We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with very helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The Ranee is really your home away from home in Kuching. Excellently located, very nicely furnished and beautiful, and with a very pleasant staff, it is our pleasure to recommend this hotel to anyone. We used this hotel during two stays, while making excursions in Sarawak and it was a pleasure to come back. Never a problem to call for delayed pick-ups, extended check-out, luggage storage. Zainon and Murphy in the reception quickly became friends, and we would definitely choose this hotel for a future stay in Kuching.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ulf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed the stay and thank you for your kind comments about our colleagues. We trust that recognition from our guests such as you will further motivate them in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again to the hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,
Murphy Hillary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for The Ranee Boutique Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed here for the last night of our 7 week trip to Kuching. It was such a nice way to finish off, everything from the friendly service to the beautifully laid out rooms. The bed was very big and comfortable, and the bathroom very large, spacious and modern. Unfortunately we ran out of hot water though... but that seems to be something that happens in Kuching quite often anyway.
The location was prime, right on the waterfront and amongst many restaurants and hawker stalls, also just around the corner is Plaza Merdeka (the newest shopping centre). Very nice stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcindyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Ranee Boutique Suites, Kuching, it is a pleasure for my team and I to know that you enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us.

Your feedback on our Boutique and your experience is truly appreciated; it is good to know that our service and facilities all met with your expectations.

With regards to your comments on the hot water, we are reviewing this matter and will see how best we can progress in improving this.

Thank you for staying with us and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you return for your next holiday.

Yours sincerely,
Murphy Hillary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location. It is situated right on the waterfront and within easy walking distance of all tourist attractions. The rooms are lovely, very well designed with fabulous décor and everywhere is very clean indeed. The bathrooms are great and very well designed.
The staff are wonderful, very friendly , very efficient and professional and all speak very good English.
All in all a lovely stay in a great hotel with the help of excellent staff and management who were helpful in every way.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliecheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Ranee Boutique Suites, Kuching, it is a pleasure for my team and I to know that you enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us.

Your feedback on our Boutique and your experience is truly appreciated; it is good to know that our service and facilities all met with your expectations.

With regards to your comments on the breakfast, we are reviewing this matter and will see how best we can progress in improving this.

Thank you for staying with us and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you return for your next holiday.

Yours sincerely,
Murphy Hillary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

The Ranee Boutique Suites is well located in the heart of Kuching, with shops, restaurants and tourist attractions all nearby. The rooms are stunning, large, well set out and beautifully designed. Service is friendly, helpful and professional. The breakfast is basic, but providing you're happy happy with rice or noodles, it's tasty enough. Also as it's an old two story building, don't expect a view. Overall one of the best holtels I've stayed in anywhere and an absolutely bargain at the price we paid! I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MitchLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Ranee Boutique Suites, Kuching, it is a pleasure for my team and I to know that you enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us.

Your feedback on our Boutique and your experience is truly appreciated; it is good to know that our service and facilities all met with your expectations.

With regards to your comments on the breakfast, we are reviewing this matter and will see how best we can progress in improving this.

Thank you for staying with us and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you return for your next holiday.

Yours sincerely,
Murphy Hillary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed for 4 nights and would recommend it to any travellor. It is situated on the waterfront, in Chinatown, close to all the museums, the courthouse complex and local bus station.

The rooms are large, comfortable, well airconditioned and the bathrooms are superb.

All the staff are friendly, helpful and well informed. Breakfast is included and a good start to the day.

There always seems to be some sort of event happening in the waterfront park across the road and there is a laundromat nearbye.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan-Deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest

My team and I extend our warm thanks for your kind review of The Ranee Boutique Suites, Kuching.

Your compliments on our facilities and service is very encouraging for our team members, who always work hard to deliver the unique Sarawakian hospitality and great stay experiences to all our guests.

Thank you for your recommendations on our Boutique, we hope that you plan a return to Kuching for another holiday of a lifetime. We would be delighted to have you with us again and extend more of the island's great hospitality and experience to you.

Yours sincerely,
Murphy Hillary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We arrived here from Kota Kinabalu late afternoon and were greeted by the pleasant Mr Murphy and very helpful Lucia at the front desk. The location is excellent, being on the main bazaar, with lots of shops, eateries and bars all within walking distance.

The room decor is very modern and incredibly comfortable, with the best pillows I slept on this trip (I even purchased one!) - the complimentary minibar, free wifi was an added bonus! The toiletries and very large clean shower (with great water pressure) made the stay very luxurious after a week on and around the forest/jungle.

The downstairs bar served affordable drinks, even serving wine by the glass - a hard to find delight in Borneo!

Mr Murphy allowed us a late checkout for an early evening flight and helped us with taxi's, luggage, laundry.

Overall a very good stay.

Room Tip: Aski for a room on the road side, with a stunning view of the river in the evening.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amiel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed the stay and thank you for your kind comments about our colleagues. We trust that recognition from our guests such as you will further motivate them in our mission to completely delight and satisfy our guests.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you once again to the hotel in the future.


Yours sincerely,
Murphy Hillary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Kuching is one of the most charming towns I've visited in Malaysia (definitely up there with Malacca and Penang) and The Ranee reflects that same charm with its quirky lobby and dining room decor (antique brass lunch pots, huge wooden storage jars and even an ancient tricycle). Our room (a huge twin room at the back of the hotel) also impressed, with antique pieces mixing comfortably with mod cons, and very comfy beds. View out over the car park lost a few points, but it was certainly very quiet.

Location-wise, The Ranee is hard to beat. It's in a line of interesting old shophouses (most now selling souvenirs and very brightly coloured cakes!) facing the Sarawak River and almost opposite The Brooke Family's old pad - the Astana - which oozes colonial charm and is a very solid reminder of the town's curious history. Shame it's not open to the public, but it makes a great photo. A few steps along the road is the Old Courthouse, which is now converted into a pleasant cafe/bar, and just down from there is a big modern shopping mall which was a nice escape from the heat. The Ranee is perfectly positioned for exploring the old town centre.

We ate dinner and breakfast at The Ranee. Of our selection of dinner dishes, all were good, but the Bee Hoon was particularly excellent - really fresh and tasty. Breakfast was rather hurried as we were headed back to the airport, but a little disappointing (with a bakery alongside, we had expected more from the toast!).

It was rainy season when we visited, but we were still saddened and surprised that The Ranee was not busier. It really deserves to be! If you are going to Kuching it's hard to imagine you'd find a better place to stay - especially if you want to absorb the town's character and charm.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HJGFR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at The Ranee Boutique Suites, Kuching, it is a pleasure for my team and I to know that you enjoyed a wonderful holiday with us.

Your feedback on our Boutique and your experience is truly appreciated; it is good to know that our service and facilities all met with your expectations.

With regards to your comments on the breakfast, we are reviewing this matter and will see how best we can progress in improving this.

Thank you for staying with us and my team and I look forward to welcoming you back when you return for your next holiday.

Yours sincerely,
Murphy Hillary

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,614 reviews
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranee Boutique Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranee Boutique Suites

Address: No 6 & 7 Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £50 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ranee Boutique Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ranee is an exclusive 24-room boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Kuching's picturesque Old Town (14km from Kuching International Airport). Stylishly rebuilt from two traditional 19th century shophouses and ingeniously adapted to modern standards of plush comfort, The Ranee is unique in that every spacious room/suite is different - designed to express its own individuality, charm and character. Step into The Ranee and you will be enchanted by the magic of old and new - a fusion style inspired by Sarawak's rich colonial heritage and mysterious ethnic cultures. In catering to the discerning traveller, The Ranee boasts an all-day dining/bar serving local and international cuisine, a cafe offering freshly baked delicacies, an in-house tour desk, and even a business meeting room. The Ranee is capable of hosting intimate cocktail receptions for functions up to 40pax (product launches, team building, informal business gatherings, private dinner parties, etc). At The Ranee we'll take you on a journey that celebrates the charm and romance of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Ranee Boutique Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing