attitude and helpfulness of the owner is excellent. I ended up having dinner with him discussing our mutual travels. He and his wife have traveled a lot since retirement, and having encountered difficulties in their own travels, want to provide a reliable and trustworthy service to others.

This is an excellent budget option for those who just want a place to lay their heads right next to the airport.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookowl1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.0 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,506 reviews
0.0 mi away
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
#47 of 54 in Kuching
372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
552 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.0 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Guest House

Property: Airport Guest House
Address: 15 New, Kuching 93250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Number of rooms: 9

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing