We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Walk up Mount Santubong”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Santubong

Ranked #7 of 86 things to do in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Walk up Mount Santubong”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This walk is only for the extremely fit and healthy and is very demanding especially in the tropical heat. Take lots of water too, at least 2 litres is the bare minimum!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Francis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    68
    13
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Banting, Malaysia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“This one will get your heart pumping”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

There are two 'check points' we used number one which is almost in Damai. Two treks on offer, the loop trail and the summit trail.
For the really adventurous the summit trail is worth the effort and it is an effort. After the waterfall it just gets steeper and steeper, a very exhilarating trek.
The loop is only around 2.5 km. but there is interest the whole way. Areas are quite challenging but it is a real trek in a real rainforest not a path.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Twitchyjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I'm on the peak of Mount Santubong!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Awesome! I did my jungle trekking here last March 2014 with my brother and sister. At first I was told by the forest rangers that the journey was very challenging and if we could not make it to the top, we were advised to end our journey and return to the check point. Fueled with full of determination to conquer the mountain, finally we made it. Tears dropped, fell and stumbled, hanging here and there, climbed and walked through the wet valleys, it was indeed a great and memorable experience. I felt satisfied once I managed to reach the highest peak of the Mount Santubong and woww! Such an awesome and scenic view from the top of the mountain. You can see the whole of Kuching from there. Be an adventurer of your own life, seek and discover the beauty of life and nature itself. The closer you are to the nature, you are at peace. The beauty is always be seen from the top, therefore climb to the top and enjoy it! I would highly recommend this place to those who loves adventures, challenges and nature of course. Great place!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ban31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beware.”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I walked this trail many times growing up and it's fantastic. However, there is a current problem with the woman from Green Paradise Seafood trying to siphon money from tourists coming through the official National Park entrance (RM20 entrance fee).

This woman is acting illegally, her contract with SEDC has expired and she has absolutely no right to charge another dodgy RM8 per person. She's taped off the trails a short way up the main path and will demand entry fee. She's an absolutely horrific witch and people should definitely avoid giving her any money whatsoever. There's also no point trying to get the onsite park ranger to help you, he's incapable of doing anything. Just log a police complaint and warn everyone you can.

It's just so unfortunate, as the trail is a great walk - but not worth the con from Green Paradise Seafood. We ended up driving down to Permai and paying RM5 for their fab Waterfall walk. They too were very much aware of the Green Paradise Seafood woman and advised us to make a police complaint.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
14 Thank R_Ayun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Humbeek, Brabant, Belgium
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great hike”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We climbed part of the Mount Santubong but did so on our first day. A bad idea with the jet lag and the heat. It is a great hike, beautiful and a bit adventurous. If it has rained sufficiently you can bathe at the waterfall. When there is little rainfall it's not more than a small pool. Beware of poisonous frogs. The hike offers great views on Kuching and the surrounding area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mount Santubong also viewed

 

Been to Mount Santubong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing