We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremley friendly”
Review of Damai Central

Damai Central
Ranked #29 of 90 things to do in Kuching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An innovative resort-styled multipurpose complex built in Sarawak ethnic-concept design. Built on a coastal land fronting the panoramic South China Sea and takes the advantage of natural ambiance of sun, sand and sea, all set against the backdrop of the lush tropical greenery of Mt. Santubong. Damai Central serves as an entertainment oasis enhancing lifestyle and holiday experience for both local and tourists alike.
Derby, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Extremley friendly”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

If you find yoursself at Damai central and looking for something to do make sure you stop in and see Adrian and Jose at the tourist centre next to the 7/11 who will organise just about any tour you want from jungle trekking, wetlands and of course the Orangutans. Thanks to Adrian we had an awesome time and were shown some local hopsitality above and beyond (THANK YOU).

The food court has some excellent food and local Karaoke with some great singers. To close off any evening, go down to the shore and have a drink at Escobar while watching the magnificent sunset.

Great place and beautiful people.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Drew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamaiCentral, Manager at Damai Central, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi! We loved your comments. Thank you for appreciate us! We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    50
    64
    17
    7
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
505 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“A Central at Damai”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is a collection of shops, eateries, restaurant, entertainment and travel/tour agent place at the Damai Area. Situated just opposite the cultural village.

Very hot if you're walking outside in the scorching sun in the afternoon. Reasonable view of part of the Damai Beach.

Reasonable variety of things to see. Don't expect too much though. The place is kept reasonably clean which is a plus.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sarikei s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamaiCentral, Manager at Damai Central, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for coming to Damai Central! We hope you had a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great for an ocean swim!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

We caught the shuttle bus from town, a 50 km journey for 12 myr! The scenery is lovely going through the different areas of both jungle and houses. As we went during the week there were few people at Damai Central, so very empty, but I imagine at the weekend it would be crowded. The restaurant was very clean, the change rooms were large and had just been hosed out, the beach tidy. Our two hour swim in the water - magic, the tide was out when we went in, but had come in by the time we had had enough! I have never swum in such hot water! Loved the trees on he beach, pity others had left all their rubbish behind!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamaiCentral, Manager at Damai Central, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Glad that you've enjoyed our place! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“End of the pier”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

One of these like it or hate it places. A concrete blot. Couple of bars and restaurants, food court and some shops and an ATM. However, the sunstes from the bar are amazing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank alldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamaiCentral, Manager at Damai Central, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
We glad that you love our sunset!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Here, There, and Everywhere!
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Invaluable”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

A 7/11 shop was great place to pick up some cheap soft drinks, bottles of water and light snacks that cost a lot at the hotel.
A food court was ideal for lunchtime light food 5-6myr each meal.
Fresh juice stands.
Bayridge seafood also serves tasty and nicely priced food.
A tour operator next to Escobar offers friendly service and lower prices than the surrounding hotels.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank burning_wheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DamaiCentral, Manager at Damai Central, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your comment. We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Damai Central also viewed

 

Been to Damai Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing