We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the Ranee hotel was a person, I'd go on a second date”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

You know how first impressions count, and my first impression of the hotel was that it had a certain charm and vibe that caught my interest.

So I booked it for a short weekend. Too short, I must say. I loved the decor of the hotel, which included huge decorative pieces like large wooden doors shipped in from India, as informed by the staff. You wouldn't have guessed there was so much space inside from the entryway - the hotel is ensconced between quaint shophouses - but the designer(s) really made the most of the space available on three floors.

The deluxe room was large and comfortable, the bathroom was nicely modern, and although I didn't have a waterfront view, I had an indoor balcony that was spacious and lovely for quiet reading or just relaxing with small company.

Speaking of reading, I have to mention the reading lounge, which appeared severely underused. Stylishly functional, with a mix of old-school and modern furniture and furnishings. It's easily something I would try to replicate as my living room. The horizontal wall mirror was made using an old door frame! I'm stealing the idea for myself!

Overall, the Ranee had this familiar comfort of home, which I enjoyed very much. The staff were friendly and helpful, working with quiet efficiency.

My small complaint is that one of the pillowcases had some tiny mold stains. But small complaint aside, I would stay there again the next time I'm in Kuching, and hopefully for a little longer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noorhaina Hiraw... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee in Kuching!

How chuffed and charmed we are at your feedback headlines "IF THE RANEE HOTEL WAS A PERSON, I'D GO ON A SECOND DATE".

We are very pleased to hear that you had a most pleasant stay with us. It had been a most challenging and satisfying time to get all our interior décor to what it is today .

We do apologise for the pillowcase stain and have informed the laundry service accordingly.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Ranee in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

We loved this hotel.all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was al a carte in sets with juice, fruit and then cooked or continental. Deluxe room was large and had everything we wanted. Great bathroom too. It is located on the waterfront where you can wander along and is amongst local shops and tourist shops which was interesting. We took a little ferry boat across the river (1 myr) to the orchid garden and caught one back again with the locals.fun and different. Not too much to do in Kuching town itself. We were happy with one might there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dtbaker385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee of Sarawak!

Thank you for your feedback. We are indeed pleased to hear you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed our hotel and all surroundings.

Hope to see you back in Kuching in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well decorated, nice atmosphere, we absolutely loved it. but the air conditioner is not working properly and i saw review from other guest complaining about the air-con too, so i think this problem should be fixed to avoid more disappointment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank syuen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee of Sarawak!

We must apologise about the aircon; action had been taken to rectify the matter.
Technical issues do occur now and then which are sometimes unexpected and we thank you for bearing with us.

We hope that you will make a return visit to us in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

My wife and I can't recommend The Ranee highly enouph. The hotel has a wounderful homely, yet elegant atmosphere. Staff were attentive and extremely helpful without being intrusive. Food excellent with a good mix of local and foreign dishes. Defiantly good value. Whats more we can speak from personal experience that from the owner, manager and all staff went out of their way to aid us after my wife had an accident while on a tour, not related to the Ranee, leaving her with
broken bones in both feet. Although we were not book for further nights they juggled room and gave us a ground floor room with ramps and even borrowed a wheelchair for us. We spent 6 further nights before flying home early. Such caring and professionalism, makes the Ranee outstanding.

Room Tip: Check reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ihateMonday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee of Sarawak!

Thank you for your feedback which is most encouraging to all our staff. They had gone that extra mile to make your stay with us as comfortable as possible and we were glad we were able to assist your wife wherever we could.

We do wish her a speedy recovery and hope you will both return to Kuching some time in the near future.

Thoughts from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here in July 2014 for 7 days. The hotel is in a fabulous position right on the waterfront, just round the corner from the big new shopping mall. The lobby cafe and rooms are filled with authentic antiques and artefacts, no mass manufactured hotel furniture here. Our room was huge, with a lovely sitting area and a fabulous bathroom. The staff were friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. It's a small hotel, so no pool, but they were happy to lend us towels for the beach, and arrange the shuttle to come and pick us up from the lobby. Walking distance to lots of eating places. Decent free wifi, not the fastest, but adequate . Tour desk in lobby. I would be happy to find an hotel like the Ranee everywhere we travel! A great find!

Room Tip: We were in 207, we asked for a quiet room, and it was quiet, view over a tiny internal courtyard, wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwiscot69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee of Sarawak!

We are very proud that you enjoyed everything about our boutique hotel including all our unique interior décor. We are built on 2 old shophouse lots and thus do not have the space for a pool but glad that you enjoyed the beach.

Look forward to seeing you back at our hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here in the summer of 2013 for 2-3 days and I absolutely loved it! Personnel is very nice, rooms are well-decorated and clean, breakfast is tasty! I really liked the interior of the hotel, very cosy...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee of Sarawak!

We are glad you still carry such pleasant memories of your stay in our hotel even though it was last year. We look forward to welcoming you back here in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I did not stay here for my trip, but instead discovered it while wandering the city and really WISH I was staying here. Instead of staying though, we have just spent hours and hours in the amazing lobby/café/bar area, enjoying the ambience and the delicious food and beverages. Try it!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BorneoMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Visitors

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee Boutique Suites in Kuching!

Although you did not stay with us, we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hotel nevertheless.

We look forward to seeing you as our guests the next time you visit Kuching.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,684 reviews
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
1,010 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#7 of 55 in Kuching
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
208 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#6 of 55 in Kuching
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranee Boutique Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranee Boutique Suites

Address: No 6 & 7 Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range: £52 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ranee Boutique Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ranee is an exclusive 24-room boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Kuching's picturesque Old Town (14km from Kuching International Airport). Stylishly rebuilt from two traditional 19th century shophouses and ingeniously adapted to modern standards of plush comfort, The Ranee is unique in that every spacious room/suite is different - designed to express its own individuality, charm and character. Step into The Ranee and you will be enchanted by the magic of old and new - a fusion style inspired by Sarawak's rich colonial heritage and mysterious ethnic cultures. In catering to the discerning traveller, The Ranee boasts an all-day dining/bar serving local and international cuisine, a cafe offering freshly baked delicacies, an in-house tour desk, and even a business meeting room. The Ranee is capable of hosting intimate cocktail receptions for functions up to 40pax (product launches, team building, informal business gatherings, private dinner parties, etc). At The Ranee we'll take you on a journey that celebrates the charm and romance of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ranee Boutique Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing