We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Certificate of Excellence
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had a pleasant stay in this beautifully decorated hotel. The hotel is also very handy located in the centre of Kuching. I would certainly stay in this hotel again when going to Kuching a second time!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Eva B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee of Sarawak!

Glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and hope that your second trip to Kuching will be in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    127
    24
    9
    7
See reviews for
50
221
25
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We enjoyed our time at the Ranee suites hotel. Service was great and the rooms impressed. If I tried to complain, it would be because we were 7 mins walk from the heart of the city. Overall it was as advertised and the staff were lovely. Stay here its really nice!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee of Sarawak!

It is with a great sense of satisfaction to know that our hotel standards and service are up to your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Ranee sometime soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Stayed at the Ranee for three nights, wish it had been longer - we loved Kuching and staying at the Ranee was the perfect position. We stayed in a suite which was very spacious and the décor was lovely, we loved coming back to our room everyday. Being able to walk everywhere was great and having china town at the back door and the river across the road was brilliant. The staff were friendly and helpful and the lady on the tour desk was great. We would definitely stay there again.

Roni G.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Veronica G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee of Sarawak!

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in Kuching. We are indeed, in a superb location, right in the heart of the city.

Look forward to a return visit from you in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for four nights, and loved our home away from home in Kuching. The room we stayed in was the "Sylvia" suite, and we were really glad we chose this room, walking up all the stairs in the heat to get to it was even worth it! It is very spacious with a balcony and views over the city. Despite being on the road it is not too noisy. The bathroom is lovely too and a great shower which is just what you need.
When we arrived we were given a cold welcome drink and cold flannel which was a nice touch after our long travels to get there. The service was helpful and friendly, and prices for mini bar and room service very reasonable. We ate in our room one night and there is a good mixture of western food and Malaysian food, tried a bit of both and everything was good.
We particularly enjoyed the breakfast and both wish we had purchased some of the amazing coconut jam served with the bread!
Just as a tip; the aircon in the room is turned on when you enter the room (using the door key) so be prepared to be hot for the first 10 minutes every time you return!

Room Tip: Sylvia suite has great views across the river, spacious, and great bathroom with his and hers sinks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee Boutique Suites in Kuching!

Indeed, we are overwhelmed by all your praises. The Ranee Suites are our best kept secret and we are really pleased you had a memorable time with us.

Room aircons are not left on when the guests leave the room. This is part of our Energy Conservation efforts.

Hope to see you back at the Ranee in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed for 4 days 3 nights at The Ranee, love the fact that the decor in the room really made us feel warm and welcome instead of feeling just another hotel.

The price is more or less the same with other 5 star hotels that are located nearby, but you won't regret choosing The Ranee. The staffs are friendly and always happy to help you around.

Location is perfect. Nearby to museums and other attractions. Very convenient for souvenir shopping. If you love to walk, just get a map and you can discover Kuching on your own. There are bicycles for rent as well.

Breakfast is a simple with selections of western and local foods, which includes the Sarawak Laksa. No buffet here which is good to avoid any wastage.

Room Tip: If you really want a view, do consider the special suites which means more pricier but I believe the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zacksofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee Boutique Suites in Kuching!

Thank you for all your feedback. We are glad that we live up to guests expectations.

Look forward to seeing you back at the Ranee sometime soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2014

You know how first impressions count, and my first impression of the hotel was that it had a certain charm and vibe that caught my interest.

So I booked it for a short weekend. Too short, I must say. I loved the decor of the hotel, which included huge decorative pieces like large wooden doors shipped in from India, as informed by the staff. You wouldn't have guessed there was so much space inside from the entryway - the hotel is ensconced between quaint shophouses - but the designer(s) really made the most of the space available on three floors.

The deluxe room was large and comfortable, the bathroom was nicely modern, and although I didn't have a waterfront view, I had an indoor balcony that was spacious and lovely for quiet reading or just relaxing with small company.

Speaking of reading, I have to mention the reading lounge, which appeared severely underused. Stylishly functional, with a mix of old-school and modern furniture and furnishings. It's easily something I would try to replicate as my living room. The horizontal wall mirror was made using an old door frame! I'm stealing the idea for myself!

Overall, the Ranee had this familiar comfort of home, which I enjoyed very much. The staff were friendly and helpful, working with quiet efficiency.

My small complaint is that one of the pillowcases had some tiny mold stains. But small complaint aside, I would stay there again the next time I'm in Kuching, and hopefully for a little longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noorhaina Hiraw... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee in Kuching!

How chuffed and charmed we are at your feedback headlines "IF THE RANEE HOTEL WAS A PERSON, I'D GO ON A SECOND DATE".

We are very pleased to hear that you had a most pleasant stay with us. It had been a most challenging and satisfying time to get all our interior décor to what it is today .

We do apologise for the pillowcase stain and have informed the laundry service accordingly.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Ranee in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We loved this hotel.all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included and was al a carte in sets with juice, fruit and then cooked or continental. Deluxe room was large and had everything we wanted. Great bathroom too. It is located on the waterfront where you can wander along and is amongst local shops and tourist shops which was interesting. We took a little ferry boat across the river (1 myr) to the orchid garden and caught one back again with the locals.fun and different. Not too much to do in Kuching town itself. We were happy with one might there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtbaker385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Valued Guests

Warmest Greetings from the Ranee of Sarawak!

Thank you for your feedback. We are indeed pleased to hear you had a memorable stay with us and enjoyed our hotel and all surroundings.

Hope to see you back in Kuching in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 54 in Kuching
1,515 reviews
0.8 mi away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 54 in Kuching
984 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#6 of 54 in Kuching
1,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 54 in Kuching
147 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
0.5 mi away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kuching
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ranee Boutique Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ranee Boutique Suites

Property: The Ranee Boutique Suites
Address: No 6 & 7 Main Bazaar, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ranee Boutique Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ranee is an exclusive 24-room boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Kuching's picturesque Old Town (14km from Kuching International Airport). Stylishly rebuilt from two traditional 19th century shophouses and ingeniously adapted to modern standards of plush comfort, The Ranee is unique in that every spacious room/suite is different - designed to express its own individuality, charm and character. Step into The Ranee and you will be enchanted by the magic of old and new - a fusion style inspired by Sarawak's rich colonial heritage and mysterious ethnic cultures. In catering to the discerning traveller, The Ranee boasts an all-day dining/bar serving local and international cuisine, a cafe offering freshly baked delicacies, an in-house tour desk, and even a business meeting room. The Ranee is capable of hosting intimate cocktail receptions for functions up to 40pax (product launches, team building, informal business gatherings, private dinner parties, etc). At The Ranee we'll take you on a journey that celebrates the charm and romance of a bygone era. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Ranee Boutique Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing