We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the thick of things”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Right in the thick of things”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

A very pleasant surprise, this new boutique hotel has much to offer. Rooms are spacious (ours didn't have an external window, but we didn't mind) and well-appointed. The bathroom was nice and large. The rooms do need a sofa of some sort, however. We also found the service very good - the people were friendly and helpful. It even has a coffee shop attached which makes passable cappuccinos, not always forthcoming in Borneo (but then again, that's not why one goes there). The location is perfect, in the oldest street in town (on the waterfront) and easy walking distance to many of the main attractions.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradescant1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Dear Valued Guests

Thank you for your valuable feedback.

We are pleased to hear that you had a memorable stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time you are planning a trip to Kuching.

Kind Regards
Mary Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    128
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
51
223
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Valerie Suite at the top of the building facing away from the noisy front street. The room was gorgeous and we loved the thought and style put into it. Indeed the whole place is well furnished.

Breakfast was a little chaotic and we thought that the choice of four set breakfasts (which in fact are very similar) made for confusion. Perhaps there should just be one cooked breakfast, one Malay breakfast and a pancake option, which would make ordering simpler in the morning. We were there three days and did not always want everything on the set breakfast menu and found this difficult to explain. Keeping it simple with three choices, may mean happier customers and less confused staff.

Communication was fine with one or two members of staff (the guy on the reception desk was very good and should be commended for his hospitality), however not all staff have a proficient level of English and so communication could sometimes be awkward, that said we do know that they were trying their best. However for the service level to be ranked 5* too these are two areas for improvement.

The bakery mentioned on the side of the hotel in some previous reviews is great for coffee... However it should be noted that the cakes are in fact ordered in and so improving breakfast could not rely on this. However, I do think that this is a potential area for development as their coffee, cakes and ice cream are lovely!

We thank you for having welcomed us at The Ranee Suites, even though it was was your holuday, Hari Raya, you still managed to help ensure our stay in Kuching was a pleasant one

Room Tip: Valerie is more tranquil with side views over to the river and centre of town
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0amingtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
218 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The Ranee is a beautifully designed boutique hotel. The rooms and the bathrooms are quite large. The attention to detail and artistic touches is impressive. Even the bench in the shower has a special carved notch to hold the designer soap dispensers. The staff is very helpful and friendly but we had booked all of our tours through ooh haa tour and travel (highly recommend). The reason we gave it a 4 and not a 5 is that our room (105) was very noisy. It is directly above the lobby so you hear everything that happens. One night we had to call and ask them to please quiet down. There are no real views from the rooms; but that results from the location of the building in the old town center. We did like the location of the Ranee. Overall we had a very nice stay and we do recommend the Ranee – just not room 105.

Room Tip: Avoid room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

First off, if I was purely rating this on the room alone, I would score it as a 4 or 5. The room was fairly large, obviously recently renovated, with a nice shower room and a huge comfortable bed. We knew from other reviews that you need to turn the hot water on - but this switch still hasn't been labelled and you aren't told about it at check in!

Unfortunately, most other things weren't up to the standard we were expecting - in particular the service.

The help we received from the front desk was pretty poor, and seemed that EITHER the staff were always trying to arrange taxis so that they got a kickback from them OR they simply didn't know what they were talking about. We asked about getting to the Orangutan sanctuary, and were told that pretty much the only way to get there was by taxi which they could book - it turns out however that the hotel next door can arrange a shuttle bus, at about half the cost.

We asked about getting to Bako by bus to be told that the bus stop is very far away "20 mins walk! Better to book taxi". It turns out that the bus stop is pretty much opposite the hotel. After this we stopped bothering to ask anything at the front desk, choosing to ask at a other hotel instead.

Breakfast - one morning it took 40mins for them to bring us anything, and then got the order wrong anyway! Another, my wife asked for the noodles without chicken (she's vegetarian!) - image her surprise when she found herself chewing on a piece of chicken from the bottom of her bowl! Pretty poor attention to detail. I also suspect (but am not sure) that the "bacon and sausage" in the cooked breakfast is actually beef bacon and chicken sausage (both of which were inedible!). It's fine if that's the case, but it should be written in the menu!

Overall, we loved the physical place (except that the road outside evidently turns into the local boy-racer circuit at night!), but hated the service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PLPKN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gomersal, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Had a good stay in this very friendly hotel. Nice clean rooms, friendly staff and very well located for tours, restaurants and markets. Some road noise at night.

No complaints and would come back for a third time.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Despite the reviews we saw, it will still decided to stay here.
Glad we did, right near the Main Bazaar. The air-con did work really well. Bed was comfortable, clean well designed bathroom and the staff were friendly.
Breakfast was average at best though.
We got a room at the front so it was noisy from the street but we had ear plugs so all good.
All in all a good experience and would recommend it.
They show movies every now and again in the main cafe for free also.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pommiepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, Seoul, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Cozy, Quiet suites. Recommend for lovers. Local breakfast menu is not recommended. The hotel is located at carpenter street, easy to find souvenirs.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,541 reviews
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 55 in Kuching
1,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#4 of 55 in Kuching
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#9 of 55 in Kuching
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranee Boutique Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranee Boutique Suites

Property: The Ranee Boutique Suites
Address: No 6 & 7 Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ranee Boutique Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ranee is an exclusive 24-room boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Kuching's picturesque Old Town (14km from Kuching International Airport). Stylishly rebuilt from two traditional 19th century shophouses and ingeniously adapted to modern standards of plush comfort, The Ranee is unique in that every spacious room/suite is different - designed to express its own individuality, charm and character. Step into The Ranee and you will be enchanted by the magic of old and new - a fusion style inspired by Sarawak's rich colonial heritage and mysterious ethnic cultures. In catering to the discerning traveller, The Ranee boasts an all-day dining/bar serving local and international cuisine, a cafe offering freshly baked delicacies, an in-house tour desk, and even a business meeting room. The Ranee is capable of hosting intimate cocktail receptions for functions up to 40pax (product launches, team building, informal business gatherings, private dinner parties, etc). At The Ranee we'll take you on a journey that celebrates the charm and romance of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ranee Boutique Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing